We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head to the Chase during the next polar vortex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Chase is the only hotel I will stay in now when visiting St Louis. We planned to stay one night at this hotel that was chosen for us as out-of-town wedding guests. Lucky for us that we were at The Chase when the polar vortex swept through St Louis, making it impossible to leave town. Having travel plans disrupted is disconcerting and stressful, but the staff at The Chase was superb. Every front desk, bell cap, and valet were exceedingly courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel is first rate....very elegant and comfortable. (Yes, there are some noted "tired" areas...upholstery and carpet in various places and I suspect they couldn't get their full cleaning crew into work during the storm.) But it has a beautiful lobby, lots of casual seating areas, and a selection of restaurants (some better than others). The Cafe was the best of the bunch: it had a great bar, good food and lots of TVs and a very friendly staff. There is a coffee bar in the hotel, and there is even a movie theater in the hotel, playing current, first run movies. We were very comfortable thanks to the extra efforts of critical staffers to get to work during this major snowstorm. And did I mention that upon getting snowed in for three extra days the hotel upgraded us to a spacious suite AND offered us the snow rate of $59.00 a night? Next Midwestern snow storm.... We're headed to the Chase.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank family5Kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

In the midst of a weather emergency, we are so happy to learn that you found a safe haven while staying with us at The Chase Park Plaza. We are delighted you felt so well accommodated and enjoyed our spacious upgraded accommodations and a peaceful visit. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope the next time you are in the city you will have the opportunity to stay again, whatever the weather may bring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Chase has everything you can want from a hotel, it's located immediately across the street from their major park and zoo and it's close to everything. They have multiple restaurants to suit every taste. Happy Hour. Spa, Gym, etc. The rooms are spacious and most important to us: quiet. As a club member you will also have special amenities both in your room and at the members only complimentary brunch and happy hour. And if you like to catch the latest movie, there's the first run full movie theater on the main floor.

If you're thinking about your safety while staying at the hotel because there are some many venues for the outside would to frequent, fear not. Only entrance to the living areas is via card key only.

Pamper yourself!! Stay at The Chase

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

The Chase Park Plaza has everything you could want and more! Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your time with us, we love hearing from our guests and learning all that they enjoy about our hotel. From our restaurants, on-site theater, spa, and fitness facilities The Chase offers something for everyone. When it is time to rest, our peaceful and spacious accommodations are perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next pampering stay, thank you for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel has been in Saint Louis Missouri since the 1920s. This year there was a Roaring 20s New Years Party in the ball room. The hotel was decorated for the holidays in the most beautiful decor with 3, 15 to 20 foot high trees in the long hallway lobby. There is a 5 movie cinema that I was unaware of, good to know if you travel with kids. Parking was ample, there is free on the street, or valet and covered garage parking as well. The district of the West End is full of shops and cafes that I definitily will visit again during warmer weather. I live 30 miles from here and only stayed for the party so there would be no need to drive home. I will stay again, they even upgraded my room on New Years Eve to a suite at no cost. Enjoyable place in STL!

Room Tip: Just stay and you will love this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green1St_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We couldn't be more pleased that you had such a great experience at The Chase Park Plaza, thank you for sharing your feedback. Providing our guests with incomparable service is of utmost importance to us and we are so glad your stay was such a memorable time this New Year’s Eve. From the perfect location and amazing on-site amenities like our movie theater, sometimes the culmination of all of the small touches make an experience that much more exceptional. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our recent trip to St. Louis included a much needed respite at the Chase Park Plaza Hotel. This stay not only met but exceeded our expectations. Let me just say, the staff here from the valet to the concierge were incredible kind and helpful. The property is immense, grand and lovely. But it's the people that give the special touch and make you feel comfortable among the grandeur.
We arrived early in the night and had no trouble getting to the front desk. We were cordially met and welcomed to the property.
While we were gone to St. Louis our son was attending a Boy Scout Winter Camp in Tennessee. The camp needed some medical forms. The staff without batting an eye took it upon themselves to fax the needed forms to TN for us. What a relief!
The rooms were inviting and the bed was very comfortable. The room was everything we could have needed. There was so much life in the hotel that it just made you smile. There was a wedding going on, there was a great band getting down in the bar. We saw a movie at the cinema located inside the hotel - what an experience!
The history, the fun, the comfort, the opportunities, the attractions, the beauty, and the staff make this hotel and unique and rewarding place to stay.
Thank you Chase Park Plaza for a unforgettable time. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

What can we possibly say? Your review truly reminds us why we love what we do, thank you! We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations so completely from the hospitable service of our associates all the way to the amazing amenities and events taking place here. The Chase Park Plaza is indeed full of life and we love to share all of the amazing events that take place here. Our on-site cinema is a favorite with so many of our guests and we are glad you enjoyed it as well your well-appointed and comfortable guest room. We do hope you will visit us soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a landmark and stately hotel overlooking Forest Park. Upgraded to room 492 - a huge corner deluxe room in the original hotel. 6 huge windows framing Forest Park. Divine. Housekeeping needs to vacuum public hallways daily, as well as clean all the room doors - they are dirty and scuffed. Our room was incredibly dusty - the bathroom vanity, the doors and picture frames, and the doors were stained with yet again, fingerprints and dried food/dirt. Found an empty Tropicana juice behind television cabinet in middle of room. Had to ask maid to vacuum our room as we were there 5 days tis Christmas and it really needed it. They need better training. Still love the hotel though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ranchly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your point of view. We are delighted you enjoy the charm of our historic property as well as the views from our windows. However, it is with great regret that we learn of any issues you encountered in your guest room. We take all reviews very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with our management team so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention regarding housekeeping. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can fully impress you at every level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff was super nice however, the hotel is old and the furniture tired and unattractive. We could hear the people next door and the windows are so old that the bathroom was absolutely freezing. Love the location but would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHobgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

We can't help but feel disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations in every way. Our guests’ ultimate comfort is of utmost importance and we always urge everyone to let us know what we can do to make their stay a more enjoyable experience. It is truly regrettable that we were unable to do so for you while you were here or if you were not fully impressed with what we offer. Thank you for your candid feedback. We hope that you will consider another stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here for our 20th Anniversary! I have always wanted to due to its history! It is a nice place but not the nicest we have stayed at! But would return! The bathroom seemed a little dirty but it was clean!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wright0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Happy 20th Anniversary. We couldn't be more pleased that you had such a great experience celebrating your momentous occasion at The Chase Park Plaza, thank you for sharing your story. Our hotel is indeed filled with some amazing history and we are so glad your stay was a memorable one. We hope you will come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#47 of 123 in Saint Louis
974 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
846 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 123 in Saint Louis
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis

Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $158 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta Hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history, lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from decor updates to a five-screen cinema. Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, corporate apartments, and private residences In addition to spectacular amenities, The Chase Park Plaza is now a Royal Sonesta hotel and offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza Royal Sonesta St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing