We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They lied and said a computer error meant I didn't have my rooms”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I reserved 2 rooms a month prior to the night we were to stay. The have a 2 day cancellation policy or I would be charged for the rooms. At 2 minutes until 6:00 the evening we were to check in the front desk person called and said that because of a computer error they didn't have any rooms available. They offered to put us at the Chase Park Plaza and they would pay for it.
I find it a little hard to believe that they didn't know this sooner. The fact is we were bumped and they sold the rooms at a higher rate than what I had originally reserved them for.
The Chase Park Plaza is a wonderful hotel, I've stayed there before and will stay there the next time we go to St. Louis.
Won't bother with the Moonrise again.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
7  Thank jxd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

Although the power went out for a couple of hours and the chefs had to improvise, the restaurant and bar still bustled. Menus in restaurant are interesting and varied. The lunch menu looked the most inspired. Rooftop restaurant was locked off, presumably because the temp. was about 60 and fallish.
Everyone working in the hotel is service oriented. The only surprise was the high cost for valet parking, in the same area as free parking.
Glass shower door didn't "track" smoothly, but the amenities are great. Shower head in ceiling of shower and the water rains straight down.
This hotel is avant garde and fun and lovely. Bedding is nice and comfortable, except for pillows.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The staff the Moonrise Hotel is extremely helpful and accommodating if you need anything at all. I am disabled and use a wheelchair so it was really nice to get such great hospitality. The suite we stayed in was very nice and comfortable. It was the Josephine Baker suite. Make sure you sign up for the Desires Program and you will have treats waiting for you when you enter your room. I love how we could easily set the thermostat to our liking and the sleeping machine next to the bed was great because nothing is more soothing to me than the sound of rain. The hotel's restaurant, The Eclipse, serves 5 star food, I was very impressed. The hotel is within walking distance of The Loop which has many shops and well known restaurants.I was going to a concert and the venue is right next door so it was very convenient for me. I highly recommend the Moonrise Hotel if you are going to be staying in St. Louis.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljackson2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Moonrise for our anniversary. It's on the Delmar Loop and close to tons of shops and resturants, and also close to Forest Park. The decor is awesome! Retro, modern, and cool. I adored the artwork in the restaurant downstairs, and the rotating moon on top of the hotel made for some great pictures. We had a corner room with huge windows and modern furniture. Our bed was SO comfortable! I rarely sleep good in hotels, but had no trouble at this one! I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegTheMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I made reservations at the Moonrise Hotel through Travelocity.com Top Secret hotel deals. My husband and I liked it so much we stayed an extra night. The rooms and staff were excellent. When we turned off the lights at night the moon and stars painted on the ceiling were so real we felt as if we were sleeping outside. We will definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istoptraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

First time in St. Louise & found this hotel on trip advisor. Travel 100K + a year with almost 4 months/yr in hotels.

Moonrise is the best. hotel. ever.

First, staff at the front desk are witty, efficient, helpful and creative. Within minutes we had all the perfect recommendations, advise on transport and entertainment, and coupons for the bar.

Second, the rooms are perfectly sized with ample storage, groovy ipod and white noise docks, and great toiletries. Dead quiet, too.

Third, the Eclipse offers outstanding hotel food. Breakfasts are ample, yummy, and cheap and dinners were the best on the strip. The wait staff were friendly and efficient, and what fun to get to know.

Finally, the rooftop bar has great views, hot bartenders, and amply poured drinks. Tunage excellent and the crowd friendly and fun.

Oh yeah...free wifi and parking. Honestly.

No hesitation. Go. Enjoy. Repeat.

Thanks, moonrise.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seamusandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Moonrise Hotel in the Delmar Loop area was an excellent choice for my friend and me. Parking was free, and we could catch the Metro Link (light rail) into downtown just a couple of blocks away. The area is full of all kinds of restaurants, many with outdoor seating. It is a short drive to Forest Park and all its attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indysnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 121 in Saint Louis
820 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,151 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,412 reviews
The Cheshire
#44 of 121 in Saint Louis
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $156 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing