We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Addition to the ST. Louis Family of Museums”

Missouri Civil War Museum
Ranked #12 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Missouri Civil War Museum is housed in the old 1905 Jefferson Barracks Post Exchange (PX) and Gymnasium building, formerly part of the Jefferson Barracks military post, which is still an active military installation to this day. Renovations began in 2003, and were completed 10 years later in 2013, with an opening date of June 29, 2013. During the Civil War, the property which this museum is located upon, contained various hospital ward buildings, where suffering and death occurred, thus making this sacred ground, and a most appropriate location for a Missouri Civil War Museum, honoring our soldiers of the past and present.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Good Addition to the ST. Louis Family of Museums”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

MO is so rich in Civil War history, and this museum leads the visitor through most of its aspects. The 1905 building (along with its sister building undergoing renovation) faces the parade grounds of Jefferson Barracks military post, and has been restored to its former glory. A fenced parking lot is north of the building, and a side door and elevator for handicapped visitors can be accessed there. Inside, friendly staff will point you to the pre-Civil War room to begin, and answer any questions. The museum is family-friendly; however, tots to young children won't grasp the scope and complexities of the war. I'm told the exhibits are constantly expanding, with over a thousand more artifacts to be displayed as funds become available. Downstairs are more exhibits and a very good video on MO battles. This is a little graphic in a few spots for young children. A good gift shop. The sister building will house a library and an educational center. A good family outing, and I met people from 3 different countries (England, Germany, and Australia) and 4 states while I was there. They are open every day 9 - 5.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottygirl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    99
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting information”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have to admit that I was not particularly excited about going to this museum with my history teacher husband and brought a book to read for when I had finished exploring, which I assumed would be long before he did. I was wrong. I knew next to nothing about the unique position Missouri and other northern slave states were in during the Civil War. The information that was included with the exhibits wasn't too wordy, so it was just right for someone like me who wants the story but not all of the statistics. The exhibits are nicely done, and while they contain basically the same type of thing as other Civil War Museums I've been to (history teacher husband again!), they are interesting, and the back story gives a whole different perspective on the war.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SherryRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Awesome startup”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Renovation of the historic building is excellent. Exhibits are growing but presented with high degree of professionalism. Some repetition in artifacts. Worth the trip to find it. Excellent gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
326 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've lived in the area our whole life. For the Civil War enthusiast this is a neat area to visit that will only get better. The grounds are covered with pre Civil War era buildings that once housed Grant, Lee, Longstreet and many others. The restored building is beautiful. The collections on display will grow over time. Since the museum is new, they have some work to do. Well worth the visit. Great staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HiggySt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful and educational”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This museum is located in a beautifully restored building at Jefferson Barracks. The exterior and interior are gorgeous. Be sure to watch the film showing the rehabbing of the building. I learned a lot about Missouri's involvement in the civil war. This is a really neat museum. It is small but there are additional galleries in the works.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mirtle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing