We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT CHARACTER/FABULOUS UPGRADE/GREAT LOCATION/GREAT BAR”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #38 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT CHARACTER/FABULOUS UPGRADE/GREAT LOCATION/GREAT BAR”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

It was long overdue for the Cheshire to get a complete overhaul but without losing its character. IT IS SO NICE NOW!! The moment I walked in the door I knew it was going to be great. The staff is so much better, the breakfast area is MUCH better, the accommodations are really attractive and the bathrooms are snazzy and modern. The bar is still cozy and popular. The Cheshire is a GREAT location if "doing St. Louis".

Room Tip: Book a room toward the interior, overlooking the swimming pool. It's a lot quieter being off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful feedback.

I think that you are correct when you say that the staff does a fantastic job.

I love to share these type of reviews with my team.

Come back and see us soon.
Warm regards,
Harry Lunt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    219
    99
    60
    34
See reviews for
272
276
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great location! Great price! Great service! Great guests! We enjoyed breakfast in front of the fire.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecemberTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We love, love, love this place. We stayed three nights over the Christmas holiday and it was fabulous. It is very clean and they have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is in a great location, close drive to everything. Breakfast is great. Staff is very friendly and professional, they always knew our names and continually asked us if we were enjoying our stay. The housekeeping staff and grounds crew were the friendliest I have ever encountered, they just couldn't do enough for you. I think the best part of our stay was the atmosphere. Everytime we made our way through the lobby people were drinking tea, visiting, reading by the fireplace, playing games, you just don't see that in many hotels. I became addicted to Forte tea while there. They always have fresh tea cups with saucers and tea out in the breakfast area. We will stay here again when in St. Louis.

Room Tip: King Royale, fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marciw, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for such a raving review. Happy to hear that your stay was exceptional and our staff was helpful to you. We are definitely a unique hotel in St. Louis and we take pride in making everyone feel like part of our family. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here over Christmas with our 2 Labrador Retrievers. What an awesome place! Very quaint with English antiques [exquisite ones I might add] throughout the common areas. Our room was spacious and very cozy. Our 2 girls [4 legged ones] received a lovely welcome with 2 doggie beds and bags of treats [thank you Ricky!!]. EVERYONE working there seemed truly happy to be there - even on Christmas morn when one man spent some time building a fire for the lobby fireplace. The continental breakfast was lovely and the eating area beautifully appointed. The elevators smell like they are hand polished every single day. Each room is annointed for an English writer - we stayed in the Robert Burns room, next to the "Death on the Nile" room. Just great fun! Only 2 items detracted from the perfection - the HVAC system was rather noisy when it kicked on at night. Not a huge deal but distracting to sleep the first night. The other is a nice touch that was just not implemented in the best way - there is a motion sensor on the bathroom light. This is great when you get up in the middle of the night and are trying to find your way to the restroom. However, all the bathroom lights come on which is a bit too bright for the middle of the night. We did not complain as these were not big deals to us. I feel certain that some remedy could have been had for the lights and perhaps for the HVAC too. We will definitely plan to stay there again next time we visit the St. Louis area, which we do yearly with family in the area. It is well worth a stay to add a touch of class and cozy comfort to a trip.

Room Tip: With dogs, being close to the stairs, which we were, was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed at The Cheshire as guest of the St. Louis Classical Guitar Society, and I had an excellent experience in this very charming and relaxing place.

Carlos Pérez.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks for mentioning that we support the St. Louis Classical Guitar Society.

We also have complimentary "Jazz" on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday.
Perhaps one of the most charming and relaxing places in St. Louis.

Thaks for the shout out Mr. Perez!
Sincerely,
Harry Lunt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The Cheshire was an excellent place to stay, service was good and the atmosphere superb. The wood burning fireplace in lobby set the tone, and The Fox and Hound Tavern very nice. Underground parking was a plus, good location to all of St. Louis. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmahaR_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marciw, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Cheshire - and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

who would have thought you could find a hotel like this in a St Louis suburb? I walked in and the fire was roaring, the pub was boisterous and the rooms were newly refurbished. Goodbye Marriott, hello Cheshire!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marciw, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
We are very appreciative of your wonderful review of our boutique hotel. Since we opened, we have tried very hard to be an interesting place for our guests. We are thrilled that we connected with you in such a strong way. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Cheshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Property: The Cheshire
Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing