We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand opulence, but not quite perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chase Park Plaza
Ranked #35 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Grand opulence, but not quite perfect”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel in many ways: historic, opulent building, big big rooms, great location by the park and excellent shops and bars, beautiful swimming pool and gym in house. Still doesn't quite get it right in some small ways - service not as friendly or obliging as it might be, lift and door key cards that never work, paid Wifi which should be complimentary, very expensive (but great looking) breakfast, lots of noise from guests in corridors and late at night from the pool, and a phone in my room that just didn't work. But I'd absolutely recommend this hotel - they could work on the details, but it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    307
    155
    94
    59
See reviews for
270
294
42
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just want to thank as many of you at the Chase as we can... the valets, desk personnel, housekeepers, etc. Our class reunion couldn't have had a better experience with all the unexpected "extras" and the efforts of the staff. We first contacted Stephanie Dicamillo more than a year ago with the hopes of arranging a sentimental gathering for the Physical Therapy class of 1972. We shared our fond memory of rewarding ourselves after cramming for tests by going to the Tac Room for the trademark Chase Park Hotel cheesecake! And now we hoped to return for a weekend of dining, catching up, and entertainment. Stephanie worked closely with our committee for special rates and what proved to be exceptional rooms. We made use of one of the suites for a Saturday night "Pajama Party" .... we enjoyed the opportunity to exchange tales and cookies with you when you stopped by with our airline electronic tickets!

The dining arrangements with Sheila Pinsker and her staff took into consideration not only convenience in ordering and paying, but also providing the ideal setting and timely service that allowed for smooth flowing conversations. Our party consisted of eleven of our 19 classmates along with 4 husbands and one visiting cousin from Germany (she will certainly have special memories of American hospitality Chase Park style). Some of us had not seen each other in the last 40 years and we gathered from the East to West coasts. We want to extend our sincerest thanks for the chef's reproduction of the CPH cheesecake... a perfect finish to a fantastic selection of dishes he offered us that evening.

We especially enjoyed hearing of the restoration of the Chase and appreciated the history displayed in the Legacy room. One of our classmates recalled a most significant event in her life when she received her proposal and engagement ring over cheesecake at the Tac Room.



All in all, many old memories were shared and great new ones were made thanks to the Chase staff helping to make this an event that we will all treasure!



Warmest Regards,



Washington U Physical Therapy 1972 Class Committee

Room Tip: Suites are very nicely designed for gathering with friends, lots of bedroom and bath space, and a mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

From September 20-23 my wife and I stayed at The Chase Park Plaza and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff efficient and effective (no lines and all smiles), and the location was first rate (next to Forest Park).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review from your recent stay at the Chase Park Plaza. I am so pleased that your enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back again soon.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

For my sins, I have to visit St. Louis annually for a "company" meeting - and have been doing so for 20+ years.

Of the myriad of hotels chosen for these meetings, the Chase Park is by far the best.

It is in a beautiful area of St. Louis: Forest Park, therefore, unlike The Four Seasons and many other downtown hotels is not threatening after dark - when the downtown sidewalks are rolled up or worse.

It is a designated "historic monument" and a fascinating building, both externally and internally.

Socorro, at registration, was gracious and gave me a "nice" room: an enormous suite with two bedrooms, two baths, living and dining areas. Everything worked (including the three TVs). And it was quiet!

There is everything one could need within the hotel: at least four restaurants, bars, a movie theater, fitness center, spa, etc.

For the conference's catered events, the food and service were surprising good.

There are plenty of alternative places to eat and drink within easy, safe walking distance.

There are a few signs of wear and ridiculous charges for wi-fi, but this is strangely true of most "major" hotels.

I do hope it is chosen for our meeting next year: to reduce the pain and suffering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am so pleased that we were able to make this years visit to St. Louis more of a memorable one and I truely appreciate the wonderful review. We do our best to ensure that all of our guests are taken care of and that they all have outstanding stays.

I do hope that we can host next years event so that you can come back and relax at the Chase and I'll be sure to pass along your comments to the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back next year.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My class reunion was at the Chase Park Plaza. We had never been here before but will certainly stay here again the next time we are in St. Louis. Located across from Forest Park and near a vibrant district with restaurants and nightlife, there is something for just about everyone here. The staff were all friendly and appeared happy to work there. The deluxe room was comfortable, spotless, quiet, and restful.

Great job, Chase Park Plaza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm so glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us during your reunion and that you were pleased with everything.

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you the next time you are in St. Louis.

Andy Ells, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel may have the best location in town; convenient to both the Washington University undergraduate and medical school campuses, as well as dead center in the middle of the central west end (CWE). When I was a student at WashU 30 years ago, I lived about 3 blocks from this hotel when the CWE was just coming into its own. It soldiers on as an important mainstay in the neighborhood.

An associate of mine and I shared a two bedroom suite for 2 nights. In an older hotel of this caliber, you almost expect the experience to be marred with a few deficiencies. The A/C unit rattled loudly, the window treatment in my bedroom only closed 75% of the way, there was residual hair in the shower, WiFi is not free, breakfast service was brusque, etc. The suite lacked basic technological advancements, e.g., I believe every suite, in particular, should have an iPod docking station/speakers.

Nonetheless, the place retains an old world ambience and the suite was spacious and comfortable, and perfect for entertaining a few friends who dropped by. And, of course, the location. Both nights we walked to dinner. Ahhhh, to be back in my old 'hood.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irreverent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am very pleased that you stayed with us recently and that you were able to revisit the neighborhood where you spent much of your time during your college years.

I'm sorry for the issues that you experienced during your stay and definitely appreciate the feedback which has been passed along to our management team. We are also discussing your iPod docking station suggestion at this time.

We hope to see you back again soon at the Chase.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Three of us girls met in St. Louis for a fun weekend and picked the Chase Park Plaza for its location and amenities. The hotel is beautiful and full of wonderful architecture and character. Check in was easy and our bags were promptly brought to our room. We chose to self park and it was really no hassle. We had reserved a 1 Bedroom suite and were very pleased with our suite. It was very roomy and well appointed with a small desk area, comfy seating area, nice sized bedroom and bath. We were also very surprised to learn that we had been given a room with a balcony - this balcony was very large and had a view of the arch on one end and Forest Park on the other end. We made a lot of use of this balcony during our trip. The hotel is very centrally located; we enjoyed shopping and dining in Maryland Plaza and also made use of the Straub's grocery that is located right next to the hotel. The pool area was beautiful, although the weather was a little too chilly for us to enjoy a day at the pool as planned. We really had fun one night at Eau Cafe after returning from dinner. There is a nice outdoor fireplace and the dancing and band inside was great. We only had a few hiccups during our stay - the first was that there was terrible smell in the hallway near our room. It was almost a mildew-like smell. Second, we had asked for the mini bar to be emptied before our arrival so that we could use the fridge. It was not done on our arrival and we had to ask twice before it was emptied. Third, we had 3 people staying in the room had to ask for extra towels and blankets. We asked for 3 towels and 2 blankets and were brought 2 towels and 1 blanket. These were not major issues, but the smell, especially, was bothersome enough that I feel as if it should be mentioned. All of the employees were very nice and accomodating. Also, the beds were very comfortable, but we did get a little noise from the adjacent rooms and the street outside. We were on the 7th floor.

Room Tip: If you are getting a 1 bedroom suite, ask for one with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy E, Director of Sales at The Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the terrific review of the Chase Park Plaza. I am very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your weekend at the hotel and that your suite with the balcony was well utilized over the weekend.

I do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced and I can assure you that these have all been addressed with the appropriate department heads. The smell issue has been resolved and we have received no further complaints.

The next time you have the opportunity to get together with friends I hope that you will stay with us again.

Once more, thank you for the review.

Andy Ellis, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#43 of 121 in Saint Louis
938 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Parkway Hotel
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
573 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Park Plaza

Property: The Chase Park Plaza
Address: 212 N Kings Highway, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#36 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. That storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from decor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including: Impeccable guest suites, five fabulous restaurants, expansive event and meeting facilities, five-screen cinema, outdoor heated pool, first-class spa and fitness facilities, corporate apartments, and private residences In addition to spectacular amenities, The Chase Park Plaza is now a Royal Sonesta hotel and offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport. At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing