We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Comfortable”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #44 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Chesire and would check into it again if I was visiting St. Louis. There many reasons why I liked the Chesire. First of all, the location, it is located within 15 minutes from almost everything in St. Louis; Washington University, Forest Park, the Delmar Loop, and the Gateway Arch. Also the pricing is very reasonable for what they have to offer. The rooms are well decorated, have very comfortable beds, and are very quiet. The place itself is no ordinary lodge it has a vintage look to it and is furnished with traditional English sofas and tables,which gives the place a cozy feel to it. The food there was fantastic; the breakfast buffet had various items to choose from and there are four restaurants in the same facility as the lodge. I only tried the food at the Fox and Hounds Tavern, which was excellent considering its main function is a bar, but I bet the food from the other three restaurants are just as good if not better. The Wellness center has professional equipment there and is open 24/7. The same is with the pool, which was surrounded with beautiful furnishings as well. The room service was timely and complete. Most importantly the staff was very friendly and courteous; Bill and Annie took care of anything I needed during my stay. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting St. Louis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdalla1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear abdalla1622
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cheshire! Your warm review was perfect. As you mentioned, our English furnishings mesh with well with the overall English theme and we hear a lot of positive feedback from guests all the time. Our central location and 4 restaurants have been a big hit with people and we hope that you come back soon to see for yourself. Finally, thank you for mentioning our staff by name. We take great pride in our hospitality here and love to hear that they made your stay, that much better.
Sincerely
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for The Cheshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 944 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is excellent especially Benjamin, Sergio, and Annie. Thank you to them for making my visit to STL even better. I would recommend anyone to go stay at the Cheshire.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear BG1221
Thank you for your kind words upon your recent stay with us here at The Cheshire! Obviously you were able to have some great interaction with Benjamin, Sergio, and Annie and we just want to say thank you for mentioning them. Everyone here takes great pride in their work and all of our team members are constantly striving to make sure that our guests are having a wonderful experience. We invite you to please come back and visit us soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked a block of rooms at the Cheshire for my daughter's wedding. Lauren Barry was wonderful to work with from first contact through the wedding weekend itself. Many family members and friends stayed at the hotel including myself and the bride and groom. It was a great place to gather the night before the wedding. The boardroom was nice for the hair stylist and the make-up lady used my room, the Beatrix Potter room, for all the girls make-up. I loved that room! The bride and groom stayed in the Romeo and Juliet suite following the wedding. It was very conveniently located to Forest Park where the reception was held also. Lauren and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful! Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dian611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear dian611,
Thank you so much for staying us recently at The Cheshire for a wonderful weekend. We are so please we were able to contribute to the special weekend. We are conveniently located next to Forest Park and we are delighted to hear our mini-suites, suites, and boardroom were available to you for preparation on The big day. We do hope that you will come back and visit us soon to share in some other great moments
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Charming place to stay if you are looking for something a little different! Our king size room was perfect size for the two of us and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but not a big deal in the big scheme of things. My favorite part of the hotel was the Fox and Hound Tavern. Nice place to sit and enjoy drinks...would be great in the wintertime because of the fireplace. What I did notice about this hotel is there were people mingling in the lobby at all hours of the day. There are so many chairs and sofas throughout that it seems to beckon visitors to sit down and just enjoy each other's company. We typically stay in downtown St. Louis when we visit for Cardinals games, but I think we have found a new place to stay from now on. Easy access to downtown, but closer to all the things we enjoy...looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLoverinOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear FoodLoverinOB
Thank you for your recent trip to The Cheshire and your wonderful review! We constantly get compliments of how comfortable the Serta Presidential Pillow-Top beds are and we are pleased to hear that you too enjoyed them. You are correct in noticing that people do mingle throughout the lobby and take advantage of the cute English charm. We hope that you get to come back this winter and see for yourself just how cozy the Fox and Hounds, as well as the lobby, can be during the winter with our fireplaces going.
Sincerely,
Hotel Mangment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

i am so happy i was too late to get the regular conference hotel. instead i stayed here -- with a gastro pub on the premises, not to mention a giant stuffed bear. right near a giant park with bikes you can rent. this place was so surprising & fun.

Room Tip: frankly the rooms are just rooms, but each is named for an author. you might ask for one you know or...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpletiger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear purpletiger22
Thank you for your recent visit to The Cheshire and your wonderful review! As you mentioned, we are not your typical conference hotel but instead a boutique hotel with a great location and wonderful amenities. Our gastro pub, Basso, has been received well by both hotel guests and locals alike. We do hope you were able to partake in the complimentary bike rentals and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotel managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel earned some Trip Advisor award in 2012-must have been thanks to folks who didn't use the guest rooms...

The fan in my room sounded like a 1970 hair dryer on high. The compressor for the A/C was above the bathroom ceiling so the vibration would set off the motion sensor light, 24/7...

Speaking of the bathroom, the two dead bugs in the sink and the red swizzle stick in the toilet suggests little in the way of quality control on housekeeping. And as for my housekeeping experience? There wasn't any-they never cleaned my room...

Room Tip: Don't face the main drag...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Paul T
I am sorry to hear of your recent stay with us at The Cheshire. We strive to provide great service as well as a wonderful experience. We are addressing the issues you had with your A/C unit as well as speaking with housekeeping to ensure that we are providing attention to detail. We hope in the future, you re-consider us to prove to you that guest satisfaction is always our highest goal at The Cheshire

Sincerely,
Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Very unique hotel with lots of personality! Great breakfast in the mornings! The onsite bar has an old English pub feel to it and features a wood burning fireplace. The location is easy to get to and away from the crazy downtown traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stdestintril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbarrylhm, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear 1stdestintril,
Thank you so much for staying with us at The Cheshire! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast and visited the charming Fox and Hounds for some entertainment. In addition, thank you for pointing out the location; we feel it is a great location for families, business travelers, and people looking to get away while still being close enough to visit all the attractions. We hope that you will once again stay with us when you come back to see St. Louis.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
1.9 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
974 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#37 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
2.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $148 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing