We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cultural Icon That Deserves 6 Stars”
Review of Blues City Deli

Blues City Deli
Ranked #15 of 2,901 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a delicious little deli that has 77 reviews on Google Maps but I can't seem to find it here on trip advisor. Thought you might want to add it.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a delicious little deli that has 77 reviews on Google Maps but I can't seem to find it here on trip advisor. Thought you might want to add it.
Fairview Heights
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Cultural Icon That Deserves 6 Stars”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

One of kind place that combines great food and the best in Blues in a truly unique setting! Don't miss it for live Blues on TH evenings and Sat afternoons.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRWblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    44
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Believe the hype -- BCD is all that and then some”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Where should I start? First of all -- the owner Vinny; he loves what he does and it shows -- from the attitude of his employees, the attention to detail in this living museum of great blues performers, to the absolutely life-changing sandwiches that are served up - if you visit St Louis and do not take time to stop here, you are missing something special. Vinny also knows most of his regular customers on a first name basis and he usually takes the time to say hello if he sees you.

Blues City Deli has become a landmark in the Benton Park neighborhood and the St Louis Metro area; I used to enjoy stopping by after work for a soda and watching a live blues performance up close and personal on Thursday nights and Saturday afternoons. They also throw a neighborhood block party every so often, which are can't miss events.

Since I used to work relatively close by, my co-workers and I would drive over and make the line before the place opened at 11am. Yes, there is a line BEFORE it opens. The sandwiches are absolutely amazing so try anything, you will not be disappointed. The other cool thing about this place is that Vinny carries old fashioned sodas in glass bottles, as well as a decent selection of beers. There's always a featured special, and those usually end up being more popular than the regular menu. In fact, at least one of the specials was so popular, it made it onto the regular menu (pretty sure it was the Mike's Spicy).

My top 5:

The Veno
Chicken Shack Ranch
Mike's Spicy
Delta Bayou
1904 World's Fair Chili Hotdog

The atmosphere is fantastic and it is very family friendly; if you like the blues, you'll be in heaven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jttravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff was super-friendly and helpful. The 7th Street Sicilian had excellent meat. We also ordered the special, a roast beef and ham with creole mayo---amazing! Unlike anything I've ever eaten. The selection of potato chips was large and unique. Only wish the dining room was larger.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I wad meeting up with my sister in law who works at Blues City Deli. I had never been so, we stopped in. The line to order was out the door but, once I got my sandwich, I knew why...amazing! Food was wonderful, service was quick, great atmosphere. Give them a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibejnnfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Best deli in St. Louis by far!! Super friendly staff; especially the owner Vinny V! He's very appreciative of business. Great live music and fast with making orders! The only unfortunate thing about this place is space, but definitely worth the visit! Anything I've ever ate there is delicious.

Helpful?
Thank ispeakthetruth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Deli also viewed

 

Been to Blues City Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing