We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking mosaics” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis

Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis
Ranked #3 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mother Church of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis, the superstructure of the Cathedral was built between 1907 and 1914. The Cathedral's 100th Anniversary is being celebrated in 2014. It is known for its' beautiful interior mosaics, which took nearly 80 years to create using more than 41 million pieces of glass tesserae. The Cathedral is known for having one of the largest mosaic collections in the Western Hemisphere.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking mosaics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

A lovely way to spend Sunday morning. The grounds are attractive, but the inside is amazing.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,917
    251
    29
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

....this is something to see. Period.

Truly breathtaking.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stevethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All that glitters is gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Heard great things so had to go. We went to the museum in the lower level first to get an overview of the two styles of mosaic tiles used and how it was accomplished. ($2 donation per person). We then went up to see examples of what had been described in the museum. This is both an artistic and cultural masterpiece. It seems as though every surface is covered with a mosaic and most of the background is gold tiles. Very dark for photographs but a visual treat.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Don87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, decided we needed go. The church is absolutely beautiful inside and out !! We asked for a guided tour. Many thanks to Mr. Paul, our tour guide, for spending so much time with us. So glad we asked for the guided tour. He gave us so much history about the church and the mosaics. Everywhere you turn is another amazing room that leaves you breathless. Highly recommend you take the time to go !!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOXVILLE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing find in St. Louis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I had lived in St. Luis five years and was unaware of the cathedral until I returned as a tourist. Finding a Basilica in the city was astounding and thrilling. It is a beautiful structure which rivals religious structures all over the world. The stained glass and mosaics are magnificent. The organ concerts are a special treat, too.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TopCut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing