We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! The only word to describe it!”

Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis
Ranked #3 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mother Church of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis, the superstructure of the Cathedral was built between 1907 and 1914. The Cathedral's 100th Anniversary is being celebrated in 2014. It is known for its' beautiful interior mosaics, which took nearly 80 years to create using more than 41 million pieces of glass tesserae. The Cathedral is known for having one of the largest mosaic collections in the Western Hemisphere.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow! The only word to describe it!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Amazing place. You absolutely MUST visit, if you can.

Visited May 2012
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,962
    253
    29
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
215 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We parked on a side street nearby and saw the dome of the Basilica and decided to see what is was. It was truly an impromptu visit. When we went inside we saw a sign that said a service was in session and that we couldn't tour. It really didn't matter because what we saw outside of the actual place of service was outstanding. We were able to peek through small "windows" into the worship area and were amazed at what we saw. We will definitely return to tour the whole place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuckospringpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it's a MUST SEE!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

stunning.. unbelievable..
Hope i can participate in the Sunday mass here one day :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsThedjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield MO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A beautiful cathedral with stunning mosaics. We felt like we were back in Italy touring the many cathedrals there. Be sure to visit the gift shop. Very pretty rosaries which make a wonderful souvenir.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PATTYSpringfieldMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As inspiring as European cathedrals”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The "New cathedral?" is a masterpiece, even to a non-Cathloic lioke me. Try to catch a tour which allows you to visit the museum of the history of the building. Perhaps ther only cathedral with the image of a rabbi in mosaic tile.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank RavJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing