We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Having stayed here in the past we made our reservation despite the fact that it was under new ownership and we were not disappointed! (It often makes me leary when a place you love is no longer under the same care as in the past) Stacy, our host was sweet and helpful, but never intrusive. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and street is quiet despite being in a urban setting. Many restaurants to choose from in the area, all within walking distance. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit, homemade muffins (made that morning) and always a warm entree. The place is so quiet that you don't even know there are other guests in the house! Loved the park just down the street and there are some cute shops in the neighborhood. We'll be going back to Napoleon's Retreat for our next St Louis get-away!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights while in town for a concert. The house itself is gorgeous and beautifully decorated. It is not far from downtown St. Louis and locally there are some great restaurants and shops to experience if you don't feel like heading into town.

What really set this experience apart was Stacy, co-owner and hostess. She is incredibly warm, kind and accommodating. She went above and beyond to make our stay an excellent one. My friend has Celiac's and must eat gluten free foods and I'm a vegan. Stacy's attitude about our diets was fantastic. She seemed happy to have such a cooking challenge and she certainly won the challenge! She made a vegan and gluten free breakfast for us both the first morning that was amazing: pancakes with apple topping, fresh fruit, smoothies and delicious locally roasted coffee. The next morning she did it again with a naked burrito (no tortilla) for my friend and my burrito had vegetarian meat in it. Her breakfasts were perfect and scrumptious!

Stacy was also very helpful in suggesting restaurants and things we could do around town. She recommended Square One, a restaurant, brewery and distillery, near the B&B. My friend and I really enjoyed the food and drinks at Square One.

If you're looking for a place to stay in St.Louis, please consider Napoleon's Retreat. It is a beautiful place with great service! It's a good deal too because it costs about the same as most hotels downtown but you certainly don't get the tasty breakfasts or the kind of hospitality you find at Napoleon's Retreat! Napoleon's Retreat is a fantastic B&B!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jls77_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The B&B is in a great location and the rooms are to die for. The owners are delightful. The rooms were clean, bed linens and towels were clean and plush. You can tell that they really care about your experience. The breakfast each morning was amazing. We would definitely stay again when we are in Saint Louis. Could not have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Lovely Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The service was easy and excellent, I received a beautiful, tasty breakfast and good nights sleep. Loved the antique quality of the experience with a immaculate, modern bath, WiFi and flatscreen, a subtle blending of the convenience we've grown to depend on and the care and sweetness of a time gone by.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank y0gini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pincatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: $175 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing