We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, Beautiful - can't be beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Beautiful - can't be beat!”
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Wow, what an unbelievable stay! We were visiting a sick relative at a nearby hospital, and that is how I found out about this hotel. I reserved a "deluxe room" with a king bed for $189/night for a Monday night. After reading everyone's reviews, I asked at check-in for a "quiet room" (which meant not above the nightclubs or near the highway). The very nice fellow at the desk upgraded us to a two room suite, which was the nicest hotel room we have ever experienced! It had two bedrooms, each with their own full closets and bathrooms, separated by a dining room and living room. Three flat screen TV's, and beautifully updated decor. I own a drapery workroom, so of course I took note of the banded drapes and cornices, sheers, and roman shades! Very beautiful. I wish the in-hotel movie theatre had been playing some movies that my 5 year old would have enjoyed, because that was a really neat feature. And of course, the exterior architecture is amazing! The pool and courtyard area is stunning, and you feel as if you are in another era!

My only negatives: The living room/dining room furniture looked fab, but was uncomfortable, and there was a dirty glass on the tray with the ice bucket (something stuck on the bottom). Other than that, the rooms were clean.

We will definately stay again. The other reviewers tips about the nearby grocery (Straubs) were right on - great food and pastries!

  • Liked — Amazing architecture/great historic neighborhood
  • Disliked — Current construction
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizottumwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    298
    149
    91
    56
See reviews for
263
288
38
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quad Cities
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed at the Chase Wednesday, July 25th. We were put up there through a contact of ours who paid for everything. This however does not sway my review one way or another. We pulled up to the hotel property to a lovely entrance. The lobby is opulent and everyone is so helpful and nice! My fiance got our room keys (my parents came with and their room was also comped) and we headed around to the parking garage. There is major construction going on in the parking garage but it is all in the name of improvement so no big deal. We parked, walked in and hit major construction again on the way to the elevator. This was not quite the grand entrance you would think you'd get from this hotel but again, it's in the name of improvement...I can't wait to see it when it is completed. My dad was on the fourth floor. We were on the fifth floor. We were both given one bedroom suites and each room was set up a little differently. As we walked towards our room a housekeeping attendant was in the hall. She was so friendly, with a geniune smile on her face. I was worried our room was right by the elevator but it was not. My only complaint about our room was there was no coffee table. It was a lovely, spacious room with flat screen tv, couch, chair, desk, buffet but no table! The bedroom was also very well appointed with nightstands, flat screen, armoire, full length mirror, large closet and access to the bathroom, which was nice size. Loved loved loved the Aveda products! We had enough towels and the room was spotless. I abhor stray hairs in the sink, on the floor, in the shower or on "clean" towels and after my thorough inspection I was pleased to see that all was clean - same for the bed linens, thank goodness! It's amazing how many "superb" hotels have inferior cleaning crews.
We were supposed to go for a VIP brewery tour at Anheuser-Busch..normally we stay down by the stadium so we double checked our directions with the concierge. He was very helpful in steering us the right way. The parking attendant was also very friendly - both times, different ladies. When we forgot our stub they said no problem and waived us through. Upon our return from the brewery tour we had to get ready for the Cardinals game. We wanted to avoid traffic so again we checked with the concierge, a different man. He gave us detailed directions and a map to get us to the light rail train. The area surrounding the hotel was adorable - quaint little shops and cafes - I wish we would have had more time to exlore! Unfortunately our Cardinals lost to the horrid Cubs that evening but we had a wonderful time exploring the area around the hotel after the game.
The next day we had a nice buffet breakfast at the restaurant Bistro. A little pricey at $15.00 a head but the food was delicious and our waitress was a doll!
Overall this hotel was excellent - the construction didn't hamper my opinion although it will be much nicer once it is all complete. I didn't bring my laptop as this was not a business trip but I do agree that with the caliber of this hotel internet should be included at no additional charge.
The best part about the Chase is the people. Every single person we encountered was genuinely nice, willing to help and share a smile. It was such a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — The staff was the best - helpful and friendly.
  • Disliked — currently undergoing construction/renovation.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian'sMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I loved staying at the Chase with my grandson. The Chase was my first Hotel stay as a child. I am happy that it has been restored. We had a one bedroom suite.

The only reason I am giving an above average rating is that they have or were having an issue with blocking off one of the entrances with no warning until after you had made the turn into the property. There was a back-up of cars. The guests could not turn around or back up. The valet folks stood and watched not offering to help direct thier own guests. When I let the front desk know traffic was backing up down the street I was told that sometimes people cut through so they closed it. I suggested they put up an orange cone or a sign so guests would not get stranded. They really did not seem to care

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank tandum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

First off, whenever I stay at the Chase, I'm not paying the tab. So I can't speak to value or lack thereof. But I can say that I've been a guest at many terrific hotels, and I always feel more at home at the Chase than anywhere else. Somehow, the staff and the grand old building come together to make me feel as though I've got a rich aunt, and I'm staying at her tony apartment on the upper east side while she's on holiday in the Caymans. The good: the physical facility is just awesome. It's small enough to feel like a boutique hotel (which it's not), large enough to feel like it's got everything you could possibly want or need during your stay (which it does), and opulent enough to feel like it's been host to the rich, famous, and politically connected (I don't know, maybe it has). It's located literally across the street from STL's best and largest park, which makes for a great place to spend any down time you have while you stay for work or play. I'm fond of walking the cute little neighborhood that surrounds the Chase, and I especially like Straub's, the little grocery store across the street. They're pricey, but boy to they have tasty prepared meals. The rooms at the Chase range from your ordinary, garden variety hotel room to two bedroom, two bath suites. I've been lucky enough to spend a night in nearly every type of room, which has been great because they're all a bit different. Being in a historical building means that you sometimes get a room with a fireplace, or a full kitchen, or a bonus sitting area because all the rooms were once apartments. The bad: I've only been disappointed in my stay once, when management was in the throes of a renovation, leaving much of the floor that I was on torn up and dirty. But since it was in the name of making it an even better place to stay, I figured it was not indicative of where things were going, but was just a bump on the road to a nicer hotel. Also, the Chase suffers from a similar delusion that many other pricey hotels do: they think their guests don't mind paying $10 a day for internet access. I mean, you're dropping $200-$300 a night on a hotel room, and they can't throw in 'net access? That's funny, because when I'm in the $89-a-night joints in the Middle Of Nowhere, Iowa, it's free. All in all, the Chase is a jewel for any city, let alone St Louis. I feel fortunate that I get to stay there fairly frequently.

  • Liked — The decor in the rooms
  • Disliked — The ongoing rennovation
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OobaTooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2007

While the location of the Chase Park is fantastic, the hotel lacks most of the technology aspects that I find crucial to an up-to-date facitility. I had lived in St Louis for several years, but this was my first time staying in the hotel. I was quite disappointed. The room (suite), was quite large, however the internet did not work (if it did it was 9.99 for use), the TV had extremely poor reception, the phone to the downstairs restaurants was consistently busy, and the gym was down for remodeling. The staff was of little/no use, and overall I would have rather stayed at the new Marriott on Jefferson of one of the fine hotels in Clayton rather than the Chase. All-in-all, an OK hotel, but not worth the price and the reputation that they claim.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trvljnky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
441 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed at the Chase Park Plaza for three nights, June 22-24, 2007. Our 1 bedroom suite was spacious and very comfortable with a huge walk-in closet. The room amenities were very good, but the house keeping service was a bit spotty, not leaving enough towels or forgetting a bath mat , minor things that should not happen. The public rooms are great, keeping the classic look but adding modern updates. Restaurants are also very good. The Tenderloin Room was exceptional - service, from our waiter , Frank, was understated and impeccable. Food was superb and prices quite reasonable. On the other hand, at breakfast in the cafe, service was poor and the hapless servers seemed overwhelmed. Cafe Eau was a happening place!! The outdoor pool is beautifully landscaped and ideal. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great in the Central West End within walking distance of Forest Park and lots of good bars, restaurants and interesting shops in the Euclid Ave. area.We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return. With some attention to housekeeping and service issues, the hotel could be truly outstanding.

  • Liked — spaciousness of rooms, location, comfortable beds and pillows
  • Disliked — housekeeping service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Incredible amenities on site and in the neighborhood. The hotel is undergoing a complete renovation yet again. My guest room/suite was perfection.

  • Liked — Location, dining, theater in the hotel
  • Disliked — pricey internet access
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
908 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
559 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. That storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from decor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, corporate apartments, and private residences In addition to spectacular amenities, The Chase Park Plaza is now a Royal Sonesta hotel and offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing