We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #31 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Chase Park Plaza is an old world hotel in a perfect location when visiting St. Louis. Forest Park, with museums, a fantastic and free zoo, botanical gardens, is right across the street. Central West End is a "hip" area with many great restaurants to choose from, including several in the hotel itself. We stay here whenever we are in St. Louis, and enjoy the Sante gym, and the entire vibe of this hotel. Wonderful place to put up guests from out of town!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We think your review is wonderful! Thank you so much for taking the time to detail all that you love about St. Louis, including The Chase Park Plaza. Our location certainly is one of the best in the city for enjoying the amazing points of interest you mentioned and even more! We love knowing our historic hotel is your choice when visiting the area and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    295
    142
    87
    49
See reviews for
251
279
38
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Chase on a Friday night. The lobby bar band played until 1am and was VERY loud in our 9th floor room. It was also easy to hear noises from the hallway. It seems like when they renovated the Chase the windows and doors used were cheap ones that don't insulate sound very well. We usually stay at the Ritz when we visit STL--That is where we will be next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WS4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is truly disappointing that your peace was disrupted in any way by noises outside your guest room. We urge our guests to let us know if there is anything we can do to make their experience more enjoyable and we regret that we were not given the opportunity to do so during your visit. We value your feedback and hope that you will reconsider another stay in the future so that we can fully impress you with all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent the weekend in St. Louis at the Chase Park Plaza. The location is beautiful. Upon entering, the feel of the property and the immediate attention of the staff suggests that this is a high end luxury property. But this property is missing the details essential to a luxury property:
1. The toilet paper is thin and scratchy
2. To turn the shower on, one must enter the shower and the you get hit by the not yet hot water
3. There is only one trash can, it is in the bathroom, none in the bedroom
4. There is a tab for a room service menu but we could not find it
5. While they attempted to add additional charging places by having a lamp with a plug in the base, the plug does not fit a standard size iPhone charger, the charger is loose in the socket no accepting the charge
6. The restaurant was only open for breakfast until 10:30 on Saturday and then that restaurant closes and another opens but for lunch. When at a hotel for a weekend getaway, it is common for guests to sleep in or want to work out before breakfast. I worked out and when I came to have a late breakfast, the restaurant was not serving this anymore.
7. We wanted to get some fruit late in the afternoon either at a restaurant in the hotel or our room, but this was not easily possible so we went outside the hotel and bought some to bring back to our room
8. WiFi is not free
9. The toilet in our room was quite particular and noisy, you had to hold the level down for a few seconds to get it to even think about flushing
10. The bathroom had only one sink but in an older properties that is common.

Positives:

1. Safe in the room
2. Nice gym
3. Decor lovely
4. Room gets very dark which is conducive to sleeping
5. Location is beautiful!

I truly wanted to love this hotel but I was instead feeling that this hotel needs to pay mor attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
While we are delighted to know you enjoyed our location and as well as the decor of our historic property, it is certainly regrettable to learn that your entire stay was not as positive. Attention to detail is always important to all of us and we sincerely apologize if we missed the mark with regard to some areas for you. We always hope to make a guest’s stay the most comfortable it can be and we regret not being able to provide you with a better impression while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. As you mentioned, we do charge a minimal fee for Internet connectivity in individual guest rooms however complimentary wireless is available in all public areas. It is our hope that we can welcome you back again to provide you with the experience you deserve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved this hotel, great customer service. Loved having the movie theater in the hotel. Rooms were very nice. Staff was super friendly and very accommodating. Loved the neighborhood as well. Also enjoyed the bar and lounge areas, they had great singers/musical groups on Friday and Saturday nights. There is also a very nice outdoor area with a bonfire, wooden chairs and tables, and couches. Overall, very cozy, clean, trendy, and friendly environment. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the many wonderful compliments of The Chase Park Plaza. It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience and it doesn't get much better than the account of your visit. A St. Louis getaway can be the perfect escape and our location is just right for taking it all in. However, with so many ways to relax right here, from our cozy outdoor areas, live entertainment in Chaser’s Lounge and even our very own movie cinema, guests may never want to leave! We look forward to your next visit and we hope it’s soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Chase Park Plaza for a conference. The facilities were excellent and the hotel even has its own movie theater running current movies. I stayed in a one bedroom suite; there was a nice study area in an alcove off of the living room and a fully stocked mini-bar complete with salty snacks and candy. The bedroom had a king size bed with a safe and a complimentary robe for use during your stay. The bathroom was a little snug, for my taste, but clean nonetheless. The conference venues were very nice especially the fact that i can only remember being cold once during the four day event. One of the problems that I had was that during our luncheon buffet the primary proteins were depleted in both lines which held up the line quite a bit, and it took the staff a significant amount of time to replenish these items. Other than that all of the food was delicious and always left me craving seconds. The hotel is located in the central west end area of St. Louis and offers great opportunities for an after-dinner stroll or a nightcap in one of the many boutique shops; if you want to stay in the hotel has several restaurants and bars to choose from, some of which had GREAT live music on friday and saturday. This is a great hotel and I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level east facing room for views of the iconic Arch, or a south facing room to people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBC1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It is always our desire to provide guests with a memorable, positive experience and we truly appreciate knowing that you enjoyed such a great stay with us during your recent conference. Your kind words will be shared with everyone here. Our suite accommodations deliver all of the comforts of home with just the right amount of extra space to stretch out and relax. We do apologize if you experienced any delay while the conference buffet was being replenished and truly appreciate your patience and understanding. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Chase Park Plaza St. Louis, we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a place for a special weekend in STL, the Chase Park Plaza is it! Beautiful hotel. Wonderful character. A Sunday brunch that is amazing! There is movie theatre on site and multiple areas to relax with a drink and visit with friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_Wife_Volunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Built in the early 1900’s, we look to preserve the hotel’s elegance and grandeur, while providing improvements throughout that we hope will inspire exceptional experiences and many returns. Thank you so much for sharing your story and appreciation of The Chase Park Plaza. Knowing that you enjoyed your romantic weekend getaway is a delight to read. As you mentioned, our historic property is indeed filled with character and offers a unique place to meet with friends or associates, while our five screen cinema experience enables guests to take in all of the latest films. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on numerous occasion and loved it every time. For business and family visits, Highly recommend !!! It's worth the price! There's a movie theater and great restaurants in the area and in the hotel. Beautiful appearance! Love the room decor! Loved it! And will stay again :)

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It is such an honor to hear from our guests who have stayed with us so many times! Whether traveling for business or leisure, it is our goal to provide the very best to all who stay with us and we couldn’t be happier to know you enjoyed such a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback and high recommendation of The Chase Park Plaza St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#37 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#39 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. Through a recent renovation, that storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from décor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, the private residences In addition to premier amenities. The Chase Park Plaza offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. In so many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing