We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
322 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Amazing Getaway”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Valentine's Day. Upon checkin, we were offered a complimentary alcoholic beverage. The color-changing staircase in the lobby switched between different shades of pink which really set the holiday mood. We stayed in a jacuzzi king room and it was incredible! The jacuzzi was large enough for both of us to comfortably fit and there was a massage chair in the corner which was so relaxing. The space theme of this hotel is so neat - there are all kinds of artifacts and memorabilia covering the walls. The staff were SO friendly during our stay, we will definitely be coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
The Cosmic Jacuzzi rooms are great for couples celebrating a special occasions, how can a bathtub big enough to hold two people not be fun! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to your return!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    238
    58
    27
    22
See reviews for
251
489
77
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
385 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I had meetings a few miles from here, and it was between here or the Ritz. Since I was with colleagues we went with the Moonrise for cost reasons. The hotel was pretty nice. Nothing great but overall it is an excellent option if in the area. Clean rooms, friendly staff, etc. I don't think it is worth the AAA 4 diamond award at all, but I do think it is a quality place to stay for the price. Would return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlistairTheCat, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay it seems we did not disappoint you and met your expectations, which is wonderful to hear. We look forward to your return stay.

Regards,
Paul Lauritsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were in town for a bar mitzvah (as gentiles) and stayed for 4 nights. This is a nice boutique style hotel with average sized rooms. The staff was very attentive even arranging an extra nearby room at the group rate when one of us got sick. The moon theme is carried throughout the property with nifty space flight memorabilia. Fresh juice with a kick greets the returning guest at the front desk. The restaurant has a nice varied menu and great service. Be sure to get a room well below the night club and away from the elevators late night revelry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverBear303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
It is great to hear that your time spent here was enjoyable! The staff is always willing to do what they can to improve a guest’s stay and I’m sure they were happy to help the member of your group who felt ill. The “Welcome Punch” is a great way to kick off a weekend and is offered to guest arriving on Friday and Saturday.

Thank you for your review of our hotel!

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I just got home from this beautiful hotel and we just want to go back. The food in the Eclipse restaurant was amazing - the lady that helped us out in there was super friendly and quirky funny. The room was beautiful and the shower was a nice surprise. My husband is 6'3" and its hard to find anywhere that has a shower he can fit in. This one has the wonderful waterfall shower head mounted to the ceiling - - they get an A+ from him on that one! The lovely people at the desk always greeted us and had a smile on their face. They really seemed to enjoy their jobs - or at least know how to make people feel that they do :). Even the valet that was outside most of one night, in the freezing cold, was friendly and if anyone had a reason not to be it was him. Fantastic 2 nights....will be back again!!

Room Tip: I am sure they are all great. Room 428 is on the corner overlooking the street...was a pretty nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KendradeWaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
The rainfall shower heads are wonderful, especially for a taller guest! When hiring associates we look for people that enjoy human contact and it shows because our staff truly enjoys interacting with our guests, even if they are out in the cold! When you come back to visit again you should stop by the New Moon Room which has wonderful drinks and appetizers that are done by the same staff the prepares the food for Eclipse.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have stayed at a number of places in St Louis, never being wowed.This was my first time staying at Moonrise and it will be my go-to place in St Louis for now on. The hotel staff are excellent, friendly, and out to please. The rates were reasonable. The room was nice and clean (big deal to me). The area surrounding the hotel was nice to walk around with little shops and restaurants. It is close to Wash U. A few blocks away was Kayak coffee, a great place for breakfast. The bed was comfy.
Here are the few things about the hotel that could be improved upon-
With the change to these CFL's I found the room just a tad dark for working. I asked for another lamp and they accomodated me immediately. The cost of valet at $17 is steep. I would rather it be $12 and leave a nice tip. It is too easy to opt for the free parking instead. The floor mats in the elevator were always dirty. They never looked like they had been vacuumed. The bath towels are too small (and my waist is too big). There needs to be a sign in the bathroom that says to open drain stopper push down. I could not figure it out and when I talked to the front desk she said they get asked all the time.
These few little details were not enough to even move the needle off of 5 stars. I plan on visiting again in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We understand you wanting to keep it a secret but we appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience! Many of our guests enjoy our staff and the location is difficult to beat. On your next visit stop by the Front Desk for other breakfast options, there are some options closer than Kayak that are great choices as well! There are many aspects that go into deciding the cost of the valet price and we hope that our guests understand. Our guests have the option of self parking just behind our hotel and in many overflow lots less than a block away from our hotel. We are glad that you shared areas that you feel we can improve; the feedback you provided will be used to improve our guest experience.

If I can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me directly!

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here on a recent business trip. The staff was incredibly friendly, from the valet to the front desk to the room service staff who would always say hello in the hallways. As you can tell from the name of the hotel, there's a "moon" theme pretty much everywhere, from the Jules Verne-esque art prints in the rooms, to the photos of Neil Armstrong with the hotel owner in the lobby. You can tell there's real passion and investment in the hotel, and it made everything about my stay awesome. The hotel might not be for everyone--it's got a bar open til 3am and the overall theme is quite strong and slanted towards a modern/hipster crowd, but if you're willing to go with the flow a bit, it's a seriously quality place.

The room itself was giant, clean, and up-to-date, with lots of desktop power plugs. There's lots of restaurants and a theater nearby, so I imagine it would get pretty loud in the area on weekends (I was there Tuesday and Wednesday nights), but it also means there's lots to do in walking distance of the hotel, and everything seemed to be open late (dinner after 10pm), even early in the week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We are so fortunate to have employees that are passionate about what they do and they really enjoy working here, the atmosphere in the hotel says fun and that’s exactly what we like to convey to our guests while still providing AAA 4-Diamond service and amenities. The Delmar Loop is a lively area that many people frequent for its wonderful restaurants, boutique shops, and bars. The Eclipse Restaurant and the New Moon Room are both open until 3:00am which is great for someone that is here to enjoy the night life, but we do have a lot to offer business cliental such as complementary parking, WiFi, and a business and fitness center. The location of the hotel is great for any family coming to visit St. Louis because we are centrally located and guest can easily reach St. Louis attractions.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay, we would love to have you back so you can experience more of what the Moonrise Hotel and the Loop has to offer!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, MO
Level Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We drove up to St.Louis for a single night to see the Alton Brown concert at the Fabulous Fox Theatre. I drive a Tesla Model S electric car so needed a hotel where I could recharge overnight for the trip home. Currently the Moonrise and only one other hotel (The Hyatt at the Arch) have any real option for recharging. The price was much better and we were excited to try out this boutique hotel that caters to EV owners.

Our only disappointment was not the fault of the hotel. There was a rock concert nearby and many people who attended the show were staying at the hotel, some particularly loud and intoxicated ones were on our floor and choose to return to their rooms between 2:30 and 3am. We'd gotten to bed a bit late ourselves and had to be up at 6am, this really ruined our night's sleep. I did call the front desk and they were responsive, but our sleep was screwed up already, so the damage was done.

The EV charger is right out front in the valet area, but I was able to just back into the spot on arrival. The ChargePoint EV charger is open to the general public, but hotel guests get priority if someone who's not staying at the Moonrise wants to use it.

The decor is ultra modern in spots and throwback spaceage (Think Flash Gordon-esque) style. A lot of fun really.

We added on the "Romance" package...if you're going as a couple this is only a few bucks extra and worth it, if for the breakfast only($35 value). But it includes 2 mini bottles of champagne, 2 minis of Absolute citrus, a tiny bottle of chambord, and a romance kit that includes a cool little toy for the lady, a similar male option, a couple contraceptives and lubricant!! It certainly enhanced the fun for the night!

Room Tip: Avoid street side, or bring ear plugs, street noise can be significant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the romance package, officially known as the Love Shack Package, made your stay all that much better! I am glad you found the charging station a great hotel amenity we also offer it to our neighbors free of charge when our overnight guests are not using it; we use every opportunity we can to keep us a truly green hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Jake Westcott
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#38 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing