We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat for St. Louis trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everything was excellent. I loved the large Josephine suite with the separate living and sleeping areas. Breakfast was delicious and filling (quiche, frittata, fruits, pastries, etc). Parking was convenient and available. Lafayette Square was a very pleasant neighborhood with park and restaurants within a short walk. Stacey and the 2 pooches were excellent hosts. It is walkable to Cardinals game at Busch Stadium.

Room Tip: Josephine suite was great with separate living (with TV/kitchen) and sleeping area for couples with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rr108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Manager at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind, thoughtful review. We're very glad we had a chance to meet you. If only the weather had cooperated more during your stay! The 3 days of solid rain sure made it challenging to attend the ballgames. Thank you on behalf of Indie & Peanut for all of the love & attention you gave them! I thought it was so sweet when you asked about the pillows in your room. We had purchased some allergen-sensitive pillows to "test", and it sounds like they passed with flying colors. We really appreciate that you took the time to provide us with feedback, and we hope you're able to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for one night; Stacy was beyond accommodating and did a great job making recommendations for our short stay. We walked around the Lafayette Sq neighborhood and had drinks and dinner there - a very cute neighborhood with lots of great options if you'd like to stay local to the hotel.

Our room was very clean, well appointed, and check in/out was a total breeze.

Breakfast was delicious; we had a great time meeting other guests as well!

Highly recommended for a "romantic" evening in the city!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

We're very glad you were able to visit with us. Thank goodness you had a chance to experience the City Museum - my favorite attraction in all of St. Louis! We hope your travels bring you to our fair city again, and we would be delighted to have you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Napoleon for a night in April on our first trip to St Louis. It was a delightful experience. The Lafayette room was spacious and well appointed, and even though my husband was on crutches he was happy he made the effort to climb the stairs. The breakfast was tasty and it was fun talking with the other guests. Stacy suggested nearby restaurants and we loved the ones we tried (The Chocolate Bar, Bogarts BBQ, an italian place whose name I forgot). We also loved the Lafayette Park area as there are lots of beautiful homes, good eateries and coffee shops. We will definitely stay at the Napoleon if we are in St.Louis again. Thanks Stacy for the great suggestions for attractions-we loved the zoo, the Botanical Gardens and the Arch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janadian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

I'm delighted you chose to stay with us during your first visit to St. Louis. I wish we hadn't had a full house, or I would definitely have moved your reservation to our 1st floor room. Your husband was such a trooper with his crutches! We hope you're able to visit St. Louis again soon, and we would be honored to host your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Napoleons Retreat was a true treat. Stacy was wonderfully accommodating with great recommendations. Her breakfast was outstanding and so filling. We stayed in the Lafayette room. The house is truly lovely and spotless. My husband and I love the neighborhood with the park and great restaurants nearby. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nepoleon's Retreat is a crown jewel of B&B's in St Louis. The home is beautiful and the owner Stacy is absolutely wonderful. Any room you choose will exceed your expectations as well as her 5 star breakfast. The location in Lafayette Square is perfect for any destination in St Louis. Our stay was so enjoyable, we are now making this B&B our only choice when visiting St Louis.
Carl

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjackiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Napolean's Retreat was beautiful, inside and out. Stacey was a gracious host and prepared an absolutely elegant breakfast in the morning. While there's no parking on property, we had no problem finding a spot on the street out front. The home is about a block and a half from the Lafayette Square commercial district where there were many restaurants and bars to choose from. The bed was comfortable and even the least expensive "Lafayette" room was surprisingly spacious. We would highly recommend Napolean's and look forward to returning for another visit ourselves.

Room Tip: The Lafayette room is much larger than it appears in the website photo. The bed is tucked into an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpatrick95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure having you as our guests. Also, thank you for being a "taste-tester" for our new tomato & brie tartlets. We're glad to hear they were a hit! We hope you're able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this very tranquil B&B off Lafayette Square. Gourmet breakfast, friendly owners, spacious bedroom with en suite and lots more. Exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

We're delighted that we had a chance to meet you during your travels throughout the States. We loved reminiscing about our time in Ireland with you, and sharing information about all of the great things to do in St. Louis. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
River City Casino & Hotel
#20 of 123 in Saint Louis
574 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tower Grove
Forget-me-not Bed and Breakfast
Fleur-de-Lys Mansion
#3 of 27 in Saint Louis
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: $165 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing