We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Old English charm”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #45 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This unique hotel offers historic furniture and decor reminiscent of an English hunting lodge. Strolling the lobby and halls was like visiting a museum. The large common room featured a cozy wood fire and was decked out beautifully for the Christmas season. We were treated to live jazz (a regular feature) while enjoying a tasty late-evening meal in the Cheshire’s Tavern, one of three places to eat in the hotel. Our room featured a leather lounging chair and a comfortable King bed, as well as modern conveniences such as easy-access plugs in the furniture for charging phones and computers. The hotel is pet friendly and has a free parking garage for guests underneath the hotel We enjoyed an unusually tasty complimentary continental breakfast in the common room. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located near Forest Park, which among other attractions has a world-class art museum, and is also not far from The Hill, which features some very good Italian restaurants. My wife and I had a very enjoyable one-night stay and we look forward to staying at The Cheshire again next time we’re in St. Louis.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to explore the hotel and sharing your lovely experience at The Cheshire and St. Louis! The decor and furnishings of the hotel, as noticed, are one-of-a-kind and offers a great history behind every collected item at the hotel. We hope you had the chance to enjoy our Scavenger Hunt on property!

With our recent renovations, we offer 4 different dining options ranging from the cozy Fox and Hounds Tavern to The Market, our neighborhood farmer's market-style cafe. With the cold weather upon us, our dining outlets offer cozy seating with most offering a warm fireplace to enjoy! Other great amenities we hope you would enjoy on your next stay are our complimentary bicycle rentals which can be used to explore more of Forest Park and the attractions they have available.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 974 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Pet friendly, valet parking, friendly peole, great restaurant, excellant value, need I say more? We spent only one night but will definatley stay again... Quent hotel wth much history and intrique. Right of of the highway its eay to get to...

Room Tip: away from the pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbaddad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Dan M,
Thank you for recently staying with us here at The Cheshire and your glowing review! Although you were only here with us for one day, sounds like you were able to make the most of it. As you mentioned, we are right off the highway and offer a wide array of amenities like being pet friendly, valet and numerous restaurants. We hope to see you in the near future and wish you all the best.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I live about 40 miles east of St. Louis, and stayed at the Cheshire while attending a concert at the Pageant. We were so pleased by the level of service offered at the Cheshire, Fox and Hound bar in the Cheshire, and both Basso and The Restaurant dining establishments on the grounds. Great service is unfortunately a rarity these days, so to have it offered so genuinely while there was such a treat. Besides great service, the food at both Basso and The Restaurant were exceptional. With all of those benefits, plus a beautiful, comfortable room with ambiance radiating all over the hotel, we will definitely return and recommend to others. Thanks for a great weekend. Karla and Bill Sheeley

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksheeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear ksheeley,
Thank you for taking time to write such wonderful things about your stay at The Cheshire! Our amazing location makes us a great place to stay when in town for concerts. This hotel is amazingly lucky to be staffed with a team that truly enjoys providing amazing service to our guests! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us!

We cannot wait to see you the next time you are in St. Louis!
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We decided to take a small jaunt to St. Louis for some much need together time. We are so pleased that we chose The Cheshire. From check-in to check-out this place helped create the kind of lasting memories you would not expect on just a two hour drive from home.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted the the staff at every turn. Laura made the normally bothersome task of check-in warm and inviting like the first sip of Grandma's hot chocolate with just the right amount of marshmallows.
We of course stayed in one of the theme rooms. Romance was on our minds as we entered into the Robert Louis Stevenson themed Treasure Island suite and it did not disappoint. This room soothed and rejuvenated us with its warm inviting energy and giant bathtub. Did i mention this was a romantic trip. Laura had given us an informative verbal walkthrough of the property so after the best bath either of us has ever had we decided to explore.
The quaint cozy bar in the hotel Fox And Hound was just like the room warm and inviting. A very helpful Meaghan was charming and friendly fun. This is a small quaint bar the all types of comfy couches and chairs. She said the place can get busy when we went is was just right enough people but enough space to allow us to reconnect. The also serve in the lobby with its additional fireplace and supple seating we almost saw no reason to leave the hotel.
We did and boy are we glad we did. Basso sits across the parking lot in a basement. The most beautiful basement i have ever laid eyes on. Trendy and classic all at the same time it offered an upbeat atmosphere that allows a younger couple as us to have a good time without crawling over college kids. Our server Greg was a charming young man with what seemed to be the answer to our every question. The Menu is new italian and there was a lot we did not know he expertly what we told him we like to pick and amazing and affordable bottle of italian wine that we could not pronounce. The he guided us through a meal that i might drive 100 miles after I finish this review to have again. After Unpronounceable bottle number 2 we headed back to the room. We felt like the Lord and Lady of Winterfell before that whole red wedding business. We experience The next day we sauntered over to the wonderful market on property for coffee and pastries next to the fireplace. This place rocked our worlds we will be back again and again. Thank you Cheshire for being our port in the storm that is life.

Room Tip: Theme room then go to basso
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OberonandTitania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear OceronandTitania,
I am truly so happy to hear that your experience was so amazing while you stayed here with us at The Cheshire! Laura, Meaghan, and Greg are all amazing and it is no surprise to me that they helped in creating such a wonderful getaway for you. We truly cannot wait for you to come back the next time you decide to getaway!

Thanks again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We wish we could say we liked everything about The Cheshire. And there’s much to enjoy: the literary theme with a bio and book of your room’s author, the trip back in time that is the lobby with its wood-burning fireplace, stained glass windows and English prints on the wall, and the movie-set perfection of the warm and cozy Fox and Hounds pub eatery. As Wash U parents in for Parents Weekend the location was perfect, too. But for us (fairly seasoned) travelers, the frustrations were too frequent for comfort. Any single one might make us sound like The Whiners, but there were so many that they all added up. Here are the top four:

1. The first room we were given had such poor water pressure in the shower – we both laughed out loud as we stood there taking our respective showers, trying desperately to get sufficiently wet to lather up – that we asked for a new room. I actually can’t remember the last time we had to do that. (The front desk clerk quickly obliged and said they would move our luggage while we were gone for the day.)

2. The shower was fine in the second room, but we had to contend with the light in the bathroom … operated by a motion sensor. It was the lights of Broadway when we went in during the middle of the night (and then stayed on for five minutes after we left!). Even better was when the sensor could not detect us while taking a shower, leaving us soapy in pitch blackness. If there were directions on how to turn the blasted thing off, we sure didn’t see them.

3. The low-to-the-ground bed frame stuck out sufficiently beyond the mattress that I WHACKED my shin not once but twice, slightly breaking the skin in one collision.

4. No newspapers out by the coffee on the Sunday we left like the other mornings we were in residence (and we didn’t spot the stack at the front desk – rats!), so we pulled out some random newspapers on the rack by the fireplace to read while we drank coffee. The papers were from early April, six months previous! An odd in-attention to detail that seems to be the theme here (echoed in the rather spotty housekeeping.)

Would we return? Hmmm. After all the negatives, the answer is actually a maybe because we so enjoyed the old Tudor charm … AND if the Wash U discounted price was comparable to the surrounding chains. It’s a different experience, certainly, but we wouldn’t pay top dollar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear DianeTN
Thank you for recently staying with us and sharing your experience on line. We are pleased that you got to enjoy some of the amenities such as The Fox and Hounds, English literary themes and wood burning fire place. Thank you for bringing to our attention the water pressure because we had maintenance do some digging and there was in fact a problem that has now been resolved. We are sorry to hear that you did not get a newspaper on Sunday and found some of the old papers we use for kindling in the fireplace. We do hope that you consider giving us another chance next time you are in town so we can really show you the Cheshire charm.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Cheshire has a special place in mine and my husband's hearts. We recently returned for a special occasion and loved it. The moment we walked in, we felt welcome and the candle they were burning smelled fabulous (luckily, they had them for sale.) The layout of the rooms was nice and open and the bed was extra comfy. Although we didn't get to eat in the restaurant, it must be awesome because it was always busy. I would def stay here again and hope to in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mendi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear MendiZ,
I am so pleased to hear the wonderful things that you have to say about your time at The Cheshire! I truly hope that we can become part of a tradition for you and your husband. The next time you stay, I highly recommend eating at The Restaurant (or booking a wonderful Romance Package that includes a $50 credit to The Restaurant, Basso, or The Market.)

Thank you for staying with us and writing such wonderful things,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have stayed here in the past when visiting children and it was great. This time the visit was not up to par. It started by arriving at 10:00 p.m. on a very busy evening after an 11-hour drive. They knew we were arriving late. The parking lot was packed, the bar and lounge impossible to negotiate. There was no parking in the ramp or surface lot, yet I was told they were still charging me for parking because the valets would find a spot. The front desk had no answers, would not help me, so I paid the extra money to have my car parked. The bathroom needed some tidying up. Behind the toilet was filthy, the corner of the sink was dirty behind the faucet. Strange shower, being long and narrow, with the faucet on the far wall. How you turn on the shower and not get drenched with cold water I never figured out. I asked where we could get something to eat, again no help. The bar has some meals but you have to order from the bar. I actually tried to get to the bar but could not (that's how packed it was). No room service available. The front desk had no other suggestions. The next door restaurant, Basso, was also very busy but willing to let us order and carry back to the room. I really like this place but their service since our last stay has really suffered. If this does not improve I will be looking for a new hotel next time in St. Louis. On a long weekend they should be sure to put on staff that actually care.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear meadoc1,
I want to start by thanking you for staying with us and providing extremely valuable feedback. I am extremely disheartened to hear that your stay was far from perfect. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. If you would like to discuss further, please do not hesitate me directly.

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
1.9 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
992 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
403 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#80 of 123 in Saint Louis
854 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $146 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing