We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Saint Louis
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
One of the largest Civil War museums in the nation

The Missouri Civil War Museum has come a long, long way since it opened in 2013. Located at 222... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Taylor B
,
Chicago, Illinois
Many more artifacts than you'd expect!

The Civil War museum is extraordinary and has a large array of exhibits. I was surprised to see so... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
banalban53
,
Saint Louis, Missouri
via mobile
Read all 669 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Saint Louis
from $25.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
from $70.00
More Info
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveler rating
523
124
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
523
124
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic jefferson restored building medical equipment post exchange military base interesting artifacts history buff on display short video gift shop the lower level well worth the visit great collection both sides louis area couple of hours great place to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Civil War museum is extraordinary and has a large array of exhibits. I was surprised to see so many items. This was my 2nd visit as I felt I didn't catch everything and may have missed a few details.
Any age group will enjoy this awesome museum!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank banalban53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed the museum very much, but it might have been a little more than my grandsons could understand. Everything was well displayed and interesting.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank blackjackbeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

The museum is located in an old PX building on the grounds of the Jefferson Barracks. The grounds are covered with pre-Civil War buildings that were home to many of the soldiers that fought in the war including Generals Grant and Lee. The displays are first rate and very nicely done. The main purpose of the museum is to highlight Missouri’s role in the Civil War and they do a great job of conveying this information in a thoughtful way.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank chap789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

Spectacular items displayed beautifully in conjunction with short videos. Looking forward to returning to see changes being made. Take time to drive around and see the various monuments and other buildings.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

My friend and I spent a pleasant couple of hours at this well curated and fascinating museum. The varied and well explained collection of Civil War memorabilia was augmented by several extremely interesting and informative videos. The harrowing reality of that difficult and dangerous time was really brought to life. The staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank lemonpop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews