We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home, Gracious Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Napolean's Retreat was beautiful, inside and out. Stacey was a gracious host and prepared an absolutely elegant breakfast in the morning. While there's no parking on property, we had no problem finding a spot on the street out front. The home is about a block and a half from the Lafayette Square commercial district where there were many restaurants and bars to choose from. The bed was comfortable and even the least expensive "Lafayette" room was surprisingly spacious. We would highly recommend Napolean's and look forward to returning for another visit ourselves.

Room Tip: The Lafayette room is much larger than it appears in the website photo. The bed is tucked into an a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpatrick95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure having you as our guests. Also, thank you for being a "taste-tester" for our new tomato & brie tartlets. We're glad to hear they were a hit! We hope you're able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this very tranquil B&B off Lafayette Square. Gourmet breakfast, friendly owners, spacious bedroom with en suite and lots more. Exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

We're delighted that we had a chance to meet you during your travels throughout the States. We loved reminiscing about our time in Ireland with you, and sharing information about all of the great things to do in St. Louis. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had an outstanding time at Napoleon's B&B. With an amazing room, great view, central location, and a delicious breakfast this place is a jewel. To top it all off, Stacy and Brian are as friendly as can be and have a deep knowledge of St Louis culture, nightlife, and food. Thanks again for everything and I appreciate your kindness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We're so glad you enjoyed your time in St. Louis. You can't beat the hospitality found in the Midwest. And thank you for recommending the Handle Bar in The Grove to us! Great food, good drinks, and a fun atmosphere. It's awesome when we learn about new things from our guests :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the beautiful Napoleon's Retreat. Our third floor room was HUGE and clean and soooo peaceful. We slept like babies. The B&B is decorated in lovely antiques yet had completely modern amenities including TV (husband can't live without it) and WIFI. We were treated to an amazing breakfast by our charming host, Stacy. I highly recommend Napoleon's Retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

I'm so glad the bad weather didn't hamper your trip to St. Louis. It seemed like we weren't much warmer than Michigan this past February, but I think there may have been a 50-degree day in there during your stay. I hope you're able to come see us when the city is in bloom, and I hope spring isn't too far off for all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at Napoleon's Retreat for New Years eve. Perfect for a quite, romantic celebration and in Lafayette Square, one of the best areas of St. Louis. Stacy is a terrific hostess, the house is well decorated, and the food was delicious. Would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for ringing in the new year at Napoleon's Retreat. 2014 is going to be amazing! We hope you're able to visit us again soon for some well-earned R&R. We wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very satisfied with our stay at Napoleon's retreat. Very clean room and bathroom. Great breakfast. Loved the privacy of our room which was the Charles de Gaulle room. Conveniently located two blocks away from our choice for dinner which we walked to. Looking forward to another stay here. Thank you Stacy, Peanut and Indie :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTurnbull001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

It's so sweet of you to remember our pups! Indie & Peanut really appreciate all of the extra attention you gave them during your stay. I hope you're able to find all of the linens you enjoyed during your stay, too. We receive lots of inquiries about them and are always happy to exchange shopping ideas :o) We hope you're able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A last minute trip to St. Louis when where there was a major convention taking place resulted in a problem finding a hotel room. On impulse, I decided to check into B&B's and luckily found this gem. My room with its own sitting area was very clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated. The location was perfect since there are some wonderful restaurants in the Lafayette Square area and the nearby interstate made travel around the city easy. Stacy, the owner, went out of her way to make my stay a pleasant one. The weather suddenly turned cold while I was there and when I had a problem with the temperature in my room, I simply sent Stacy a text and in a matter of minutes the problem was resolved. She checked in with me later in the evening to be sure I was still comfortable, offering to move me to another room if I wanted to do that. I am not a big breakfast eater and after telling Stacy this, she left fruit, yogurt, sweet bread and juice in my room each evening. I highly recommend this B&B for those who want a more personal experience while traveling. I know Napoleon's Retreat will be my "go to" place when I next visit St. Louis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KI510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

We feel very lucky that you found us! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We really appreciate your patience and understanding with the difficulties heating a large, 130-year old house, and are glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,475 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
813 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: $206 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing