We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fountain on Locust”
Review of Fountain on Locust

Fountain on Locust
Ranked #4 of 88 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Description: **We will be closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, but will be open the following day the 26th. Additionally, we will be open on two Mondays before and after Christmas on December 21 and December 28. The most photographed restaurant in St Louis. And Home of The Ice Cream Martini ~ with delicious FRESH-MADE food, fine ice creams, chocolates and retro cocktails - all in a one-of-a-kind, handpainted Art Deco interior. Exceptional SOUPS!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Fountain on Locust”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We started going in to the Fountain before and after St Louis U basketball games. Service is quick and the food is great. Pulled Pork with special salsa is tasty, soups and salads are generous. Large selection of imported and domestic beers. Fountain sodas, sundaes, and
deserts are exceptional. All homemade from scratch. Located in a very cool restored Stutz auto showroom in midtown St. Louis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arnie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and for taking time to post them! We hope to see you back soon. Go Billikens! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    149
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pre-Symphony Dinner!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found this place through the St. Louis Symphony website and decided to give it a shot. SOOOO glad we did. Sorry Thai Kitchen, you just got bumped from my Favorite St. Louis area restaurant spot. The food was excellent and creative. I had the porchetta & apple chutney sandwich with a cup of sweet potato ginger bisque. Well made, flavorful, and under $10! For dessert I couldn't resist one of their ice cream sundaes and was not let down. The Nutty Irishman was very good, but my date's Almond Joy was phenomenal. Great decor, too. Service was just ok, but they were quite busy on a Saturday night. The only down side was the noise level. It was loud enough that we had to shout acros the table. Turn the music down a bit and it would be perfect. Overall, I was very impressed and will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EP_AlwaysOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks so much for coming in before the symphony and taking the time time to post about your visit! If it's too loud the next time you come in, be sure to mention to the staff if its too loud and we'll see what we can do :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We would drive hours to eat at The Fountain on Locust!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We LOVE this restaurant!! We've now brought our whole family to eat here over this past year. No one has ever been disappointed in their food or drinks or especially dessert! It's hard to pick favorites because everything is SO GOOD. There is a Signature salad sandwich that is to die for, and the ice cream martini's are awesome. All the desserts are delicious. Can't say enough about the menu and the way the restaurant is run. Why can't all restaurants be run this way? The servers are friendly and very helpful. They will patiently explain any menu item for you.
This is definitely worth a visit---we went the first time because we had a groupon for it, but you won't care if you don't have one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikkiMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for the glowing review and for taking the time to post about us and drive your family up from Memphis! We hope to have you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ice cream martini”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ice cream martinis...delicious and unique. Lots of other non-alcoholic ice cream choices on the menu, as well as food. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for coming in to try our ice cream martinis! So glad you enjoyed them and took the time to post about your visit. Come back and see us soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn, Missouri
Level Contributor
411 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“An enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Tried this local restaurant out today after a trip to the zoo. Having heard a bunch about this place I've had it on my list to try. While I'm glad we checked it out and our food was good I wouldn't make a special trip there. When we arrived there were no open tables, which was fine. However, there really was no convenient place to wait without feeling like you were staring at other diners. Kids couldn't sit at the bar (which is a city rule) which made it harder to contain them and keep them out of other diners way.
Sandwiches and soups were good. My husband was pleased with his pickle soup. The best part of the meal was the coconut almond joy sundae. Kids enjoyed their chocolate ice cream sodas.
All in all this was a fun experience and I would recommend for others to check it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks so much for waiting to get a table with us after your trip to the zoo and taking time to post about your visit. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain on Locust also viewed

 

Been to Fountain on Locust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing