We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice cross b/t a B&B & a hotel”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #40 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice cross b/t a B&B & a hotel”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We went to St. Louis for the weekend & stayed 1 night. We absolutely loved it for the most part. The rooms are all named after famous English writers. The furnishings are a nice mix of old English & modern decor. There is a big fireplace with lots of seating in the lobby area with tables where people are found playing games or just talking in the evenings. The inn is very clean, no problems with that. The Fox & Hound pub is a nice place to relax, drink a beer, & listen to music in the evenings, although it gets extremely crowded so get there early if you expect to find a table.

It is in a questionable neighborhood though. Also, it advertised being extremely pet friendly. It was supposed to provide a pet bed, a coupon for free dog food, & a royal welcome for your pet. When we got there the staff had no idea about the pet bed or dog food.

Room Tip: The suites are much more expensive than regular rooms. I was very impressed with the regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marysadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thanks for all the great comments...

We love the neighborhood with the great restaurants (Kaldis, Sasha's, Jimmy's) located in DeMun.
We are very pet friendly, and I apologize if there was confusion regarding your pet amenities.
Thanks for pointing this out. I will have a refresher course with all the team members, so our royal pouches will have a memorable stay. Next time you are coming in town, email me at hlunt@cheshirestl.com and I will personally make sure that you and your four-legged friend are taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    219
    100
    60
    34
See reviews for
273
276
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Being from St. Louis, I remember the Cheshire as THE place to go for dinner on prom night in the 60's. Now that I am in MY 60's, I took my sister there for a one night getaway. The rooms are fantastic and the service was the best. Just as the fire in the fireplace was dying down, they would come and put on more wood. Dinner was in the Fox and Hound tavern since the restaurant is being renovated. It was a little crowded but you could also eat in the beautiful lobby. The complimentary breakfast had something for everyone. The waffles were the big hit but they could use an extra waffle maker.

Great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMae1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thanks for your nice comments regarding the nice rooms and great service.
Everyone loves our fireplace...and we are excited about the construction of our function space, restaurant, bar, pub and market.

Kind regards,
Harry Lunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morton, illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel has recently been renovated and they have done a very nice job. It maintains it quaint, quirky charm. Wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon 20 years ago and returned as a surprise for her. She was very pleased with the way the hotel looks.

There are a few misses or quirks as others have mentioned. The Clayton road side is noisy with traffic, but not overly concerning. The air/heat is quite noisy. We found it difficult to watch TV without turning up the sound every 15 minutes. Bathrooms are quite small and shower is poorly designed. No way to turn on shower without getting a face full of cold water.

Otherwise though, it is quite nice. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Flat screen TV's. Nicely decorated. Service by staff was excellent throughout. Staff is attentive and friendly. The fire is real. Furniture in the sitting room is comfortable and inviting. We found ourselves talking to other guests as if we were old friends. This is something that almost never happens at the 'box' hotels. Breakfast is limited as some have noted, but what we had was quite good. Coffee was excellent each morning.

The Fox and Hounds Tavern, however, was quite disappointing. We stopped in on Friday night for a drink. It was quite crowded, so I went directly to the bar to get served. Asked the bartender for a White Zinfandel. Was informed, they didn't have it. Asked about white wine selections for my wife and was handed a menu without a word. He proceeded to turn his back on me, fill a couple of drink orders and walk away. He returned a few minutes later to receive my order, filled it without saying a word and walked away again. Quite a chilly reception. He went to sit by the fire where we sat talking to another gentleman for an hour. During this time, he attempted to get a refill from the waitress, who repeatedly ignored him. She appeared to purposely keep her back to our party the entire evening while she reluctantly waited on another couple.

The following night, we returned to see if things improved. They did not. We went into the bar, where the same waitress saw us enter and immediately ducked into the kitchen. We approached the bar and asked for dinner service. Were told (unsmilingly) that the waitress would be with us shortly. We never saw the waitress again. After waiting 20 minutes, we left for Applebees down the street. On the way back, we stopped at Schnucks where we found a 4 pack of Jack and diet for $9 and mini bottles of White Zin for $2. We proceeded back to our spot by the fire and served ourselves at a significant cost savings as well as improved atmosphere.

Very disappointing. Management should address this issue as it is completely out of character with the remaining staff and has been noted elsewhere on Tripadvisor. These two are not suited for customer facing roles. They hand out smiles as if they personally pay for them and are both overdrawn on their accounts. Perhaps they are more friendly to locals?? As I mentioned, the place is packed. Given the cordiality of everyone else we met, the complete lack of customer service orientation here was glaring and startling in comparison.

Worth a repeat stay, but we would not step foot in the Fox and Hounds. Can't say if the food is any good or not.

Room Tip: Avoid Clayton road if noise bothers you. Avoid the Fox and Hounds at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, we are looking into putting "sound machines" in the Clayton road side rooms, for those who are sensitive to the ambient traffic sounds.

For those who follow the reviews, everyone should know that we have one to two teams (per day) adjusting the airflow. The hotel is "bones" of the hotel are nearly 50 years old, thus for today's modern standards, the bathrooms are on the smaller size; however in our Novelty Suites, the bathrooms are fantastic. I will inform the housekeeping team to turn the shower heads towards the wall, so thank you for your suggestion.

Thanks for the nice notes about the room, TV's, etc.; not to mention the kind and caring staff. Breakfast is changing and being improved, and I always mention that we have the unlimited coffee and tea, and honor juice bar, which is a very good value as it is complimentary. We partner with Kaldi's (local company) and "yes" the Coffee is excellent each morning.

I will speak with our new Bar Manager about the service and/or lack there of that you received in Fox & Hounds. Service Standard training will be taking place the second week of February. Feel free to ask for me on your next visit, and I will buy you the first round of drinks and make sure that you are properly taken care of. Kind regards, Harry Lunt, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

...but I can't. Simply because I care about customer service.

This hotel has such high potential. They did a great job renovating the hotel while keeping that "Olde English" charm. The restaurant is good, but extremely crowded and understaffed. Upstairs, every suite is named after a famous book/writer, and the suites are spacious. My only complaint about the rooms themselves is that there is no Do Not Disturb sign. So half-hour before checkout, housekeeping was already knocking on the door, asking if we were still there. Shouldn't the front desk know if we have left or not?

Earlier that morning, around 6 a.m., the fire alarm went off. We stood outside, the morning of January 7, for an hour in the cold. My major gripe was when we asked for a late checkout, and the front desk clerk said she would charge us for anything past noon. Honestly, for waking up at the crack of dawn, they should have given us the night free, but the gall of asking us to pay for a late checkout really riled me up.

The hotel is nice enough, but that encounter really cemented my opinion of this hotel. Go somewhere else, especially if you like upper-end boutique service.

Room Tip: Suites do not have tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victor1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st Louis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend here. We live in St Louis and have been hearing about the big Renovation so we decided to have a little staycation. We were not disappointed one bit.
We stayed in the Treasure Island suite. We enjoyed the fireplace and the large whirl pool tub. There was attention to every detail in the room. We loved the big comfortable bed..There are beautiful antiques in the room - chairs, tables etc.... The renovated bathroom was very well done. I loved the pale blue tile.

We enjoyed some drinks in the Fox and Hounds Bar. For those who have visited here before they have made sure to retain the original charm and allure. We missed the old bartender and piano player though. The bar tender last night seemed like he would rather be somewhere else - not a pleasant guy.
The other staff was great and very sweet and helpful. We stepped outside to the renovated patio and it will a great place to visit in warmer weather.... I loved the big planters.
If you want a taste of England charm this boutique Triple A rated hotel is the place for you. There are beautiful old paintings and antique furniture in the lobby to enjoy. We sat by the big fireplace in the lobby where there was a roaring wood fire ( not gas logs!) and read the paper.
We plan to come back again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at The Cheshire on January 6, 2012. The hotel is beautiful. From the smell of the wood fireplace when you walk in to the amazing Old English decorations, including chairs, artwork, pillows and on and on. It is a tastefully decorated boutique hotel.

After quickly checking in and heading up to our room we learned that each room is based on an English writer or poet. Ours was based on Samuel Taylor Coleridge, a poet. His name was on our room door along with the room number. Inside we found a short biography of him along with a book of his poems.

The room was clean and I would say 4 star quality. Excellent LG flat screen TV, sizable bathroom with excellent lighting (though we did have burned out bulbs) and the bed was king and comfortable. The air, when it kicks on, does blow a touch loudly but overall it was a very very nice room with accommodations.

We ventured down to the hotel bar, the Fox & Hound, which is a classic Old English dark pub style. It was packed with people. The most I'd seen in a hotel bar. The drinks were not overly expensive, a decent wine list was available. There was live jazz music that was very good. There is overflow outside the bar with additional seating next to a toasty wood burning fireplace and it was also nearly full.

We headed back up to the room for a good nights rest...when....at 1245am, my wife was awakened by a loud thump and a crash and then 30 minutes of very physical loud "relations" from the occupants next door. She remembered the air blew loudly so she switched it to fan and managed to get back to sleep after about a half hour.

Then, at 625am, the fire alarms went off. We called downstairs and were told there had been something smoldering in the laundry area of the hotel that had set the alarms off. It's hard to go back to sleep at 630 in the morning but we managed and awoke about 9am.

Breakfast was hot oatmeal with an excellent assortment of drinks. We got down too late for the larger assortment of food. The hotel is pet friendly too, though our dog was left at home.

I'm not going to hold the sexy occupants or the fire alarms (I'm glad to know they work had it been something we needed to evacuate from) against the hotel. Just bad luck. The overall accommodations were such that we chose to again book two nights at the Cheshire in early February when we will be back in St. Louis. Hopefully after that stay there won't be a "but" at the end of my review.

Room Tip: Excellent location close to the Galleria in Clayton, Washington University, Forest Park, and even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russdan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I lived in Clayton many years ago when the Cheshire was considered a dump. I had high expectations of the hotel after reading about the extensive renovations and positive reviews and booked a room for a recent visit to St Louis. The first room we were shown opened on to the roof where the kitchen exhaust fan rumbled 24/7. After moving to a different room which was smaller, but quieter, we were disappointed in some of the renovation details. The bed was located right next to the door to the hallway, the bathroom had a glass door with a light that automatically went on (with no manual control to turn it off) when a person entered, and there was no mirror over the sink in the bathroom.
The bar, thankfully untouched by the renovation, remains a cozy place for a drink, and the location is still great - access to Wash U, Downtown, Clayton, and Forest Park are easy.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms on the 2nd floor that overlook the kitchen's roof - very noisy and the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Property: The Cheshire
Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing