We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely the most excellent hotel in St. Louis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely the most excellent hotel in St. Louis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Although I think St. Louis is not an attractive place for sightseeing, the Moonrise hotel is the most valuable hotel around St. Louis.

I have a business partner in St. Louis. Every time I stay this boutique hotel, they always bring me nice experiences. The hotel staff, room, restaurant, everything is perfect.

Do you want to visit St. Louis? My recommendation is The Moonrise hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlee0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
There are many great places in St. Louis that tourists can visit. The next time you are here ask for me and I can give you fun places to go see! We are happy to provide you with an enjoyable experience while you are here and look forward to your return.

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    234
    56
    27
    22
See reviews for
244
483
76
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you ever find yourself in the Lou, you must explore Forest Park and the Loop. I have punched the clock many times and this is where you need to be.

This hotel is an unbelievable place. The meticulous detail to everything on the property is second to none. Every inch of this place is painstakingly detailed. I was even impressed by the tile in the elevator. Who notices that?!?!?!

I noticed every light fixture, every framed piece of art not only in our room but in every part of the hotel.

We had dinner and lunch at the Eclpse and it was fantastic.

For real, owner of this hotel, you should be so proud of your accomplishments. I didn't want to leave!!

The bed was perfect and I would be remiss if I did not note that your full length mirrors were not the cheap crap. In line with your decorating, you gave us giant, beautiful mirrors.

And every one of those moon references whether a photo of the moon or all the space successes were absolutely appreciated. There were too many things to see!!

You rock and I cannot wait to go back. Please let me know if you have weekly rates :) !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel! Joe is very proud of not just Moonrise Hotel but all of his businesses in the Delmar Loop and their success. While we do not have a set weekly rate we do offer corporate rates and if you would like any information on one please feel free to contact myself directly.

Thank you again for your review.

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location is okay, found the highly touted Delmar Loop to be rather strange and not my flavor. Sky bar at hotel is nice and the cleanliness was satisfying. The theme is a little different and kind of comical in some instances. Drive to downtown is about 20 mins and there is a Metralink close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
It is great that you enjoyed yourself while you were here. The indoor section of the rooftop bar is the New Moon Room and does have a different kind of funky vibe to it.

Thank you for your comments!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I appreciated many of the same things as other reviewers. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Room and bathroom was very clean, beds were comfortable and the decor was fun and trendy. As a child of the 60s..........the neon lit stairway, astronaut photos (with the owner) and space/moon memorabilia had a nostalgic feel for me. We self parked and never had a problem. The owner has a restaurant down the street called Blueberry Hill, where you can see his outstanding toy/music related collections. (there is also a restaurant /bar at the hotel) Food was good and we felt like we could linger and relax. The owner has done an amazing job with this hotel and many other venues on the street and is to be commended. The area (Del Mar Loop) is a short drive to downtown attractions and has some interesting restaurant and shops but the one negative comment I have is the noise at night. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the valet parking.......very noisy late at night after the bars close. (2-3AM!!) Maybe request a room in the back.

Room Tip: do NOT take a room close to the valet parking/entry area........lots of noise late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLWPennington_NJUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Our Front Office Staff really does everything they can to make our guests feel welcome when they arrive. The self parking directly behind the hotel is an easy place for hotel guests to park and even if that fills up there are two separate overflow lots less than a block away. Joe has worked very hard to get the Loop to where it is now and will keep working to get the area to continue to develop. We have Homedic Sound Spas in all of our rooms because the area is home to some bars that close at 3:00am we understand that guests might be returning to their rooms much later than others and these machines will drown out any unwanted outside noise that might interrupt your sleep.

Thank you for your review!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darnestown md
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My son and I stayed here for one night while visiting Washington University. Nice room, great bathroom and shower. Very clean and comfortable beds. We thought it was a cute, funky hotel. We stayed here in February. We didn't experience any problems with noise or construction. The front desk clerk was very helpful suggesting tourist sights. The hotel was within walking distance of Washington University. I didn't love the neighborhood-it was safe and ok, just nothing special. But I don't fault the hotel for that! We had breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and it was very good. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank goblingoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hopefully your son chose to attend Washington University and we will have the opportunity to have you and your family back as guests! The construction from February was for the New Moon Room which is complete and a wonderful place to relax and have a drink. Since you were here that have been many fabulous restaurants that opened in the Loop. If you return please ask about some places when you arrive and the Front Desk Agent or Valet Attendant can give you some good suggestions on places that are new to the area.

Thank you,

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a funky boutique hotel, and the stairs are not as bright or obnoxious as the website looks. The staff is *lovely* (very kind) and funky - lots of tattoos and body piercings and combat boots. Our room was a queen, with a view of the parking lot and beyond. It was clean and nicely appointed - but nothing remarkable. The amenities are really good! H20 spa products. Shower is small, but has a rainhead. The room was spacious, beds comfy and pillows were all firm and cheap. Our wakeup call was 12 minutes late on a travel morning, but we figured it out. Not a big fan of the morning coffee in the lobby (and I like Starbucks) it was a 'bold' coffee, but bitter and nasty. We stayed on the 6th floor and the smell of steak/meat cooking came through all evening. Staff downstairs told me it was from the rooftop bar. (Vegans - beware!)
The decor throughout the hotel is 'moon' themed - it works! I would stay there again, it is on one end of the Delmar Loop and close to Metro - which takes you directly to the airport. Honestly one of the easiest public transportation cities I have traveled in.

Room Tip: Vegans beware of the cooking meat odor on the 6th floor in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at our hotel! The way the hotel is set up is that all of our rooms with two queen size beds will be facing north, which overlooks the parking lot of the hotel. I am sorry that your wake-up call was delayed by 12 minutes, but I am glad that it did not cause a problem with your travel plans for the day. If the complementary coffee in the lobby is not to your liking we also have Wolfgang Puck in the rooms and the restaurant offers 24 hour in room dinning.

We are happy that you enjoyed yourself while you were here and hope that if you travel back to St. Louis you will come back to Moonrise!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

awesome service, location, room. beds are super comfortable. the restaurant has options for everyone, servers know the menu. upstairs bar on the roof is awesome with outside bar. excellent room service, helpful staff. only setback is stand up shower, no tub and bathroom door doesn't lock. the place is beautiful otherwise

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veggiegirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Moonrise! We do have five room on property that have two person Jacuzzi tubs in the rooms if you would be interested in reserving one of those rooms on your future trip!

We look forward to your return!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
The Cheshire
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing