We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, with a great rooftop!”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with a great rooftop!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Loved this hotel, got a great rate with name your own price through Priceline and stayed one night during the NCAA basketball tournament. It's location is convenient to the metrolink to get downtown, we had an event at Scottrade that we were in town for, and the location near WashU made it a fun atmosphere when we got back after the game. Even with the lively rooftop bar, we had no issues with noise in the hallway and the added security with the room key elevator feature was nice.

The Rooftop had a great view of downtown and they made excellent drinks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
If you are looking for specials in the future make sure to call the hotel and ask our reservationist about current specials and promotion the hotel is offering. The Metrolink is not only convenient but also an inexpensive method of transportation! We are glad that you found the atmosphere entertaining upon your return from Scottrade Center.

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    238
    58
    27
    22
See reviews for
251
489
77
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Moonrise in April. We had the worst luck with the weather but what a clean, eclectic hotel. It is in a great location and at the time the room rates were very reasonable. The staff was wonderful. We had breakfast in the hotel and it was delicious. We are staying there again in August. Tried to book again for October but the rates are doubled. Whats up with that Moonrise? Irregardless when the rates are reasonable we will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loonynuhnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We look forward to having you back in August and will hope for better weather during your stay! The weekend of October 10th is Washington University’s Parents weekend and due to the demand for rooms we do not offer any discounts that weekend and keep our rates competitive with other hotels in our area.

If I can be of any assistance during your next stay please feel free to contact me directly!

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Fun, whimsical hotel in terms of design, decor, look and feel. Loved the added touch of having a Nomedics noise machine (ocean, rainforestand other soothing sounds.
Room service and
Also love the boutique size of this hotel.
H20 bath amenities are great and the in-room coffeemaker with mugs instead of cardboard cups is fantastic.
Nice location in the Loop district, and also pretty close to Wayshington University.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pw1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the character of the hotel and found our location convenient. We appreciate you posting a review about our hotel and hope that you will return soon!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. I have stayed here twice and both times the service and room have been exceptional. The staff is friendly and ready to help - the Room's are clean and the prices are excellent. Decor is really cool. I found myself looking for excuses to come in to St. Louis and stay here, it's that good!

The food at the attached Eclipse restaurant is great as well! I look forward to staying again in the (near) future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Feel free to come back just to visit us for a weekend! Our staff would be more than happy for find activities or entertainment for a couple of days.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return!

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Moonrise Hotel for one night in early April 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.
The hotel decor (and architecture) wouldn't look out of place in a Wes Anderson movie, modernist inside and a rotating moon on the the roof - making it a destination building on the Loop. Inside, the moon theme continues but never becomes tacky, erring on the side of modernism rather than cliche.
The room was superbly appointed, we even had a small radio that played a variety of sleep sounds although I didn't need it - the bed being superbly comfortable.
The hotel has a restaurant and roof top bar - although it was a windy day we headed up for a cocktail and a look out to towards downtown and the Gateway Arch. I'm sure it would be a great hangout come sunshine!
The hotel is also in a great part of St Louis - neat University Town and on the Loop. The street itself has a bunch of great stores, an excellent patisserie and my new favourite cinema - the Tivoli Theatre, just down the road. I hope to visit again.
In all, we loved our brief stay in St Louis and the Moonrise Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a great view on the 7th floor. It was on the corner and the view looked out toward downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugaxque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
The décor of the hotel was very well done and tasteful. All of the rooms have a Sound Spa to provide peaceful sounds to help put guests to sleep as well as iPod docking stations if you wish to listen to your own music. The Tivoli is a great theatre and I recommend seeing a show there if you have not been.

Thank you for your detailed review!

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeview, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel, funky modernist decor, super service from all the employees we met, and a comfortable bed with nice linens. Wow, the rain shower head is fab! Location was great for us, right next to The Pageant Theatre where my son was performing.
Honestly, this is the best hotel I've stayed at in years and the price wasn't outrageous.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Hairgoddess666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
The ambiance of the hotel is wonderful and the staff members just add to the experience for guests of Moonrise. We appreciate hearing that we are the best hotel that you have visited in recent years.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to Wash U. We had a delightful stay. Outside with Art Deco type colorful soft neon signage. Same colorful, welcoming feel in a modern and edgy but also soft and homey feel. Lobby is fun. Rooftop bar which we didn't get to but looks like a great location. Moonrise is in a charming, "high design" neighborhood with small restaurants, bars and quirky shops and chocolatiers. Room was quiet. Easy, free self-parking. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room. Perfectly adequate, prompt and friendly service. Bowling alley nearby! Pets allowed. We heard one dog bark for a few minutes. Otherwise nice and quiet. Seems like the hotel should be in Miami or West Hollywood .... in a good way.

Room Tip: Our room faced the rear, away rom the Main Street. (Decatur I think.) It was light, clean, compact a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Your comments about our hotel are spot on, many guests say the hotel has a South Beach feel to it. Pin Up Bowl is just one of many activities with-in walking distance of the hotel! Complementary self parking is available just behind the hotel and there are plenty of overflow lots less than a block away which makes parking easy for guests of the hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about our hotel.

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#38 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing