We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll Wait in This Line”
Review of Blues City Deli

Blues City Deli
Ranked #16 of 2,888 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: This is a delicious little deli that has 77 reviews on Google Maps but I can't seem to find it here on trip advisor. Thought you might want to add it.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'll Wait in This Line”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I live in Orlando and won't go to the parks because I hate crowds and waiting in lines. I was hesitant when I pulled up and saw a line 75 feet out the door, but figured that was a good sign when it was only 11am.

The food is, in a word, outstanding. The line moved quickly. We were eating within 15 minutes. When back in St Louis, I'm definitely going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichfromME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    44
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Taste of St Louis Jazz and Blues”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This will be one of the more unique little lunch cafe's in the South City area. It will give you an atmosphere rich in St Louis music history. The food is...well, you will see when you get there. The line for a lunch special will be out the door and down the street. However, you will be in and out in minutes. The line moves quickly, the food is fantastic and we always enjoy going there for lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love these sandwiches!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great lunch place! Had live (awesome) blues playing the day we went, which made the wait for our food enjoyable! They run an organized ship! You see the line and think, "Oh geez, it's going to take forever!" No way, they are quick, efficient, and the food is wonderful! Great little place, and I highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
164 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A special place, cool interior, great corned beef and pastrami”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I love this place. It's special, even more so if you like good deli sandwiches, great menu selections you don't find a lot of places, an atmosphere that feels as groovy as the blues they display. The day was warm so my buddy and I sat outside. Cool neighborhood, too. Blues City is a landmark in the making.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Easyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tucked Away Perfection”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I've been here a few times and an always amazed. They have great food, drinks and live musuc during the days on Saturday. I think that they might have musuc other times but not sure. They are tucked away in a beautiful historic neighborhood of St. Louis

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thats_My_Milk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Deli also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Blues City Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing