We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the civil war buff in you”

Missouri Civil War Museum
Ranked #12 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Missouri Civil War Museum is housed in the old 1905 Jefferson Barracks Post Exchange (PX) and Gymnasium building, formerly part of the Jefferson Barracks military post, which is still an active military installation to this day. Renovations began in 2003, and were completed 10 years later in 2013, with an opening date of June 29, 2013. During the Civil War, the property which this museum is located upon, contained various hospital ward buildings, where suffering and death occurred, thus making this sacred ground, and a most appropriate location for a Missouri Civil War Museum, honoring our soldiers of the past and present.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For the civil war buff in you”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Quite a pleasant surprise. This relatively new museum has assembled quite a collection of article-facts. You'll learn a great deal of information about Missouri's involvement in the Civil War.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gratzmichael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    102
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Surprise”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I live locally and met a group of friends there on a recent Saturday morning. I wasn't sure what to expect, but WOW! The staff was extremely friendly and the displays/movies were very informative. I will be returning in the near future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sonomaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This museum is new. The staff was very helpful and took an interest in us as people not just visitors. Make sure to say hi to John. Definite must see for all. The museum is very clean. The displays are full but not cluttered. There are some nice videos downstairs that help bring the civil war in Missouri to life. Military personal receive a discount on the admission. I wish I lived closer to help out more as they grow.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a great Civil War museum, and I've seen many. The building itself is beautifully redone. The staff is very friendly and they genuinely want to share this resource with as many people as possible. The exhibits are very well done; they definitely bring Missouri's role into focus. This museum will educate you, but it does not try to overwhelm you with every detail of a 5-year war.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We live in St Louis and decided to do a "stay cation". We lined up several items we have never visited that we want to see. This was our first stop. We were not disappointed. You can tell they have plans for expansion but it is a great stop and all the information and exhibits are top notch. It is a great place to visit with you family. We look forward to going back in the future to see what has been added. Take the time to stop by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CurtisFamily1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing