We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaved duck with the family”
Review of The Shaved Duck

The Shaved Duck
Ranked #13 of 2,926 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Tower Grove
Description: Smokehouse and Gathering Place bbq, folk & soul. Every morning, before the sun comes up, our pitmasters are busy firing up the smoker to serve you the freshest, tastiest meats. We smoke our ribs all day to ensure you get them straight off the pit. We believe in buying locally. Our menu is smoked in Ole Hickory Pits, built in Saint Genevieve, and smoked with a combination of wild cherry and hickory sourced from Terry, "the woodman", from Perryville, Missouri. The cherry gives a subtle sweetness and gorgeous color to the meat, balanced with a touch of hickory for that rounded, uniquely smoky finish. We take inspiration from across the United States, but like to dance to the beat of our own drum, infusing different smoking techniques from X, Y and Z. Our focus is, and always will be, rustic American cuisine. Our kitchen cooks from scratch. Try our legendary Burnt Ends, a smoking recipe developed by Corey, Pitmaster of Grillas Team and winner of KC Royal 2003. Our Tri-Tip Steak is an Argentinian technique, simply marinated and rubbed with salt, pepper, rosemary & garlic. Our ribs are smoky, sweet and sticky. Our chicken is smoked whole and pulled for every sandwich. We make our own bacon resulting in our famous Walnut Bacon appetizer. The list goes on … in short, we cut no corners and we love what we do: good folk, fresh bbq and honest, soulful food. We look forward to welcoming you. Sincerely and Cheers, Ally Nisbet Owner
clay city, indiana
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shaved duck with the family”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I read about this restaurant on DDD. looked at the menu and decided to try it. Wow did my family love it! We had the sampler platter, the loaded fries, and the sautéed mashed potatoes. Everything was delicious and the service was top notch. The place was slammed, but the service was still exceptional. It was so good that we decided to have dessert--bread pudding with homemade ice cream and frozen peanut butter pie. MMMMMMMMMMM!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harbourp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    149
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lip smack'n”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great baby back ribs, chicken wings, smothered fries, and selection of beers. Went on a Saturday night. We were told an hour wait but it was more like a 1/2 hour. Very efficient and courteous staff. It's not a large establishment but not overly crowded or loud either. The three sauces to choose from for the meats were all unique and delicious! Kudos to all at the shaved duck!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelindaAvonIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It definitely was very crowded on a Saturday night but totally worth the wait! We waited an hour for dinner. While we waited, we sat at the bar and the wait staff was very friendly and attentive. We then got seated for dinner. We ordered the smothered fries and the pulled pork flatbread as appetizers. Super yummy! For dinner, I had the shrimp and grits and the rest of my party had the pulled beef brisket. Those dishes were phenomenal! The server was very attentive and was so energetic and excited to serve us for the night. Overall, a fabulous time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Duck was phenomenal”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband had the duck which was great (around $17). I had the baby back ribs which was ok, nothing special. The maple sugar bacon app was the most interesting and yummy menu item. Very fun if you like trying interesting creations. All in all, 9/10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyeyes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of St. Louis BBQ”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Prior to visiting this establishment, we were unaware of its showcase on the Travel Channel, so allow to speak first, that our review has no "star factor" attached :)

We asked the hotel for a recommendation for BBQ and this was one of the three suggestions

Establishment is small, expect wait times - they are only open for lunch hours and dinner hours (until 10:00pm I think)

Food is fantastic and reasonably priced -- I had a sampler so I could try a little of everything. Most expensive item as well at $20 -- everything else is lower priced...

Recommend trying the BBQ Bacon with sugar/nuts -- fantastic -- we also tried the duck appetizer - probably the best preparation of a duck I have ever had before

This is not an upscale place, but they have strong customer service, friendly staff and or course exceptional BBQ at a reasonable price...

This is truly a hidden gem in St. Louis...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFootballDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shaved Duck also viewed

 
Florissant, Saint Louis
University City, Saint Louis
 

Been to The Shaved Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing