We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Funky!”
Review of Sanctuaria

Sanctuaria
Reserve with OpenTable
Sanctuaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #493 of 2,910 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Boyle
Transit: Metro Bus Stop outside front door of restaurant.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and Funky!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Delicious food with a funky atmosphere. The host was not particularly friendly, did not smile and practically raced us to our table, but our waitress was great. Most of our food was terrific with the exception of the ribs (they were just ok). My favorite dishes were the Ceviche and the Stuffed Eggplant; very tasty with a little kick! After we finished our dinner we noticed the beautiful patio outside and decided we would definitely return and dine alfresco!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crlleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Brunch - Tapas Done Right”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wow, what an amazing brunch. We were here for Mother's Day but it was a pretty small crowd. Tapas done right, and in a beautiful atmosphere. The shrimp were our favorite, but we loved every item we ordered (and we ordered a lot). Bourbon drinks were amazing, too. Havana Bread was a perfect dessert to end the meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's really more about the cocktails”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Please don't be intimidated by the outward goth appearance of this restaurant. I went inside for the first time last week and there was a kid's birthday party going on. Really. They have a comprehensive tapas menu broken down into 'cheese', vegetable, 'meat, etc for ease of ordering. The cheese empanadas were outstanding, as were the chicken sliders. But the real interest for me was the bar. Truly innovative drink menu, with housemade liquors and bitters. For the adventurous, there is a cocktail club where the point is to drink one each of the 150 cocktails listed. I started with a Sauzerac because I had just been in New Orleans and didn't get to try one. The drinks are served in vintage glasses appropriate for the cocktail and the era in which it was popular. Fun, fun place. Go often. Great patio.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breakfasttea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hip restaurant. Make a reservation!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

You definitely need to make a reservation. Yummy tapas menu. Interesting and extensive drink menu. Great atmosphere. I recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjtravelingmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“As good as anything in Barcelona”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Sanctuaria is a tapas place in an exciting part of St. Louis called The Grove, not far from the Central West End. Sanctuaria has some of the most exciting small plates I have ever tasted. We had eight small plates and each one was incredible. The dates wrapped in bacon were marvelous, as were the cheese "cigars", as was the charcuterie. Heck everything is wonderful. Seriously, this was as good or better than any tapas I have had in Barcelona or Madrid. These people care deeply about what they are doing.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanctuaria also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Sanctuaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing