We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steakhouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1904 Steakhouse

1904 Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
1904 Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #460 of 2,875 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South Broadway
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Ate at 1904 on a casino visit in January. Overall, it was very good. A little pricey, but it was a special occasion. I ordered a steak with the in house steak sauce and it was wonderful. Prepared perfectly. The sides were great as well. Ordered the mac and cheese and it was great as well. Would recommend this as one of the better steakhouses in St. Louis.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zoutgrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"What a Pleasant Surprise"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I dined at 1904 on our anniversary and returned just a week or two later.
The food is so well prepared by Katie. It is presented beautifully and every bite is delicious. And-- before dinner-- enjoy a cocktail and pleasant conversation in the bar with Andrew.
1904 has become a definite MUST on our list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best steak I have ever had...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Until now, I haven't associate a top notch steaks with the St. Louis casinos. The prevalent dinning experience for the casinos around here are the buffets, which are o.k. When we went to the 1904 Steakhouse at River City Casino, I was fully expecting a "decent" steak. The drinks we had prior to dinner (at the steakhouse bar), were a little pricey but well poured and the staff knew their bourbons. We all skipped the appetizers and opted just for steak dinners. My wife and I had the bone-in 22oz. ribeyes with melted garlic butter over them. It was fabulous! The steak was perfectly cooked, excellent quality, and just the right amount of garlic butter to enhance the flavor, but not dominate the taste of the steak. I am not easily won-over by a steak either. I consider myself a well beyond average steak cook and a steak fan. I normally do not order steaks in mid-level restaurants, because I can do better myself. I had recently been to a well known, high-end steak house chain here in St. Louis, and it wasn't as good at the 1904 Steakhouse steak. All our side dishes were good, except the Cajun mac and cheese wasn't very Cajun, but it was good. Everyone at the table of 6 had steaks, two were fillets and the rest were ribeyes. As we finished our steaks/dinners, we all discussed what was the "best" steak we ever had. All of us sat and discussed what was the best steak they had eaten, and this steak was in everyone's top few steaks they had eaten. I said that it was probably the best steak I have had that, I could remember. We all agreed that it was the best steak we have eaten in the St. Louis area.

As for price, it seemed a little pricey, but I haven't been to a high end steak house that wasn't. As for the rest of the entree's, I can't tell you much. I don't order chicken or fish at a high end steakhouse, that's not what I am there for. so, if your looking for a high quality steak in the St. Louis area, this is definitely one you must try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pkfirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fun and great food in River City Casino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

not inexpensive but well worth the price.
While others in our party enjoyed steak cooked to perfection,
I had an excellent Rack of Lamb
Tender, meaty and cooked pink throughout.
served on augratin potatoes
server was great
wonderful meal
reservations suggested on Friday nite

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve-the-paperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Did not eat at the 1904 this trip but have in past visits and it is wonderful. Service is great and the food is wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1904 Steakhouse also viewed

 
Des Peres, Saint Louis
 

Been to 1904 Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing