We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great property!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #40 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“What a great property!!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Although I am familiar with this hotel, I had never spent the night. A situation presented itself which allowed an overnight stay and it could not have been better. Booked through Expedia, we were in a suite on the eight floor. It was like an apartment with a dining area, living room and a separate bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. The view of Forest Park was beautiful and there was no noise from traffic below, other rooms or from the lobby which had an extremely loud band playing in the bar. Parking was effortless in an attached covered garage and priced reasonable for the neighborhood. This property is in the Central West End of St Louis, full of vibrant restaurants, art galleries and interesting places and people. In warmer weather, the sidewalks are full with restaurant tables. The Washington University medical school and hospital are within walking distance, as is the St Louis Cathederal (the "new" cathederal) and Forest Park. We found the staff attentive and efficient. Our room was well appointed, clean and inviting. The bed was comfortable with plenty of extra pillows and blankets in the closet. The bath assortment included a tooth brush and razor. In short, we found nothing lacking in our stay and recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the Central West End and explore on foot.

Room Tip: Recommend requesting a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
What a lovely and comprehensive review you have shared, thank you! Providing an exceptional stay is our top priority at The Chase Park Plaza. It truly pleases us to read feedback such as yours and to know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest. We are so glad you enjoyed our location and found your guest room to be comfortable and well appointed. Taking a stroll through the local area and savoring the restaurants can be such a treat. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you find your way back to us soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    301
    151
    91
    59
See reviews for
265
290
41
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A great property location and interesting architecture especially the adjacent Park Plaza which has no hotel rooms. Registration was especially difficult if you have purchased through a third party consolidator. Disinterested, unaccommodating and actually rude registration staff. The room was dull, poorly maintained with inadequate basic amenities, i.e. glasses/ice bucket. On the good side, there is an in house movie theater and the location in the Central West End is ideal for dining. If location is of importance and you are satisfied with an outdated room, give it a try. I would make certain you do not pay their asking prices for rooms but seek cost comfort through a third party.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cittacentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid comments. While we are glad you enjoyed our location as well as our on-site theater, we must apologize if you were disappointed with your accommodations in any way. We encourage everyone who stays with us to let us know how we can make each visit the best it possibly can be and we will be certain to share your comments with everyone here. We hope to welcome you again and provide you with the type of experience you truly deserve as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Chase Park Plaza looks great from a distance and it's in a great part of the city. The lobby is very elegant but the glamour ends there. The rooms need to be re-furbished, up-dated and are very disappointing in their present state(and we had a so-called "deluxe suite"). There was a dirty towel hanging on the back of our bathroom door when we arrived and not even a drinking glass in our "suite".The rooms look like they haven't been updated in twenty years or more.This was our first stay there (and last...especially at these prices for a tired looking room). Friends just told us they stayed there two years ago and the rooms looked bad then!
Add to that the really bad attitude of the front desk people, especially "Brian" who had no eye contact with us and always looked generally annoyed, un-friendly
and generally un-professional. My best advice would be to stay elsewhere or, if you have no other options, see the room first before you commit to a stay.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want to be assured of a nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hankmail505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Our historic hotel is truly unique and while we are glad to know that you found our public areas so remarkable, we must apologize if you were not equally impressed with your guest room. We believe in providing the very best in service to our guests. It is regrettable if you found anything different. Your comments will be shared with all of our associates to reiterate our high level of hospitality. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was our second stay and it was even better. The service this time was a lot better from check-in, restaurant staff, doormen, and even the parking attendant. Everyone was nice and happy. Our room was very clean, and large with beautiful views of St. Louis. The area around the Chase has great restaurants and shopping. I definitely recommend seeing a movie in the theater on the lobby level. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience while staying at The Chase Park Plaza, thank you for your review. Our associates truly love to provide the very best in service and we are grateful for your acknowledging their efforts. As you mentioned, St. Louis has some amazing attractions and it is great to know you were able to take advantage of them while you visited. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I have traveled all around the world and have stayed in many very nice hotels and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the Chase Park Plaza, it has to be in my top 5 all time favorite hotels. When you drive up the entrance is very grand, this is a very classy place. Everyone was very friendly and helpful (one of the maids actually stopped what she was doing and helped me up 3 stairs with a rolling bag I was having trouble with). We were upgraded to a suite and the room was stunning, bathroom was VERY LARGE. Loved everything about our stay! For the price, you cannot beat the Chase Park Plaza!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachloverandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We couldn't be happier that you chose to stay with us at The Chase Park Plaza! Thank you for sharing details regarding your recent experience as well as your appreciation for the grand entrance of our historic property. Knowing that The Chase is one of your top five favorite is one of the best compliments we could receive. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, our associates are always ready to help. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel on the club level. The hotel has some positive attributes. The club level lounge was excellent and the lounge personnel were excellent. The workout facilities were very nice with large number of top cardio equipment and free weights. The location is great, also, in the Central West End.

But here were the challenges with the stay. The room had a bug issue and there were dead bugs on the bathroom floor. Paying this top rate you expect a higher level of cleanliness. What was more distressing is that housekeeping did not clean these up and I manually picked them up which means they did not clean the bathroom floor. Also, the hotel charged for basic internet even on the club level. Parking is what finally made me realize I will not stay here again. I paid the daily rate, but the parking attendant on my way out questioned weather I truly paid. I can handle a lot, but not questioning my integrity. I showed her the bill and then she called the front desk making me wait ten minutes at the exit gate. Truly unacceptable.

The hotel sent me a customer comment email card. I filled it out and returned it with my concerns above. I received no response.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoupdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your recent encounter at our hotel including our Club Level Lounge and use of our fitness facilities. However, we couldn't be more disappointed by the remainder of your comments and we ask that you please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced. The incidents as described do not reflect our high standard of service and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. We would like to assure you that the hotel has very strict standards and protocols in place, including pest control. Please know that our management team is always available should any issues arise and despite your upgraded accommodations, we regret that your encounter was not all you had hoped it would be or if the service you encountered was less than hospitable. Your comments will be shared with everyone here. We would love for you to give us another chance to earn your trust back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our recent stay at the lively Chase Park Plaza was more than a treat. It was a grand stay in a grand hotel. Room, food, and a friendly & helpful staff made our first stay definitely the first of many to come. The Central West End area is new to us. It was a joy to walk and enjoy the neighboring shops, eateries, and bar life. We have not been going to St. Louis for getaways but definitely will begin making "the Chase" and walks in neighboring Forest Park a regular part of our good life.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
You have certainly captured the true historic essence of The Chase Park Plaza with your kind words! From your account of your time it seems as though you enjoyed so much of what we offer including the beauty of our property and guest rooms all the way to the service of our associates. Our location is truly ideal for taking in all that the area has to offer, thank you for mentioning it. It brings us a great amount of happiness to know that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#42 of 120 in Saint Louis
916 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. That storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from decor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, corporate apartments, and private residences In addition to spectacular amenities, The Chase Park Plaza is now a Royal Sonesta hotel and offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing