We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards have fallen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standards have fallen”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at The Chase for years and love the history and neighborhood. Unfortunately my last visit was disappointing. The carpet, upholstery, and bathrooms in my room were dirty. The bedspread was torn and the room service staff left dirty plates from the previous guest outside my door for several hours after my arrival. The lobby even seemed to be dirty as the rug in the foyer was filthy. The staff was courteous and attentive. I hope that this was a fluke, but I doubt I will stay there again unless I hear of changes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLGLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your recent experience at the Chase Park Plaza. I was very disappointed to hear about your stay and what you experienced and would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your visit. I never like hearing of any guest leaving the Chase unsatisfied. I can be reached at aellis@chaseparkplaza.com.

We take all our reviews, and of course the condition of the property very seriously and I have shared your findings with the team here so that we can rectify the situation.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future to discuss this further.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    298
    149
    91
    56
See reviews for
263
288
38
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really like this hotel. The Saint-Louis Symphony has been putting its guests at this hotel for many years now. The rooms are big and very comfortable. My bathroom was bigger than the one in my own house. The bed is very comfortable. I am always happy to come back.

The best thing about this hotel is the neighborhood. There are great restaurants nearby, a wonderful park right across the street for jogs and walks, a grocery store with a nice deli, and even a cinema in the hotel itself. The gym located in the basement of the hotel offers yoga classes, cycling and Pilates classes for free if you are a hotel guest.

The Chase Park Plaza is probably the best hotel in Saint-Louis.

Room Tip: Rom 535 has two rooms; a living room with an office, and a bedroom with a bathroom. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcase63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It is always so nice to receive such a glowing review so thank you for this. It appears that you have stayed with us before and that you are very familiar with the Central West End and all that it has to offer our guests.

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the Chase Team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Chase Park has it all - Spa, movie theaters, restaurants, hot bar scene, fire pit by pool, coffee bar and amazing location. But the best feature is the location West Central and overlooking Forest park. The location is superb, walking distance to great shops and restaurants in the finest residential neighborhood in St Louis. Straubs Market on the corner is a great place to get coffee of any gourmet delight to bring back to the room.
The rooms are older, tired and most are huge with sitting rooms. Bathrooms are old fashioned but efficient and if you have large suite style room you enjoy the space and forget that it has not been upgraded in 10 years. Internet is still plug in style and they charge $8 per day and parking is $26 for Valet per day YUCK !
Here is the but - we always stay here and the price is amazing - $179 to $210 per night per suite style room. Cannot beat the value and if the room looks at the park it is so inviting to open the windows and enjoy the grand ole hotel. All the staff is bright, sharp and very happy to help with everything. I like it and will always go back a class act with great value.

Room Tip: Please try to get a room overlooking the park - high floor and open the windows all year round as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for making the Chase Park Plaza your hotel of choice when in the St. Louis area. I appreciate all the wonderful comments that you posted about the hotel and also understand some of your concerns. I did want to let you know that while there is a charge for internet service we do have both wired and wireless access available which may be more convenient during your next stay.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a grand old hotel on a grand boulevard by a grand beautiful park, but the hotel just doesn't deliver. The rooms are a little tired, quirky and underwhelming. We had a suite with a huge living room but a tiny bedroom with a queen-sized bed and a miniscule bathroom. I asked if there was a room with a King Sized bed, and we were shown a suite with a tiny living room, windows facing a brick wall, but a nice-sized bed and bathroom. The rooms are dimly lit which makes them drab and a little depressing. There are delightful cafes and shops within a block of walking, but if you drive east toward downtown, it's pretty blighted and desolate.

The staff is gracious and accommodating, but there are all kinds of small problems that get in their way. The confirmation for my room online was different then the one they use in their system (don't ask). So I had to call reservations to add another night and was put on hold for more than 22 minutes. The woman who answered said: "I'm the only one working the phones." I sent an email to the concierge but she had a "spam blocker" that delayed the receipt of emails for up to an hour (don't ask).

There's just something amiss here, it's nothing overt, but it's the sum of a lot of small, annoying things. The price was reasonable, but it's hard to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a huge variety of rooms -- if you book a suite, insist on a view of the park and make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Grew up in st Louis and always dreamed of staying at the Chase. Came back for a class reunion and was so disenchanted. Room was tiny. "view" was of another wing of the hotel about 20 feet out the window. No bath tub (shower only) and the pillows were flat and smelled dirty. The location was the main plus with shops restaurants and the Park w/I walking distance. If I do stay here again I will demand one of those "huge" rooms with a view people were describing. That would not have been the one we had!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Semimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your recent experiences at the Chase. I am so sorry that we did not exceed your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the accommodations.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail and have you come back again and experience the hotel the way that you had hoped and anticipated.

I can be reached at aellis@chaseparkplaza.com and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We love staying here. The hotel is well located to enjoy the CWE, Forest Park, and the Botanical Garden. The extra cost of a suite is well worth it. The room is much larger than a single and is very comfortable.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post such a great review of the Chase Park Plaza. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all that the Central West End has to offer. Our proximity to Forest Park and the Botanical Gardens, with all that they offer make a visit to the Chase all the more wonderful.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business conference for two nights. They did a wonderful job. My room was huge with a king bed, flat screen TV, large closet, and nice bathroom all in one area. In addition their was a large living room with TV, sofa, and two chairs as well as an office area with a large desk and two chairs. I visited a friend in his suite and he had the above plus a full kitchen. Security is high. You cannot get from one floor to another without inserting your key in an elevator slot.
The views of Forest Park are beautiful. My room looked over the large pool area near outdoor seating for a nice bar area. There is a large restaurant too, though I had not occasion to eat there. Inside the hotel near the lobby bar is a movie theatre that serves the traditional popcorn and candy bars and soft drinks but also has beer, wine, and maybe frozen margaritas.
We did have an awards banquet with entertaiment for the conference I was attending (though our meetings were off-site). Service was excellent, appetizers during the cocktail hour were delicious, and the dinner was good (though we could have used a steak knife for the undercooked filet).
My room appeared to be very clean however there was a blue contact lens stuck to the bathroom floor when I arrived on Sunday and it was still there when I left on Tuesday.
I have no idea how much the rooms cost as my employer paid for them but overnight parking in the attached garage was $17.00, a reasonable price for a large city hotel.
I would definitely stay here again. I know our company uses them often for large groups. We had 130 people for this conference.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Forest Park or the pool area. Not sure what the view is like looking the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrjjcc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent conference. Your comments have been shared with the team as it is always such a pleasure to hear such great feedback.

We hope that when you are next in St. Louis that you will stay at the Chase.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
908 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
559 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. That storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from decor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, corporate apartments, and private residences In addition to spectacular amenities, The Chase Park Plaza is now a Royal Sonesta hotel and offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing