We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cheshire
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moonrise Hotel(Saint Louis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
511
239
109
82
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
239
109
82
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfox and houndsforest parkthemed roomsliterary themejames bond suitetudor stylebathroom lightclayton roadscavenger huntwood burning fireplacecontinental breakfastfresh fruitboutique hotelunderground parkingwashington universityart museumcommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
930 - 935 of 986 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but it was a very pleasant stay. We liked the themed room. It wasn't any more expensive than other hotels in the area. It was very clean with very comfy beds. The staff was helpful and courteous. The continental breakfast had delicious pastries and fresh fruit (not just cereal and apples). We will totally stay at The Cheshire again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marciw, Guest Relations Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Cheshire! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had the pleasure of interacting with our amazing staff here. They do always try to go above and beyond to make our guests feel at home. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did and we are excited for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Cheshire has been recently renovated and what a fantastic job. Everything is bright and beautiful. It still has that old rustic feel to it and yet a feel of the new. The staff really made you feel that they wanted you there and that it was their home that they were opening up to you. The room was fantastic and all the rooms are named after famous authors and poets which just one of those things that puts it a notch above other places with just a room number. It was one of the best experiences that I have had in many motel stays. The bathroom was bright, clean and welcoming. I have never seen such a wonderful shower. The room itself was very welcoming the moment we opened the door. The Fox and Hound Tavern was very nice, the drinks were good and fair priced and the food was limited in selection, but very good. Their restaurant is still under renovation. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: When making reservations on line, they have actual pictures of the room. You get what you see. Do you research and pick a great room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marciw, Public Relations Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Cheshire! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our staff and are happy to see they were able to meet all of your needs during your stay. We want to thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey to let us know how we did. We certainly hope you will keep us in mind for your next trip to the St. Louis area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I live in St. Louis and wanted to check out the newly renovated Cheshire Inn. I was not disappointed! The facility still has its charm and Old English style, but has been beautifully updated. The location, next to Forest Park and convenient to many attractions, is a huge plus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thanks for your kind words...Great new look, fantastic team, and of course one of the best locations in St. Louis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I SO wanted to love this hotel. I looked forward to the reopening and followed them on facebook. The first chance we got, my husband and I planned a romantic overnight getaway. The "novelty suites" were booked, so we took a regular suite hoping for a quiet, comfy, relaxing stay. Our room was not ready when we checked in, so we had to wait about half an hour. We were given complimentary drinks, but we still would rather have had access to our room upon arrival. As another reviewer mentions, the common areas are beautiful - stocked with English antiques and loads of charm, but our room was another story. It was sparse, dark and couldn't decide if it wanted to be contemporary or neo-Tudor 1970s. The furniture in the room was functional, but not comfortable. The bathroom was nice, but had a weird motion-detector light that stayed on for long time after leaving the bathroom. Carpeting in the room rather than laminate flooring would have made it cosier. The worst thing about the room was the noise. When the a/c kicked on it sounded like a jet plane was taking off. I have never heard such loud air conditioning - it was amazingly loud. We opted for a warmer room over the racket of the a/c until the activity at the pool (which our suite overlooked) kicked in. It was very noisy and the single-pane stained glass windows provided no sound insulation at all. We turned the a/c back on hoping to drown out the outside noise, but the atmosphere on our floor soon took a turn towards "frat party" and so there was really no relief until well after midnight. Again, the room was very poorly sound proofed. Another concern I had was security - we went out for dinner and when we returned we parked in the undergound parking garage and took the elevator directly to our floor. There was no secutity to be seen anywhere - anyone could have entered that parking lot and taken the elevator into the hotel. Finally, the continental breakfast was just so-so. I would have preferred a room-service breakfast menu. As i said, I really wanted to love this hotel, so maybe we'll give it another chance once the restaurant next door is open. If we do, we will definitely be more picky about our room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucitytravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

I'm sorry our Novelty Suites were sold out...they are very popular, and thus they sell out well in advance. We have been sold out nearly every weekend, and thus our guest's (enjoying themselves) tend to be tardy checking out of the hotel. I'm glad you were given complimentary drinks, (many other hotels would never do this). Thanks for mentioning that the common areas are beautiful...indeed...they are stocked with English antiques and loads of charm.
Our award-winning decorations wanted the rooms to be royal residential...a bit contemporary with a bit of an English Old-World flair...I'm sorry it wasn't to your liking. I do agree that the bathrooms are nice, and we are working out the energy saving motion-detector light system. Currently they turn off five minutes after detection. We are putting baffling on the a/c units, so hopefully the noise levels will be reduced. We do have a beautiful pool area, and we try to keep the noise levels appropriate, due to the fact that we have the beautiful "original" stained glass windows. Regarding security - we are looking into a secured parking garage. Our continental breakfast has been expanded and new items are actually coming next week. We do not offer (at present) a room-service breakfast menu, as our breakfast is complimentary. Hopefully you will come back and give us another chance...Our service is great, so hopefully you were treated well...Come back and see us before the restaurant next door is open. Sincerely, Harry Lunt, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed at the Cheshire three times in the past month. This is a wonderful small hotel. The staff is friendly and calls me be name. The parking is free and very convenient. I love the fresh fruit at the included continental breakfast. A bike ride around Forest Park with the complimentary use of an Electra cruiser was a great break on a warm fall afternoon. The rooms are wonderful with all the features expected of a first rate hotel. The public spaces and workout rooms are great. Highest recommendation to this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thanks SO much for the wonderful comments...it is guest's like you that keep are team motivated. Positive energy is contagious.
Kind regards, and do say hello on your next visit.
Harry Lunt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews