We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Marie was a wonderful hostess....very helpful with any of our needs. The home IS still under some restoration in parts, but the "livable" parts were beautiful. Our room was spotless and charming. Plenty of towels, and all the extras including robes. We were very happy with our stay here and will definitely return on any future visits to St. Louis. The breakfasts were fresh, healthy, and delicious. How wonderful to return back to the room one evening to the smell of freshly baked bread!!! Thanks Marie for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: World's Fair room was roomy and nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank born2dans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The owner of this B&B was such a gracious host and provided a tasty breakfast as well as kind hospitality. This B&B was simply beautiful -- a true feast for the eyes from every vantage point.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JMA02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed at this delightful B&B on an impromptu visit to St. Louis over 4th of July weekend. It is located in a charming neighborhood on a lovely quiet, tree-shaded cul-de-sac lined with historic homes. Lafayette Park is steps away at the end of the street, offering free outdoor concerts in the summer. A few blocks further (easy strolling distance) is a neighborhood shopping area with a number of food options. Downtown is a long walk or short five minute drive away, and the B&B is easy to find off I-44. Public areas downstairs (parlor, library, and dining room) are lovely; bedrooms are huge, clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed and large bathroom. Innkeeper generously provided an upgrade to a larger room (at no additional charge) when another traveler canceled their reservation. Front porch is a terrific spot to read or to catch a late-afternoon nap. To those with allergies, there is a cat on the premises (this was a plus with us, though). Parking is on-street, but felt very secure given the inn's location on a cul-de-sac with no through traffic. Wonderful breakfast. Couldn't have had a nicer stay, all in all it is a terrific bargain: for the price of a medium-end chain motel next to the interstate you get a wonderfully comfortable room in an inn loaded with charm and character in a great central location, first-rate, personalized service by a charming host and a homemade gourmet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IndplsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This place was once beautiful but not for the last 50 years or so. "Restoration" is laughable and the hostess is unaware of what hospitality is. Air conditioning is virtually non-existant and I daresay that heating this place in winter would be impossible considering how the windows rattle, at least those still there. The street is beautiful, full of better-cared for homes. You can certainly find a better place for the rares.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yahyahah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We were so glad to have checked out Tripadvisor when coming to St Louis. A delightful walk from Union Station, Lehmann House is nestled amongst gorgeous architecture and leafy avenues in Lafayette Square. A reasonable walk will get you downtown but it was worth it for the lovely accommodation. The house is on three levels and the rooms are large, airy and filled with antique furniture and tasteful furnishings. Marie was a genuinely nice person who happily chatted whilst we enjoyed her breakfast creations - tasty food and home baking if there is room for that, served on antique crockery! The immediate area is well served with a local micro brewery (good food), several cafes, bars and elegant restaurants. Anyone looking for character and taste are encouraged to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RothburyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My friend and I recently booked a trip to St.Louis, MO for a weekend get-a-way. Having never been there before, I started researching things to do, places to stay, etc... well in advance of our trip. We have travelled together in the past, and have always stayed at B&B's, because they usually offer so much more than the average hotel/motel.
When we finally arrived at the Lehmann House B&B really late..due to a delayed flight from NY, Marie was ever so nice, and didn't care about the late arrival. The area of the B&B is settled between other beautiful Mansion type Homes of long ago, with perfectly landscaped yards,trees, etc.. "WOW" was our first impression, walking up the Giantaic wrap around porch to ring the bell. It was beyond our expectations. Our room was on the second floor, called the Worlds Fair Room. It had a beautiful Giant Fireplace, and 20 feet or more ceilings, and was decorated with antiques. It has its own private, modern bathroom, which has been recently updated.
The downstairs, had a study, large living and dining room, and a giant foyer and entry way. Breakfast each morning was great. Marie prepared a great tasting full breakfast,
and sat with us, and was very knowing of the area and history. The B&B is extremely close to everything..downtown, the arch, resturants, etc...
One of our FAVORITE things we did, was visit St.Charles...about a 20 min ride from the B&B. This was a great little historic town, with cobblestone streets and quaint shops, bars and restaurants. We highly recommend this town as a day trip, as there is a lot to see. We did a 2 hour ghost tour for only $20. here with an interesting scientist/historian/ ghost seeker. Well worth it!!!!!
Lot's of St.Louis's homes and neighborhoods are run down, and boarded up. It's sad really, mostly foreclosures probably. The B&B is in a really GREAT part of the city, so don't worry.
We booked this B&B primarily because of it's reported "ghosts" that may wander its halls. As seekers of the unknown and paranormal, we were hoping to see something, or hear a noise that shouldn't be there. Unfortunately, the ghosts were really quiet this weekend, and didn't feel like making themselves known to the house guests. Marie told us that they seem to like that she is constantly trying to keep the house within the period that it was built, with modern amenities thrown in. They don't seem to bother her or her guests too often, but they are there never the less. We certainly weren't disappointed however with the lack of Ghostly activity, because we were just there to have fun and see the sights anyway. Who knows..maybe they will be there next time we go...Which we plan to do again someday!!!!
Overall, I highly recommend this place. It is located on the beautiful Benton Place, in the Historic LaFayette Square District of St.Louis. Marie is wonderful too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timebanditts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Your walk up the front steps to large wrap around porch with comfortable chairs and tables, into the front hall filled with beautiful antiques. To your right is the front parlor and dining room, to the far left a huge library, full of reading nooks and early summer sunshine. This is indeed a treasure house. Our room, on third floor, charming, a tea table complete with kettle, variety of tea and coffee, lovely linens and lace curtains. A four poster bed completes the magic. Bathroom has every amenity. The host, Marie, provides breakfast and conversation (bright and witty) I would love to go back right now.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagg10ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#16 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 Benton Pl, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your stay in a Romanesque Revival 1893 mansion, in historic Lafayette Square near downtown St. Louis. Enjoy the secluded, quiet beauty and feel of a private estate, while conveniently close to Busch Stadium and the St. Louis Cardinals, the St. Louis Arch, the St. Louis Zoo, City Museum, St. Louis Art Museum, Missouri Botanical Gardens, the Riverfront, etc. We are in the center of things to do in St. Louis. Guests are treated to a full breakfast of fresh baked pastries, fresh fruit, an egg entree, breakfast meat, toast and more. Freshly brewed coffee, organic teas, juice and milk are served daily. Special diet requests can be accommodated upon request. Choose between four spacious guest rooms, each with their own special character, large private bath and special features. All rooms are furnished with antiques and comfortable beds. Each room has a desk and free WI-FI. Outdoor pool; no pets; families welcome. One night stays and last minute reservations made by phone are welcome. Call for current availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing