We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moonrise is nice - and funky”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Stayed a single night while attending a concert at The Pageant (which is just a few doors down). First of all, all of the staff I encountered were genuinely willing to help. And they were all polite. The lobby and other areas were just funky and cool. The lighted staircase was a big hit with the kids. The room was beautiful and spotless. Beds were extremely comfortable. This is my new default hotel for STL; no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous-rycher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2009

Great service, very on top of their game. Clean, nice rooms. Quiet - here much less noise than at other hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Excellent service, impressive, hip, artistic lobby. Rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Free wireless, no issues getting connected as often happens when I travel the 'chain' hotels. Hotel bar was well-stocked (assuming they'll re-order after our group emptied some bottles!!! Oops!). Had some appetizers in the bar after midnight, kitchen was still opened and the food seemed to be gourmet. I've found my new 'home' in St. Louis as I will be staying there again in the future for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiltunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I had a great overnight stay at this hotel. Funky and chic, yet solid for the business traveler. Service was outstanding. Great meal at Eclipse, which served excellent food at reasonable prices. I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone visiting St. Louis. I've also stayed at the Westin (ballpark), Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton. I like Moonrise best.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ketel_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I recently stayed at the Moonrise, for the first time ever following a hotel visit I was compelled to write a review. From the time we arrived til we checked out I have nothing but positive things to say. The most impressive part wasn't the cleanliness and interesting decor of the hotel, it was the staff.....Every person we ran into was smiling and helpful. The staff not only communicated and offered pleasantries, but seemed truely interested if they could help us with anything. It is the first hotel in many years that seemed welcoming, not just the obligatory business like manner of serving people. Thumbs up to the hotel, everyone from the executive chef to the maintenance and housekeeping staff, along with the front desk, and the charming valets.....

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKM-Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I graduated from Wash U several years ago and was so excited to hear about this hotel. My friends raved about it and it was right in the middle of where we used to go out at night (Halo, Pin-up Bowl). I saw a great deal on their website but it was sold out by the time I went to book it.. so I resorted to Hotwire and was SO excited to see that I had actually won this hotel! I saw the great reviews and figured we would be in for an awesome experience!

Pros:
-Location is great if you want to be on the loop/have easy access to restaurants, bars, shopping, Wash U, Forest Park, etc
-The decor is new and "trendy"
-Liked the chaise lounge in the room and the copies of rolling stone magazines
-Bath products were good

Cons:
-There was a serious problem with our King bed. After the first night, I thought I hadn't slept well due to traveling, etc, and had some back pain. After the second night, I was in SERIOUS back pain and kept waking up all night long. My husband finally pointed out that the bed dipped in significantly in the middle and that was most likely the cause of the problem. My back has been killing me all day and flying back was not fun! There is definitely something wrong with that mattress and it needs to be replaced.
-While the staff were very friendly most of the time, no one asked us at check out if we had enjoyed our stay. If they had, I would have told them about the mattress problem.
-No bathtub!! I know I didn't get to pick the room because I booked on Hotwire, but I personally love taking baths in hotels and this was kind of a downer. Even Hampton Inns have baths.

I am not sure if I would stay here again. I have family in St. Louis and if I was coming to visit them, I would probably stay at the Hampton Inn Forest Park - stayed there last year. Not "sexy" by any means but it was a fantastic stay and so comfortable. But, if I was having a girls' trip where we wanted to be around bars and nightlife, this would be a great option.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank cpapa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Spanking new stylish hotel with can-do staff gets high marks for comfortable rooms and good location on "The Loop" near Wash U (at Delmar near Skinker). The only complaint I had was the food in the restaurant... while the menu sounds very appealing, the cooking is heavy and a bit amateurish. "Lobster Pot Pie" was a gloppy stew with a biscuit perched on the side, and the sauce on the chicken dish we had was also very heavy. But this seems to be a general problem in St. Louis -- I have yet to find a restaurant with light sauces or healthy cuisine.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahnJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 121 in Saint Louis
820 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,151 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,411 reviews
The Cheshire
#44 of 121 in Saint Louis
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $155 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing