We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go! Then go again!”
Review of Fountain on Locust

Fountain on Locust
Ranked #5 of 96 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Description: The most photographed restaurant in St Louis. And Home of The Ice Cream Martini ~ with delicious FRESH-MADE food, fine ice creams, chocolates and retro cocktails - all in a one-of-a-kind, handpainted Art Deco interior. Exceptional SOUPS!
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We went on Burlesque Bingo night and it was packed! I called ahead to see if we would even be able to get a spot, and they were very nice about it but suggested that we do carry-out, as all their tables were reserved. We went anyway based on the online menu and Trip Advisor reviews ... maybe fortune would smile on us.

When we arrived, the place was packed, but the extremely sweet hostess said a table was leaving and she would get us a spot. We only waited about 15 minutes and we were in.

Bingo cost $5 to play all night, and the show along with their "isms" during the game were hilarious. Lots of retro dancers and a large fan base.

The show was fun enough for a reason to go, but the food was incredible! I wanted to try everything on the menu. The grilled cheese with apples and the shultz(?) salad were perfect. I also had an old fashioned ... mixed to perfection. My husband ordered a cup of soup ... spinach soup over bowtie pasta. He enjoyed it so much, he ordered another bowl along with a brownie-in-a-mug sundae. Steaming hot and absolutely divine!

If I lived in the St Louis area, this place would definitely be on my regular rotation. Loved it, and I'm so appreciative of the hostess's kindness in getting us a spot. Thanks!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are so glad you were able to get a table and dine in with us and had a such a good time! We wish you lived in St. Louis too ;) Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 485 of 572 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to enjoy a unique sandwich, ice cream martini and ice cream dessert. Indeed the worlds smallest ice cream sundae and ice cream cones. Making their own soda was also a special surprise for our son...his choice black cherry! For the adult taste buds ice cream Martinis, yes the best summer treat. This is a must go to in downtown St. Louis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 30somethingfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post about your experience with us! We're pleased to hear that you and your family liked our ice cream, fountain sodas, ice cream martinis and sandwiches! Come back and see us soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Great ice cream treats and flavored sodas. The atmosphere and decor is beautiful. The wait staff is young and can be a little slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Feltmaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We're so happy to hear that you are a fan of our ice cream, sodas and decor! We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Okay, this place is unique in what it serves and its atmosphere. It has lighter lunch and dinner fare. (Try the Bird Seed Salad, really.) Plus it offers unique ice cream dishes, some of the "over 21" variety. Plus other neat desserts.

Thank Telar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

So glad you loved our chocolate ice cream martini! Thanks for taking the time to post about us. We hope you come back soon and try out more of our menu items!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We came here for the Burlesque Bingo night. Lots of wild and wacky fun in a very cool place.

The food here is unique, with complex flavors and very tasty. One of our favorites is the onions and oranges. Amazing! Lots of creative ice cream drinks along with many of our old-time favorites. Prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is very cool!

We had great service from Eric and look forward to coming back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thanks so much for your rave review! We're thrilled you are a fan of our decor, food and events! Hope you come back and visit soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain on Locust also viewed

 

Been to Fountain on Locust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing