We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place, cool interior, great corned beef and pastrami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blues City Deli

Blues City Deli
Ranked #10 of 2,791 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: This is a delicious little deli that has 77 reviews on Google Maps but I can't seem to find it here on trip advisor. Thought you might want to add it.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A special place, cool interior, great corned beef and pastrami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I love this place. It's special, even more so if you like good deli sandwiches, great menu selections you don't find a lot of places, an atmosphere that feels as groovy as the blues they display. The day was warm so my buddy and I sat outside. Cool neighborhood, too. Blues City is a landmark in the making.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Easyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    38
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tucked Away Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I've been here a few times and an always amazed. They have great food, drinks and live musuc during the days on Saturday. I think that they might have musuc other times but not sure. They are tucked away in a beautiful historic neighborhood of St. Louis

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thats_My_Milk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best sandwich place in St. Louis! Super friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've been a fan of this deli for years. Vince, the owner, has an amazing ability to remember names of his patrons, which always makes you feel at home. The sandwiches are superb. Big fan of the Veno and Chicken Shack Ranch, but you really can't go wrong with any of them. The sauces and combination of meats, veggies, and cheese really take these sandwiches far above Bread Co. or other delis. Excellent choice of chips from smaller chip-makers, and a ton of old-fashioned sodas.

The line can be quite long, even at 11am when they open, but it moves quickly so be patient! Well worth the wait! Seating is limited, especially if you can't sit outside. Easy to pickup and go though.

Wish they were open on Sundays and evenings!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EricW_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing but Love for this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I don't know how Vince did it, but I think Vince transported a piece of New Orleans to STL. Great place to grab an amazing sandwich, hang with the locals, and listen to some amazing music. Everything on the menu is amazing. I have never heard anyone complain and the locals love this place. The Benton Park is one of my favorites.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wpb7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“always our first stop in STL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

No matter why we are coming into St. Louis we ALWAYS stop at Blues City Deli first. There is no better place to grab a sandwich. Everything on the menu is made to order and you MUST get the Sweet Red Peper Sauce. I could eat that all by itself.

If you're looking for a St. Louis eatery. This is where you need to go. It's snuggled in the Heart of Soulard with all of the quaint charms you would expect.

If I could rate this 6 or 7 stars...I would!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoStead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Deli also viewed

 

Been to Blues City Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing