We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Center Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Center Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

It was a perfect accommodation of beauty, cleanliness, luxury and hospitality. The hosts went above and beyond making sure we had a wonderful weekend in St. Louis. We will be back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
73
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

After reading the reviews we were excited to arrive to the Grand Center Inn. After staying there I can only say that the charm of the owners must make up for all the other downfalls of the place. Although the Inn was beautiful inside, and we were welcomed warmly, the surrounding area is run down and made us feel slightly uncomfortable. The website boast views of the theater district, which technically they do have - from about 3 blocks away. You also look out over a few vacant lots, a boarded up building, a large parking lot, and a brick house that is missing one whole wall. It was less then charming to say the least. We would not have felt safe or comfortable walking the area, so we didn't, instead deciding to drive to another location in the city for dinner.
While the rooms were clean, they had minimal amenities. When we travel we want to feel pampered, and in the rooms I certainly did not feel this way. Just the little things that make all the difference and aren't really that hard to supply were missing... a clock, extra blankets, quality soap/shampoo, water bottles...these things were not present.
The bed was comfortable, but the sleeping quality was poor. Twice during the evening (sometime after 1am) a sound like a smoke detector woke us up. Now if this really was a smoke detector I would be thankful, but it beeped twice and then would shut off...making us wonder if we should leap to our feet or forget about it. After laying there awake we thought that it was probably the front door security system that was informing us that someone had entered the building (it had beeped when we arrived back from dinner). Which brought to mind the insistence from the owners that we make sure to lock the front door behind us and the fact that our room door had nothing on it but the keyed door knob lock...another moment that gave us an unsafe feeling.
In the morning a wonderful breakfast was served and we were on our way. It was not exactly the hyped up experience that other reviewers stated which left us feeling extremely disappointed. I would not recommend this B&B based on the price and what you receive in return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mexicoadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grendcenterinn, Owner at Grand Center Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Whilst we have always been grateful to all our gracious guests for their constructive feedback, we are flabbergasted by this review! We are perplexed as to what could be the motivation behind this collection of inaccuracies!

1- Anyone that does not come from "Lilliput Land" would be able to estimate the difference between three city blocks distance and a back alley-way separating Grand Center Inn from major venues including Fox Theatre, Sheldon Concert Hall, Pulitzer Foundation for The Arts, Contemporary Arts Museum, KETC Channel 9 Public TV, etc. ( Google will provide more accurate distances)

2- Our neighbors are currently working on the restoration of the carriage house behind their beautiful Victorian Mansion, hence the brick wall being rebuilt. Please have patience, they are putting great efforts in bringing the property back to its original conditions.

3- There is a large parking lot right in between Fox Theatre and Grand Center Inn. It's on Fox's property. Thousands of patrons each day and night pay up to $20.00 to park their vehicles there and enjoy the short stroll to all the surrounding venues and world class restaurants. Parking on Grand Center Inn's property is free!

4- Complimentary quality soaps, shampoos, coffe, tea and other beverages are always present in each of Grand Center Inn's guest rooms. Upon request we are alway glad to provide extras. We regret that in the middle of August we did not think to stock our guest rooms with extra blankets and comforters. We store them in our linen room and put them back as the cooler weather approaches. We would have been glad to provide extra blankets and comforters if anyone would have asked for.

5- While most of our guests feel comfortable enough to leave their guest rooms doors unlocked, we regret that you found that one door lock only on the guestroom door was insufficient.

6- There is a security system that blips every time the front door opens. It is audible only from the first floor common areas. It is very unlikely that it could be heard from the second and third floor levels guestrooms. Much less likely that it would bring the sleep quality to level 1 of 5 even if it had blipped more than once throughout the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My stay was fantastic, service was off the chain and the guys were GREAT! This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast and the GRAND CENTER INN was the best! A special thanks to Ranado (sorry if the spelling is wrong) and Eric.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtgcntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Center Inn after hearing a glowing review from a good friend. We arrived with high expectations and were completely blown away by the charm of the Inn, the graciousness of the hosts (Eric & Renato), and their unwavering attention to detail.

It was my boyfriend's birthday on the weekend of our stay, and I called in advance to arrange for a sweet little something in the room when we arrived. My boyfriend has all sorts of food sensitivities and Eric was extremely helpful and accommodating. We were greeted by a lovely platter of fresh strawberries and oranges with mint and a bottle of pellegrino on ice.

The house itself is just gorgeous — a complete gut rehab of a 19th century building that is full of glamor and elegance. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Since we were the only guests I took a peak at the rest of the rooms — each one was nicer than the next.

As I mentioned, my boyfriend has quite a few food sensitivities, and we both just loved the breakfast that Eric and Renato cooked up for us. Renato is Italian and is a true lover of food, so we enjoyed breakfasts enormously. On Saturday night an intense storm hit St. Louis and pretty much canceled our dinner plans. Renato whipped up a tomato salad with fresh mozzarella and basil from the garden and served it with homemade pesto and baguette. We ended up talking with Eric and Renato for a couple of hours and having an absolutely lovely evening.

I've stayed at quite a few bed & breakfasts before, but have never been taken care of so well. We're already planning a trip back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbruck_cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The house, including the room, was spotless; a greatly appreciated detail for allergy sufferers likes me. This stately home was tastefully, yet not overly furnished and the hosts were delightful. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suenotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Grand Center Inn is one of the best "hidden" treasures of St. Louis. This place has personality, elegance and comfort like no other B&B we've ever been to.

The hosts, Eric and Renato, are charming and ever accommodating. We got in later than we expected (around 10pm) but that wasn't a problem. We were greeted warmly and they took every effort to make sure we felt at home, not only at the Inn but in St. Louis as well. We asked for recommendations of a place to grab drinks, and they took the time to give us a few options, showing us how to get around the city (they even drew us an awesome map!). The room we stayed in was gorgeous (the Sheldon). Elegant and simple, a mix of vintage and modern, like the rest of the Inn. After we were all settled in, they offered us a glass of wine which we graciously accepted before freshening up and heading out on the town.

In the morning, breakfast was incredibly tasty. We had asparagus frittata, turkey sausage, and tomato/mozzarella salad (with delicious coffee and juice). The hosts told us they like to switch up their breakfast selection as often as they can, using fresh in-season ingredients. The breakfast room is quaint and sunny. There are several small tables, private enough for guests who choose to enjoy a quiet breakfast, but close enough to socialize with other guests as well.

After breakfast we sat in the lounge with the hosts and chatted about the history of the Inn. They found the mansion in utter ruins, and in danger of being torn down like many other older buildings in the area. But they saw potential in the boarded-up mansion and decided to re-build it and turn it into the Grand Center Inn. It's clearly been a labor of love—the care and attention to detail in the building is incredible.

The location of the Inn is great as well. It's in the Grand Center district of St. Louis, next door to places like the Fox Theatre and dozens of local restaurants. But it's also within easy driving distance to the Loop, Soulard, Central West End (eat at the Drunken Fish — trust us), and other hotbeds of St. Louis culture and nightlife.

Overall, we can't imagine you'll find a better place to stay in St. Louis. Ditch the Holiday Inn and the even the Sheraton—book a room at the Grand Center Inn instead. You'll never want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Many thanks to the gracious and welcoming hosts of Grand Center Inn for their dedication and hard work in making Grand Center Inn a beautiful bed and breakfast. I was very inspired by their work to restore this property instead of letting it be abandoned as so many like it have been. It was a honor to stay there. The hosts made me feel so welcomed and i felt I had made new friends! I encourage all to visit St. Louis and stay at the Grand Center Inn. The location was perfect for me!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisafromDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#39 of 121 in Saint Louis
375 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
The Parkway Hotel
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
528 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Center Inn

Property: Grand Center Inn
Address: 3716 Grandel Square, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Center Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing