We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Families!”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #44 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was the most family-friendly hotel we've ever stayed at. The pros: no one is upset when your kids don't sit quietly and eat breakfast without speaking. Lots of other families to play with, the pool is always full of kids. The location close to the zoo is fabulous for almost all the big St. Louis family attractions. Very easy to get downtown. Free parking. Free breakfast (continental, with one hot item like a burritto or sausage biscuit). Free coffee and tea all day. (and the coffee is good, not just the ground up junk they usually serve at hotels) Free wifi. In short, what you pay for the room is all you pay. Which is great when you're staying with the kids and don't want all the extra charges for every little thing. Room service is very good here too, some of the best we've had, although the menu is very limited, and there's not really anything just for kids. They had construction when we were there, and the parking was challenging. There are a lot of kids and quite a few dogs, so if this bothers you, this might not be the hotel for you. As a previous reviewer said, they don't have rollaways, just air mattresses. Not the best solution. But is it easy to overlook a couple of things for the good service (we had nothing but fantastic service on our visit) and special perks for kids (we got a little backpack with coupons that saved us money at the zoo, etc.) it's well worth it. Tip: call and try to book a specific room in advance. All the rooms are named after famous authors, and if you specify what you need, they can assign you a room that fits your needs. If you are just a couple, ask to see if the James Bond suite is available. It's amazing! (we just got a peek, but it would be a sexy getaway) Their family special is a very good deal.

Room Tip: If you're traveling as a family, their family special automatically books adjoining rooms and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripsforfamilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Sherry W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a response for our hotel. We were thrilled to hear how you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our amenities. We have been working on appealing to families and couples alike, which has been a big success. We appreciate your business and your feedback and we hope you come back and stay with us soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 949 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. The hotel attracts families with kids and dogs.
Pros: Location within walking distance of Forest Park (excellent for runners). Complimentary parking. Spacious rooms and bathroom. Comfortable bed. Excellent complimentary WiFi. Well equipped gym. Good breakfast (although long lines).
Cons: Painfully slow elevators. No safe in room. No electrical outlet for computer near desk. Dogs allowed in dining area.
Reasonably quiet during the night, but no sleeping in after 7 am due to screaming kids, barking dogs and slammed doors.

Room Tip: End of the hallway, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear cqfp123,
Thank you so much for staying at the Cheshire Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed many of the amenities we offer on-site and our amazing location. With any new property we are working hard to always improve for our guests and certainly appreciate your feedback. We hope you will keep us in mind for future visits to our area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here with our children and grandchildren after visiting the zoo in Forest Park, very close to the zoo. We had 3 rooms one was adjoining so it gave a little more room for the little ones to move around. The rooms are a nice size and very updated. The airconditioner was very quiet, didn't notice it at all. We had a pool view room and could hear the music from the pool saturday evening, but they did stop playing around 10:00 which wasn't bad. We swam after we got back from the zoo, and the water was perfect. Nice to have an outdoor pool this time of year. The breakfast served in the morning left a little to be desired. Cereals, fruit, danish, buritos, yogurt. They had many types of bottled juices. Fox and Hound was just average too.Bar service by the pool was great. As was all the service we received. The hotel was something different, it was nice, not your average chain hotel. We would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear dutchtravlr,
Thank you so much for staying at the Cheshire Hotel. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and many of our on-site amenities in addition to the great attractions Forest Park has to offer just moments from our newly renovated hotel. We hope you will keep us in mind for future visits to the St. Louis area with your family!

Sincerely,
Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Arrived for my birthday get away from Chicago. We used to go here years ago before the renovation. The hotel is a classic and very different. The renovation, to me, didn't really show up too much. The rooms were about the same, The showers and bathrooms were exactly the same. The pool was the same, save some renovated and new furniture. That being said, there was a marked improvement in customer service. A special thank you to the restaurant manager and her staff. ALL very professional and accommodating. They REALLY took care of my small, but kinda rowdy bunch. Saturday nights they put on a nice little poolside party. A very talented musician arrived and fun was had by all. Bottom-line: The service was outstanding. The entire staff seemed to take personally, our happiness. It's a one of a king hotel, totally worth the stay. One note, all parking is in a very low roofed parking garage. If you have a truck or SUV be careful. Take off your antennae before you descend into this lot. It is free though. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aerowise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear Aerowise,
Happy Belated Birthday and thank you so much for spending it with us at the Cheshire! I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff committed to guest satisfaction! This must be your second visit with us since the renovation as our rooms were totally gutted in 2011 and have returned now and have received the AAA Four Diamond Seal with all new furniture and much upgraded amenities. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Saturday night live music which will continue until the end of August each Saturday night! We hope you will come back again soon once our new on-site restaurants are complete!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We visited the Cheshire again this summer and where surprised how little had changed since we were there in December. They have been remodeling. The parking lot was still a mess. In fact, we watched them starting to tear up the entrance from our room at 7 am, so I guess they were changing that.
We tried to pick up a bite from the Fox and Hound before we left for the evening at 4:30. The actual hole in the wall is small and nothing looked comfortable to eat a meal at, but you could sit outside or in the lobby. The problem was service. There was only one waitress for the whole area. Food was very good.
Bed was great and comfortable. The air conditioner was still a problem. When it ran, it vibrated the bathroom.
The pool looked interesting. The have added a lot of Las Vegas type seating and cabanas. It made it look very inviting.
This is a unique and interesting place to stay, just don't expect everything to be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auxvasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear auxvasse,
Thank you so much for choosing the Cheshire for your recent visit to St. Louis. We are glad to see you have come back. We are still working as quickly as possible to complete the final phases of construction and know that the parking lot is an important and are working to get that project also complete. I am sorry that you experienced some issues and I hope you brought this to the attention of management to be addressed. We do now have our pool complete and open and does offer a nice mix our lounge chairs and soft seating in addition to some wonderful shaded cabanas. We hope you will come back on your next trip to this area to be able to experience the completed property in 2013.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent three nights at the Chesire, where the first phase of remodeling and redecorating of rooms and common areas was completed in August 2011. Located near Forest Park, an additional phase is presently under construction. Post-construction cleanup of the rooms could have been more thorough: corners of the tile floor had residue and gobs of lubricant were present on the bathroom door hinges. The service at the Cheshire is generally above average. The Fox & Hounds Tavern (drinks and pub grub), however, was often short staffed, resulting in long waits for customers. The pool was still under re-construction during our visit, but appeared to be within a week or so of completion. The common areas did not get the same level or thoroughness of remodeling and redecorating as the rooms, but are pleasant. Coffee, tea and juices are offered complimentary from the breakfast serving area all day. The breakfast is continental, with one hot item served in addition to the cereals, bagels, yogurt, etc. That said, the hot items go quickly; rude guests may load their plates with more than one hot dish. I would typically rate lodging of this quality very good, but the hotel's dog friendly policy ruined it for us. Dog owners ate with their pets in the breakfast room and reception lounge and frequently entered and exited the premises from a door immediately off the breakfast room, inconveniencing patrons waiting to serve themselves food. Dog barking was prevalent. I asked staff at the front desk to communicate my displeasure with the policy to management. Unfortunately, we won't return as long as such a policy is in place. If one doesn't find a kennel-like atmosphere objectionable, this may be one's St. Louis choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not adjacent to Clayton Road, which is noisy with auto traffic. Single ply leaded gla...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Clarkkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Clarkkp,
Thank you so much for choosing the Cheshire for your recent visit to St. Louis. We appreciate your opinion and want to thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think. I am sorry for the inconvenience the pet policy caused you during your stay. We actually have had a lot of success with our pet policy with our guests as each animal gets the Royal Treatment and receives a dog bed, water and food bowl, lease, bag of treats and $25 Nestle Coupon. This amazing program has helped us welcome more animals but we would never want it to affect our other guest’s experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will give us one more try to earn you as a guest for life!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in June for a combo business-pleasure weekend and for the most part it was a good stay...with a few kinks.

First the good, the staff does a good job at trying to meet expectations. It is a young staff and some of the issues they have to try to fix are related to the property itself. The location is fantastic for navigating CWE STL. It's close to everything. The food in the restaurant is good and the breakfast buffet is above average for a continental style. The beds are high quality and the showers on the 4th floor are very nice.

Ok, so the problems. This is a remodeled landmark hotel. It is an older building and sometimes you can't make an older property translate into the 21st century. Parking in the garage was tight. The AC unit in my room was LOUD. I got used to it and did tell the front desk but never heard anything from them. The housekeeping staff does a nice job and I will say Akeesha did a great job taking the time to do the little extras. However they seem to have a towel shortage and the towels should be upgraded and or replaced. The breakfast buffett is good but they have an issue with flow and seating. I truly think if they had the restaurant open during breakfast they could fix this issue. As for the menu, it needs to offer a few more items like desert. The pool is and was my biggest concern. It is a nice pool. BUT don't be fooled by the pictures, it's small and can get loud. I think the issue is really about setting expectations. If you are going to appeal to a younger upwardly mobile crowd with the pictures on your web-site and brand yourself as such find a way to keep the adults and the families with little tykes separated. I'm not sure how to fix this but maybe after 4PM keep the kiddos out? And no I don't hate kids, I just think sometimes the grown-ups need a break from them.

Over all I was pleased with my stay. I'll probably come back and would recommend the property but hope the owners get the kinks fixed. It's a great, fun concept and it's one of those places where you can see the true gem just under the surface.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Jerry H,
Thank you so much for choosing the Cheshire for your recent visit to St. Louis. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience. We do agree that our property is in the ideal location, we are the closest hotel to the zoo and do even offer house bikes complimentary for 3 hours for our guests to explore this area rich in attractions and culture. Thank you for the nice compliment on Akeesha, we do take a lot of pride in ensuring those extras are always taken care of for our guests and always appreciate to be able to recognize a team member for impacting a guest stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
1.9 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
979 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $147 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing