We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Moonrise!!”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Moonrise is adorable and unique! We just spent the first night of honeymoon here and had a fabulous time. The roof top bar is amazing and the food is out of this world (pun intended!).

We got a whirlpool room and it was clean and beautiful. The whirlpools are super high tech with digital controls and a bunch of different settings.

The Loop neighborhood is a great spot for restaurants, music venues and little shops.

We'll be back for anniversaries!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLT726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

It is great to hear that your experience here was an amazing one! Thank you for choose to start out such a special occasion here with us! We look forward to having you return for many anniversaries!

Congratulations on your marriage!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Moonrise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel itself was great, VERY CLEAN, great staff & its very close to the (free) zoo/park area which was a great little side trip on a much longer drive for the kiddos. It is however pretty far from downtown so don't expect easy access to the arch and all that.
The street this hotel is on ,"The Loop" was really corny and touristy and after dark it seemed to get pretty sketchy. We were walking around with our kids trying to find a decent spot to eat and there was a little too much police activity and large groups of teenagers just kinda hanging out. I know this is just a coincidence but there was a guy getting arrested next to the restaurant for discharging a firearm in the street...yea i think we will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

I’m sorry you felt that the hotel was too far from downtown, we are only a block away from a Metrolink station which most of our guest find quite convenient because it will gets the riders to the Arch area in about 10 minutes. The Loop area of which Delmar Boulevard is it central street and the street the hotel is on was voted one of the 10 Greatest Streets in America by the American Planning Association. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy the area however we do hope that you found the hotel an enjoyable experience.

Thank you for your comments!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here using the summer special rate. Room 414, a corner room, was huge! Large entry way, roomy bath and large bedroom area. The view want much (parking lots mostly) but I wasn't there for the view.

I don't believe I've ever been in a hotel with more friendly staff. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to waiters and bar staff went out of their way to say hello and to offer advice on enhancing my stay.

Will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Union98dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. If you are interested in a view we always recommend checking out the city from our rooftop! Hopefully, we’ll have you as our guest again soon.

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My new husband and I recently stayed at the Moonrise hotel during our honeymoon and have only one complaint: that we had to go home!! This hotel is awesome! All of the staff were so friendly and welcoming! Customer service is important to both of us and the staff here well exceeded our expectations! We chose the valet parking option and were very pleased that our car was well looked after and readily available. I've stayed in 5 star hotels in other areas including New Orleans, Charleston and Florida and this is one of the best, if not the best, experience I've ever had. The décor is amazing and there is always something new to discover. The room was exceptional and we felt very much at home. We have already purchased a sound machine like the ones provided in the rooms and have looked into the line of mattresses used in the hotel because it was the most comfortable bed either one of us has ever slept in! The rooftop bar is a great place to visit and we loved Eclipse! We had dinner there the first night and it was delicious. We also stopped in during the afternoons to visit our favorite bartender and have a signature cocktail. Room service was great as well. The elevators are set up so guests need to swipe their room keys before being allowed to floors. We loved the energetic and hip vibe of the hotel and the location in the Loop with the ability to walk to dinner, bars and music! We were very sad to leave and can not wait to stay here again!! Thank you so much, Moonrise staff, for making our stay in St. Louis and honeymoon so memorable! We can't wait to visit your hotel and your city again! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishIs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Congratulations again! Thank you so much for making us a part of such a special moment. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We can’t wait to be part of many more happy years.

Thank you again for the kind words!

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The roof top bar is lots of fun, great views. The entire hitel has a luna theme, found this neat at first, but grew stale quickly. Service in the roof top bar was terrible, onlynone server for entire bar. Hotel is better suited to couples than a family in my oppinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Glad to hear you enjoyed the rooftop view!

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for two days. July 19-21. We stayed in room #423.Very Impressed by the staff. The front desk was very sincere. They all really want their guests to have an excellent experience. In fact everyone in the Moonrise was like this. From the maids that cleaned our room to a wonderful gentleman who was one of the chefs we met who worked at the roof top bar. The room was spotless and comfortable. The sheets lovely. The location to the Loop could not be better. You can walk to most everything in the Loop from the Moonrise.However, if you have children I would advise to stay closer to the Arch, Museums etc. The Moonrise is near the university and very safe. On days when there is not a great deal going on you can park behind the Moonrise and avoid the valet parking fee of $17.00. The Eclispe is a great place to dine. Located in the Moonrise. My husband loved the cornflake French toast, We enjoyed our breakfast so much we returned for dinner. It was fairly priced and wonderful! The roof top bar is nice. You can see many of the city lights in the evening. They had an event going on the night we were there so part of it was closed.
The Loop is interesting. Many unique shops and loads of places to dine. We went to Blueberry Hill. It was within walking distance of the Moonrise.Great beer on tap, wonderful bartenders and great fun.
The Moonrise is special because of the wonderful staff that work there. They all seemed so sincerely happy! They all could not do enough for guests. The hotel is small. It has NO pool.
Our room only had a shower no bath tub. The Moonrise makes up for this by the comfort you feel staying at a place that is so unique and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juntoflemington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We really take our time in selecting our employees and encourage them to be themselves so it’s fantastic that you found our crew friendly!

Thank you.

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Moonrise Hotel has a lot going for it. The hotel is creatively designed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The amenities (such as the beds and bathrooms) are high-end. And the staff is extremely friendly. But the one thing that you should know about the Moonrise is that it is next to a large live-music venue--a fact I didn't know until I arrived. Shortly after check-in during the late afternoon, I heard loud, thumping bass in my room. I called down to the front desk and asked if they knew where the noise was coming from. The staff member naively replied that she had no idea where something like that could be coming from and said she would look into it (I never heard back). Clearly, this was the band doing a soundcheck for their show later that night. By 8pm, the show was up and running, and for the next three hours, the bass continued to reverberate through my room. The concert did finish by 11pm, and then the noise level was fine. Now, for some people, they won't mind this extra noise. It wasn't so loud to vibrate the windows. But if you're a light sleeper and go to bed early, you might want to check out the show listings at The Pageant (the music venue) before booking your room at the Moonrise.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you should ask for a room as far away as possible from "The Page...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islington185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I’m happy to hear you found our hotel comfortable while you were with us, but I’m sorry you encountered a noise disturbance. We don’t usually get reports of noise on concert nights from the Pageant so it must have been an unusually bass heavy group. Please reach out to us directly should you stay in the St. Louis area again so we can make sure your room is reserved on the west side of the building.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
813 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#37 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,139 reviews
The Cheshire
#44 of 121 in Saint Louis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $180 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing