We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-St. Louis / Downtown
Ranked #97 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for the National Wrestling Tournament. The hotel is an older hotel, but very clean. The staff was great and met all our needs. The Manager of the hotel went out of his way on more than one occassion. We needed a wheelchair for my mother, and he not only called places to acquire one, but even went and picked it up for us 8 miles away, and when we left St. Louis, returned it and refused to take "gas" money for his efforts. Without his kind actions, my Mother would not have been able to get around. This was way above what this hotel Manager had to do for us. He was caring and so helpful, and we would return to this hotel anytime we are in St. Louis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananacake60789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    37
    17
    26
See reviews for
15
26
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed in ABV's before and they are okay for the price. I researched this hotel before leaving home and the website is somewhat deceiving. This hotel is very hard to find and the rush of the downtown traffic makes it stressful trip. I called them and they could not provide understanable directions from where we were located. They do not speak very good english. They put us right in front of the elevator and noisy neighbors (at 3 a.m.) which made it very hard to sleep. We will not stay here if there is a future stay in St. Louis.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I researched extensively to decide if I should stay at the ABVI here in downtown St. Louis. As a woman alone and wanting to walk to and from a conference a half a mile away at the Hyatt, I wanted to know what I was getting into. Thanks to a female reviewer from July 2011, I felt safe to stay here. Indeed, the room is quite nice for a $56/night hotel. The outside is shabby, the walkways dirty and it really needs some work...but the room itself is fine.
The walls seem pretty thin; I can hear the neighboring room's tv quite easily. Worse, though, is the massive amount of traffic noise. I am on the backside of the hotel, away from the interstate, but it doesn't matter. It's loud. I'm hoping I will be able to sleep; if I can't, I'm going to let them know I'll be checking out rather than staying the full 5 days here. I'll move to a hotel father out of town just to have some peace and quiet.
Parking is adequate at this hotel...and parking is FREE. I haven't walked the area yet, but will feel safe doing so.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is an older property, but the guest room was very clean and nice. It had a refrigerator, and there was plenty of free apple and orange juice in the lobby all the time. Free high speed Internet worked well. Breakfast included donuts. This was the best price for any property in downtown St. Louis. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I was able to store my bags after I checked out until it was time to leave for the airport. I was able to walk to the rail station and ride to the airport for less than $3.00. The hotel is across the street from the arena and convention center. If you don't want to cross the street, there is an air conditioned tunnel with moving sidewalks that goes under the street from the Four Seasons hotel to exit by the convention center. This hotel is next door to the Four Seasons. The area is safe. I walked from the hotel to the Arch and all the major attractions. I had the choice of walking through a historic district with brick streets and vibrant night life, or walking along a regular street. I enjoyed a river view from my room on the third floor, and I did not hear any traffic. There is an elevator and a convenient trolly to take your luggage to your room. I had a great experience and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the third floor facing the river for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I thought it would be no good when I arrived but the owners were very nice and convinved me they had nice rooms so I gave it a chance. Besides putting me right next to the elevator and noisy neighbors which made it very hard to sleep, I awoke to something crawling on my face. When I got up and turned on a light I saw a "BEDBUG" making his escape for the corner of the mattress. I am petrified now that they are on my things and will never come here again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drummerlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
244 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Try not to get a connecting room. The doors let in sound. If it weren't for that, this would have been a pretty good place. Great clerk. Very helpful. Right downtown, and not a bad price. (Although the state room tax is a killer - 15%. Ridiculous.) Bed was okay, lots of hot water. But if you have noisy neighbours, you'll have a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My first thought from the outside of the hotel was, "Oh, small, cheap." The lobby was clean, the staff friendly, and even let us look at the room before we paid. I didn't like it all that much, but it was late and we were desperate. We paid, a cheap price (only $70 after tax), and made our way to the elevator. The first problem was the elevator. It not only was filthy, but the four of us (all with two weeks worth of luggage) wouldn't go up the elevator. The doors just wouldn't close. So the two men took their luggage and used the stairs. We got to the room and it was set to 67 degrees F, very cold, even for July. So we turned it up to 75. About 45 mins later, the air wasn't working. We had to change it back down to 68 to get it to turn on, then turned up to 70 and it remained warmer than 70 degrees the rest of the night.
The room was technically clean, but it just felt dirty. If I had had a giant bottle of Lysol, the whole room would have been doused multiple times. There were burn marks on the toilet seat, the microwave, and other places, even though we were in a non-smoking room. The lighting was bad, which just added to the dirty/creepy feel. I went barefoot for about 20 mins walking around and my feet had already started to stain black.

Also, there was no swimming pool, which the children didn't like. I wouldn't recommend bringing children who aren't old enough to tell what is dirty or should be avoided.

The only upsides- Free parking, free wi-fi, cheap, great location (walking distance from St. Louis Arch and the downtown area).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eteypetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Louis
Downtown
Missouri Athletic Club
Missouri Athletic Club
#68 of 120 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Downtown
HoteLumiere at The Arch
HoteLumiere at The Arch
#99 of 120 in Saint Louis
2.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lafayette Square
Hotel Avyan
Hotel Avyan
#88 of 120 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Downtown
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-St. Louis / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-St. Louis / Downtown

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-St. Louis / Downtown
Address: 1100 N 3rd Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Riverfront
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-St. Louis / Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of busy downtown St. Louis, which is known as the Gateway to the West and the home of American brewing. Our hotel is situated next to the new Lumiere Place Casino and is only 2 blocks away from the St. Louis Convention and Visitors Bureau. Most of the area's main attractions are located nearby, such as famous Busch Stadium, the Edward Jones Dome, and the majestic and historic Gateway Arch. Take a tour of the Anheuser-Busch factory or visit the Blues Museum. Spend a fun-filled day with family at the St. Louis Zoo, the Missouri Botanical Gardens, or at any of the numerous museums in the area. Trust us to be your home away from home as you explore all that St. Louis has to offer. All guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, cable TV with HBO, iron with ironing board, large work desk, alarm clock, and free local calls. Some additional amenities provided upon request if available include microwaves, fridges, hairdryers, and cribs. At Americas Best Value Inn St. Louis Downtown, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-St. Louis / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-St. Louis / Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Econolodge Saint Louis
Econo Lodge Saint Louis
Saint Louis Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing