We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Love this unique boutique hotel! The staff...the rooms...the location!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
Thank KellyL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Moonrise when we flew from AZ to St. Louis for the Trey Anasatasio/TAB show at the Pageant Nightclub two doors down from the hotel. The owners of the Moonrise Hotel and Eclipse Restaurant far exceeded my expectations of any hospitality staff! They went out of their way to provide me with the experience I was looking for. Especially Eclipse! The food was great, the chef even prepared local St Louis fare for me that was not on the menu! I highly recommend this hotel, not only is it stylish/comfortable but also convenient for pedestrian travellers, only a short Metro Rail ride from the airport. Staff rocked, hotel was plush, everyone should stay here when in this area!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertFlower05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

First time staying... found the staff very friendly and helpful. I felt like they went out of their way. The facilities are obviously new but also well maintained. Very nice bar and restaurant on premises--had a great steak. Next time I'm in St. Louis, I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socalmLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Moonrise for two nights on a couples' weekend in St. Louis. We were going to a concert at Blueberry Hill, just up the street, and wanted to stay nearby so we could spend time eating, drinking, and shopping on the Delmar Loop. We were very fortunate the weather on this February weekend was great, so we really enjoyed walking up and down this great street.

Staying at the Moonrise was a unique and completely wonderful experience. All of the staff were terrific, from the front desk staff to the maintenance worker who, in passing in the hallway, asked if we were enjoying our stay. The hotel is trendy and immaculate, but not frou-frou, if you know what I mean. We were completely comfortable.

The room was great. Interesting fixtures and furniture, loved the shower which was like rainwater coming down from the ceiling. Fun artwork in the room, and throughout the hotel, following the whimsical moon theme.

The fitness room was terrific as well, better than you find in many hotels, with a variety of equipment. And accessible 24 hours, thank you!

Appreciated having free self-parking just a short walk to the back parking lot. Everything is easy at the Moonrise Hotel! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Very cool! Only glitch, they have a Your Desires program which is great in concept. My partner signed up for it and it was awkward because when the staff arrived with the amenities from the program, they only brought a serving for one, so it was odd to have 1 Fitz root beer and 1 glass and 1 portion of nuts. Was the other person expected to watch? I wish they would have suggested that all guests should register. I just assumed that since there were 2 of us, they would have brought a serving for 2. But no complaints really since this is just a special touch. Also it was stated that the amenities would be in our room and they were brought up about 1 hour later. Love the spa products. Loved the bed. Loved the bathroom. Loved it all really. We will definitely go back and hope to enjoy it this summer when we can walk Delmar and really see the sights. We had a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irana5kat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at the Moonrise to celebrate our Anniversary. He chose the Moonrise because it looked fun and different. It was fun and different in a very good way. We loved the contemporary design (the chandlier in the lobby is amazing) and the clean, modern rooms, but mostly the exceptionally helpful staff. We had tickets to a show at the Fox, and the front desk staff was very helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions . They answered several questions for us, called places for information and made dinner our dinner reservations. All the staff we encountered were very welcoming and helpful. The second evening we enjoyed walking to a movie at the historic Tivoli as well as a Loop neighborhood restaurant. We were very happy with the Moonrise and plan to return when we visit St. Louis again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueskies38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

excellent service, clean comfortable rooms...bathroom sliding door a little odd because it wasn't heavey enough to block the sounds. Close to the Pagreant where we enjoyed a concert.
the bad--- every movement in the hallway was heard, we heard all of the conversation of the people in the adjoining room... Young adults camped in the hallway obviously intoxicated and very loud and obnoxious after 30 minutes we had to call the front desk(1 am)
Lumpy pillows..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
843 reviews
The Cheshire
#46 of 123 in Saint Louis
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $157 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing