We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time and still a charm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #7 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Second time and still a charm!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my second time at the Moonrise Hotel and I had a wonderful stay, again. From the very friendly and helpful staff (especially Erica, she´s a rock star) to the eclectic and modern design to the cleanliness of the hotel and the comfortable rooms, my stay was awesome. The hotel is located in the Loop where there are many restaurants & shops and is only a couple of minutes away from Washu which is so convenient since I was there to visit my son. I asked for a quiet room and got a corner room on the 4th floor which was very spacious. The view wasn´t nice, but I did ask for quiet which is what I got. The hotel has a new moon room bar on the 8th floor and also a rooftop terrace which was closed because of the season, but which my son frequents with friends and says is really nice and has a great view. I didn´t give the hotel 5 stars only because of the parking. The parking lot is big but it is also open to anyone going to the Loop and gets full especially at night. I had to wait a couple of times to find parking. They do have vallet service which is convenient if you want to spend the extra money. All in all, I would definitely recommend the Moonrise Hotel.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room away from the elevators. Also, ask for one of the middle floors since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
You’ve mentioned so many details of the hotel and we cannot thank you enough for the kind review! We agree, Erica is amazing and I’m so glad she was helpful during your stay. The New Moon Room offers year round views of the city so hopefully next stay you’ll be able to take in the sights for yourself. I’m happy to hear you were able to enjoy yourself and the neighborhood; it sounds like your son was a great tour guide while you in town. We always have valet parking available for our overnight guests and near the hotel are three complimentary public parking lots if you don’t mind a short walk. Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience.

We can’t wait to have you back as our guest!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    236
    57
    27
    22
See reviews for
248
486
76
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McMurray, PA USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked our three night stay via Luxury Link. From the time we booked the trip everything they told us turned out to be untrue. The offer stated that we would get an upgrade at time of booking if available - we booked three months in advance and the answer on various requests was they could not do that currently. We learned that there would be a concert next door to the hotel the the first night of our stay. We contacted the hotel and were told we would get a quiet room away from the elevator - we were given a room next to the elevator overlooking the entrance to the hotel and the concert venue with unbelievable noise and limited sleep. We asked the next day to speak to the manage and were told he would call us - this never happened. The towels, if at my house would be called rags. The second night no
concert, but still all kind of noise late in the night into the early morning. Someone told us you go to St. Louis to visit someone which was true in our case, not to tour the place. The Budweiser Brewery tour and seeing the Clydedales was nice as were the casinos.

Room Tip: Away from the hotel's driveway which is on the same side as the Pagent concert hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I was very disappointed to read that your entire experience in St. Louis was not a pleasant one and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It seems there was much confusion regarding the package you purchased through Luxury Link, I am sorry for any misunderstanding regarding the details of the package and any miscommunication on the hotels part. The room type included in the package is a Cosmic Jacuzzi King and unfortunately there is only one of these room types on each floor, all located in the same location. I was very surprised to hear that you were disturbed by the elevators, being that they are located around the corner in a different wing, also too any music. Providing a peaceful night of sleep for all of our guests is of course a guarantee; I would like to speak with you regarding compensation for the evening this did not transpire.

Regarding the upgrade to a suite, as noted by Luxury Link this is subject to availability and unfortunately at the time of your booking there were none available so we put your name on a priority list to be upgraded if we had a cancellation for a suite, however that did not happen.

Again, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you were caused. I am hopeful you will contact me directly at 314-721-1111 so we can discuss your stay further.

Regards, Paul Lauritsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 3-night stay at the Moonrise. The beds and the service were excellent. There was a community pumkin carving with free refreshments held in the parking lot on Saturday afternoon. Coffee in the lobby is a good spot to meet like-minded folk. The Loop on Delmar is great for restaurants, exploration, and music.
The Moonrise has a novel rooftop bar with a view of the St. Louis Arch. The hotelier's lunar collection is fascinating!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Delmar Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinghusker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for participating in our Fifth Annual Pumpkin Carve & Glow Event! We had a great turn out this year with a ton of creative pumpkins. We've had several new spots along The Loop open this summer expanding our coffee offerings for those of us needing a little extra help in the morning time. Our owner's lunar collection is the product of a long time space fascination and is continally expanding so there is always something new to look for and learn from.

Thank you for staying with us!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Moonrise two nights and we have no complaints. Check-in took about 90 seconds and we were off to the room which was nice and very clean. Our bed and pillows were great. The rooftop bar is nice but the food in the restaurant right off the lobby was excellent. I had a steak and my wife had mac 'n cheese and both were great. Nice people and atmosphere. Free parking or very reasonable valet. They even have an EV charging station! Unfortunately, our LEAF was at home 1,600 miles away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OilKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
The mac 'n cheese is one of my favorite items on the new menu! Eclipse rotates their offerings four times each year so next time you visit we should have a new selection of entrees to enjoy. In addition to the EV charging station we also promote sustainable energy through solar panels which power our Rooftop Terrace and New Moon Room. Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel.

See you soon!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here one night when attending a concert at The Pageant which is next door. Great location in The Loop. The service was great and we were even served a cocktail at check-in. The hotel decor is fun and modern. Our room was nice with a fabulous bathroom! We enjoyed some pre-concert cocktails and appetizers in the hotel restaurant and then hit up the rooftop patio and lounge after the show.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeTravel2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Eclipse Restaurant and our Rooftop Terrace are perfect for refueling after shows at The Pageant concert venue since their kitchen is open late until 2AM and they have drinks available until 3AM. It sounds like you were able to fit in a lot during your night in St. Louis. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My first time in St Louis, we stayed at Moonrise because of the neighborhood and solid hotel reviews. The hotel is great. Solid spot, modern looking, with an awesome rooftop bar. Walkable to lots of food and nightlife. If I'm back, I'm staying here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamwires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Glad to hear that your first trip to St. Louis was a memorable one! We are so fortunate to have so many shops and restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Our neighborhood is constantly expanding so next time you visit we'll most likely have some new spots for you to explore. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Hopefully, we'll be seeing you again!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had planned a trip to St. Louis and had paid for my room via groupon and was on my way! After reading all the positive reviews I was excited to experience the moonrise for myself.

But then I made a huge mistake. I had left my wallet all the way back in Oklahoma at a restaurant I had eaten at. They were closed, I was 200 miles away from the resturant and 400 miles from home. So I called the moonrise hotel at about 2:00 am and explained the situation hoping there would be something they could do. But the night clerk was less helpful. His response was basically "you need your drivers license to check in." Regardless of the fact that I had all my paperwork stating the room had been paid for AND that I had various other ways of proving my identity. But nope. That was good enough. And the night clerk didn't care that I was 400 miles away from home with nowhere to stay.

...but it some ways I understand that. They need a drivers license to check in. I get that. I mean it was my fault after all for leaving it in OK. I was just hoping giving the extreme circumstances something could be done for me. But the night clerk didn't even seem to care. So whatever I moved on.

And then this is where I really get angry. After all this went down I emailed three people associated with the hotels customer service to let them know that the night clerk they had can come off as less than concerned and to see if there was anything that could have been done differently to avoid my being stranded. I wrote a 7 paragraph email very polite but detailed. And then I waited...

No response.

Two weeks later. No response.

So I figured I guarantee if I explain my situation on their Facebook surely they would see it and at least be like "our bad, sorry. We hope you'll give us another chance" and that is ALL IT WOULD HAVE TAKEN and I would have been happy and honestly ...probably would have stayed there again. But then days went by with no response. They were posting on their Facebook hourly with no response to my issues.

So yeah. Probably not going to go back. I just wish they had the class to address the problems I am presenting them with. But apparently they prefer to ignore it.

Maybe they don't value their groupon business the same way they do regular business? I don't know. Just upsetting.

Oh yeah, the rooms are pretty. And the daytime clerk...Nicole I think? She's awesome. Super nice and accommodating. But that's about where the positive reviews stop

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abcollins405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Our attempts to reach you via telephone, since your stay 1 week ago (10/17) have been unsuccessful because your "voicemail box has not been set up by this cell phone owner". We pride ourselves in excellent customer service and getting back to our guests that are kind enough to share their experience, we always responded within 24-48 hours; however we could not do so in your situation because of your telephone issue. If you could be so kind as to contact me directly 314-685-3402 I would appreciate some of your time so we can discuss your experience.

Regards,
Paul Lauritsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
879 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
750 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing