We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good presentation on the US Civil War” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Missouri History Museum

Missouri History Museum
Ranked #14 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Missouri History Museum preserves St. Louis and Missouri history through exhibitions, programs, research, publications, archives and permanent collections. Visitors discover stories of Lewis & Clark and westward expansion, the 1904 World's Fair, the brewing industry, Lindbergh and aviation history, St. Louis' importance to the civil rights movement, and more. Long-term exhibitions include "Seeking St. Louis" and "1904 World's Fair: Looking Back at Looking Forward." Visit the Museum's website for information on special exhibitions.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
707 reviews
300 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“Good presentation on the US Civil War”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I visited the museum during the opening of the special exhibition on the US Civil War in Missouri. The museum is located in the same park as the zoo, an outdoor theater, golf course and other attractions. Parking along the street was easy, but probably could get crowded in the summer

I visited the museum solely for the exhibit on the civil war, so do not know much about the rest of the museum. The Civil War museum is well worth spending an afternoon, as I was hurried to get through it in about 2.5 hours since I was short on time. They provided accurate and detailed information on all facets of the war from both a military and civilian standpoint. If you are in St. Louis during this exhibit, it should be on top of your list of sights to see.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    173
    41
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“By the way stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were trying to catch the zoo before it closed.Unfortunately,we got to the zoo 5 minutes before closing time.We decided to walk to the museum and pass time while we waited for the trolley.I was pleasantly surprised at the collections.It wasn't planned but I'm glad we stopped by.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travel_LuvBug138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
252 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Medium-Sized, Focused on Missouri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Missouri History Museum is a mid-sized history museum that, as its name suggests, is focused on Missouri history.

I found it to be very interesting, but I am also a Missouri native. There are three permanent exhibits when I went, one on Charles Lindbergh, one on the 1904 World’s Fair, and another on the history of St. Louis. The Lindbergh exhibit was large and very well done, and had a lot of educational and interesting information and artifacts on Lindbergh. The World's Fair exhibit was smaller and just okay, but still informational. I enjoyed the St. Louis exhibit as well, but again I'm a native of St. Louis so maybe a bit biased.

The building itself is in perfect shape, with a large addition that was recently completed. The cafe and store are very well done. They host a lot of weddings here (they were setting up for one when we left) so that says a lot about the facilities quality. I didn’t go to the special exhibits as they charge a fee, but the permanent exhibits were all free. For the price, it’s hard to beat.

The cleanest bathrooms in Forest Park are here :)

If you are a history buff, or want to learn more about Missouri or St. Louis, this is the best place to go. It’s also conveniently located in Forest Park, and is the closed attraction to the Metrolink station. The Forest Park tram also stops here. Plenty of free parking.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank adamsaintlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
395 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Gain Insight into Missouri’s History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The exhibit on the 1904 World’s Fair also known as the Louisiana Purchase is terrific. The concept of this massive project and how it all came together is beautifully done. It was fun and exciting to see how this grew and became one of the most elegant and grand World’s Fairs, plus the impact it had on St. Louis for the future. Additionally, the exhibit on Charles Lindberg was also fantastic. It was thrilling to feel as you were there when he landed in Paris after the first transatlantic flight. These were our favorites at the Museum.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lesser-known but excllent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

One of the many cultural institutions in Forest Park, this excellent museum would attract more visitors with a catchier title (Mississippi life?). It's a big building with imaginative and colourful displays on the history of the city, including the 1904 World's Fair. Lots of artefacts and interpretation, and a replica of Lindbergh's Spirit of St Louis.

Displays fresh and well-cared for, two cafes with regional food, great gift-shop. The Forest Park tram (No. 3) stops here so can be easily combined with the Art Gallery, Science Centre or Zoo.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank bolbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Missouri History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing