We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nacho average sports bar”

Brewhouse Historical Sports Bar
Ranked #61 of 2,909 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
McCool Junction, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nacho average sports bar”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great service & good food. We really liked the nachos. Music level was loud but surprisingly got used to it. Great selection of beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper62B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela d, Manager at Brewhouse Historical Sports Bar, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for the review! If you make it in again and feel it's too loud, please let a manager know and we will do whatever we can to accommodate your needs. Hope to see you in St. Louis again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    153
    57
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pricey, But Has Good Food & Drinks”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Brewhouse may price its food and beers on the high side, but it offers generous food portions along with quality food and service. I liked the beer selection, though I ended up ordering off the bottled beer list instead of getting something on tap, because I was looking for a dark porter-style beer. I was disappointed at how much I had to pay for my specialty bottled beer too, which was $5.94 plus the city’s liquor tax ($0.56), $6.50 total. My party's order of nachos with chicken, a fish sandwich, and my bottled beer totaled just over $30 before tip. As you can see by the picture I took of my nachos, I did get a lot of food, and the nachos tasted great. I did not leave the Brewhouse hungry at all. I visit the Brewhouse once a year, and I plan to continue to do so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTS2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband ordered the chicken strips. I ordered the fish and chips. Both were extremely greasy, and neither of us felt very good later on that evening. The service was good, not outstanding, but good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Sports Bar, Excellent Food, Great Zymorgy selection!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not truly "Old" but historical in displays and area. Great location if oyur at the Arch or mid Rover front. Excellent food, very good combinations and variety, broad selection of beers, good service, an enjoyable locaiton!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great drinks”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I ate at the Brewhouse two times while on a business trip in St.Louis. The first visit was around 10:30pm on the night my colleagues and I arrived in St.Louis. We were all wanting a late-night snack before turning in and the Brewhouse was the only place open within walking distance of our hotel. The group of us (7 people) arrived and were ignored for several minutes. I approached a waitress and asked if we should seat ourselves. She was rude in telling me we needed to wait while she attended to other customers. We waited several more minutes before someone else walked up and asked if we had been helped. They ended up seating us and taking our order. The Brewhouse has a limited menu at night, which was fine, and I got the loaded nachos. The serving was extremely generous, as the food took up an entire dinner plate and was piled very high. It was far too much for me to eat and there was a good amount of food left over - great value for what we spent ($7-9, I can't remember exactly).

The second visit, a colleague and I went to get some drinks. They were well made but a bit pricey. We both enjoyed our cocktails/beers and experienced much better service than before.

Ending note: First visit - slow service but a great value for the food. Second visit - good cocktails, although pricey. I would return again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheapclassytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewhouse Historical Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brewhouse Historical Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing