We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Celebrate at the Chase!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chase Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #31 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Celebrate at the Chase!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We celebrated my daughters birthday at this lovely venue. The concierge had fabulous suggestions to make the event special. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath suite and my daughters girlfriends were invited to sleepover! Dinner at Eau Bistro was perfect and they accommodated our group of 15 in a timely and efficient manner. The girls had cake and laughs in the room while Moms went and caught a movie! It was a perfect getaway to celebrate our special event. Thanks to the staff who helped make it memorable!

Room Tip: We had a corner west facing 2 bedroom suite - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    274
    130
    79
    46
See reviews for
228
261
37
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here complimentary because I had an event at this hotel. While I appreciated the comp, I was really surprised with the condition of the room based on what the price typically is. If this room was an average price, like 129, 149, etc. I would have paid no attention to the small imperfections. However, at more than 300 per night in the Midwest, I expect a pretty good room. Imperfection include no trash can in the room, stained dingy sheets, a toilet tissue holder that didn't work which left us constantly chasing the tissue across the floor, and $75 worth of under par room service, including forgetting the coffee! The most important part of a breakfast order! And burnt pancakes. Although I must say the service was great. Staff was apologetic and I was reimbursed for our troubles. But again, just don't expect these type things at this level hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

First let me say that the two other people staying with me at the Chase loved the hotel. In a way, I did, too. It is a beautiful building and worth seeing. I just did not think our suite lived up to the website descriptions and pictures. I selected a two room suite since there were three of us. The suite consisted of a living room with a fold-out and a bedroom with bath and king sized bed. The pictures of the one-bedroom suite showed large rooms; the bedroom had its own chair in it. Our bathroom was quite nice and large, but the other two rooms were tiny. Our living room was narrow and dark with one window that looked out onto a flat roof and roof-top equipment. The king sized bed pretty much filled the bedroom. The pull-out couch was reasonably comfy as was the bed and the pillows and linens were high-end (but today you get that in a good Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express!). I have to say I expected more from this establishment. The service was good, though. Very friendly and helpful--we had forgotten something and the night manager tried hard to find a replacement. The room is equipped with a mini-bar, but the prices are what you would expect for this--$5 bar of candy, for example. We stayed there because it was close to the Fox Theater, but since it is too far from the Fox to really make walking feasible and you have to drive anyway, you may as well stay a bit farther away and get more value for your money. But definitely go see the Chase--it is a beautiful old hotel! And it is right across from Forest Park, also a must see. And again, I was the only one who thought the room was a problem--my husband and son liked it.

Room Tip: Check and make sure you are not near the elevator--that may have been why our suite was so small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bkwrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel for it's proximity to the Fox Theater, which was the main reason for our trip. Since we normally stay in less-expensive hotels, we were looking forward to a more luxurious experience. While we were pleased with the service and friendly attitudes of all of the staff, we were less than impressed with our room. When we arrived, there was a noticeable smell that immediately made me question the cleanliness of the room. Although we didn't come across any more cleanliness issues, the smell was a definite negative. There were holes in our sheets and the bathrobe (which we could buy for only $90!) felt like a cheap, rough towel. Really, the size of the bathroom was the only thing that set this room apart from a much cheaper room at a Holiday Inn or similar.

Besides all of this, there seems to be no sound-proofing at all between the rooms. Our first night, we were privy to all the intimate details of an hour-long argument of a couple in the room next to ours. Even when they were talking at a normal level, we could clearly hear every word. Also, drunk people were shouting in the hallways all night, and it sounded like they might as well have been right in our room.

To top it all off, Wi-Fi costs $7 a day, which is ridiculous considering that much cheaper hotels provide this service for free.

We ate breakfast at the Eau Bistro, which is portrayed as a very high-end place with a unique menu, but all of the food was the standard stuff you can find at Denny's, and just about as good. We did have an excellent and very friendly waiter, in line with our other staff experiences.

All-in-all, there wasn't really anything WRONG with this hotel, it was just very standard despite it's premium price and over-hyped self image. Unless you just feel it beneath yourself to pay less for a room at a good chain hotel, I would recommend saving some money for the same quality of stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights for a romantic get-a-way. We had a corner room on the 4th floor. The bed was comfortable, the room was well equipped, and the staff was very attentive and friendly. We will definitely stay here again when in St. Louis. We spent some time in Cafe Eau and had an enjoyable time talking with other guests and the bartenders.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner. We had a corner room with views of the front of the hotel as well as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaAdvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

beautiful! nice size rooms. Close to everything if you have a car. Plenty of entertainment within the hotel itself such as bars, restaurants spa, gym and movies. They even have a small grocery store next door ( Shaubs)
We would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlpcrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A great night was had at the Chase Park Plaza. Everything was phenomenal. We would like to thank Brett Leary for all of his help making sure everything was perfect. We would also like to give a shout-out to Dan Molino at Cafe Eau for taking care of us.

Thanks to all the staff for a making our Valentine's Night one to remember! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgswarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#41 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase Park Plaza

Property: Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 - 232 N. Kings Highway Blvd., Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. Through a recent renovation, that storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from décor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including:Impeccable guest suites Five fabulous restaurants Expansive event and meeting facilities Five-screen cinema Outdoor heated pool First-class spa and fitness facilities The Private Residences In addition to premier amenities, The Chase Park Plaza offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport.At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. In so many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing