We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, value for money”

Gio's Ristorante and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Gio's Ristorante and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #712 of 2,890 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Description: Welcome to Gio's Ristorante & Bar located in the heart of beautiful downtown St. Louis in the Gateway One Building. Gio's cozy dining room offers one of downtown's most spectacular views. Our large outdoor bar & patio are perfect for game days. Bar Gio, with its contemporary decor and brick pizza oven is the ideal place to sit back and relax. Gio's is conveniently located just minutes away from most downtown venues and 2 blocks from Busch Stadium. The kitchen at Gio's is quickly becoming known for serving some of the city's finest Italian cuisine. The menu features a variety of pasta, seafood, steaks and specialty entrees, all at affordable prices. It only tastes expensive! Bar Gio offers a lighter fare of house made brick-oven pizzas, panini sandwiches and traditional pub grub. Service is polished casual and family friendly. Gio's is the perfect spot for an important business meeting, a romantic dinner or a get together with friends.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good food, value for money”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing meal there with a table of 12 colleagues. Amazing food, everything was delicious, especially the fried calamari, spaghetti with meat sauce and pork chops. Special mention about the wine list. Great wine at reasonable price. The only complaint is That the carpet was very sticky so it was sort of yucky when you think about it. No view from the restaurant of the arch, maybe you can get a view of the arch in the winter without the leaves on the trees. Highly recommended for business dinners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downtown surprise”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Too exhausted to head to some of the better-known restaurants around St. Louis, we were downtown and opted to stop at Gio's, and we were not one bit disappointed. We didn't expect to be overwhelmed, thanks to the reviews, but what we had was truly delicious--veal parm and tortellini al brodo, which was fresh and flavorful. If you don't expect something fabulous, you will not be disappointed. Portions were ample and the prices were right. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutGourmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bremen, Oh
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Eating at Gio's no one will leave hungry or dissatisfied”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dinner was absolutely delicious! Everything from appetizer, salad, entree, wine, et al. I had been a party of 10 (business) and we all were stunned by the mountain of food served. Everyone raved of their chosen plate, but I don't think there was a single person who was able to clear off their plate. I regretted that I could not take my remaining meal with me, due to the fact that I was traveling. I would HIGHLY recommend Gio's for a dinner selection, whether business, couple or family.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela_45869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great gourmet food on the restaurant side with great views of the old courthouse and Kiener plaza with its waterfall framed by the Gateway arch. Views also include local frequent horse and carriages passing by on street outside of the restaurant. Food is new versions of traditional italian dishes as well as the standard fine restaurant fare such as Angus steaks etc. Service in the restaurant is the best found anywhere. Menu also includes brick oven pizzas, wraps, burgers and several other items available on the restaurant as well as the bar side of the establishment. Restaurant has specials each night on specific food and drinks. Also a great bar to visit before the baseball game as it's not as crowded as some of the other restaurants in the area and is only about two safe blocks walk from Busch stadium. During the summer months there is also outside patio seating. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Both a great Italian restaurant & a quaint pizza bar”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

On a recent visit to St. Louis over the holidays, we ate here twice. Once we sat and ate in the bar. Food and service were great. Later we chose it for a lunch meeting. From the soups to the lunch entre's, everyone was happy with the experience.
I caught sight of the manager making reservations. Ill bet reservations would be a good idea. The seating area isn't very large.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuffelBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio's Ristorante and Bar also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Gio's Ristorante and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing