We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the most part we enjoyed are stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“For the most part we enjoyed are stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend while visiting family. We got there late on Friday night coming from the airport straight to dinner then finally checking in. The check in process went smoothly for the most part, but was a little slow. There was a man at the counter (obviously drunk) trying to get change or something. I was hoping they would have let us check in first. He couldn't figure out the money issue so it took around 15 minutes. The hotel rooms were great and clean. The turned them over during the day while we were gone which was nice. Valet worked great, coming and going multiple times. Employees seemed friendly. The only real downside was the rooftop lounge. I caused a scene in front of the hotel each night, people drinking and smoking (not tobacco). This is my only real complaint.

Room Tip: Lower floors unless you want to hear the loud music from the lounge until 3am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I'm sorry to hear your arrival wasn't our speedy standard. Your time is important to us! We are fortunate with our placement in The Loop neighborhood which draws a diverse crowd. We have a hookah lounge just doors down from us and their outdoor patio sometimes draws a crowd close to ours. I'm happy to hear your experience inside the hotel was pleasant. Hopefully we'll see you again as our guest.

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    237
    57
    27
    22
See reviews for
249
487
76
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, al
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Usually stay close to ballpark, but just passing through St. Louis this time. TA reviews convinced me to try this hotel. Absolutely love the upscale boutique feel! Location perfect for dining, entertainment, night life...all in a few blocks walk. The staff was friendly, and very helpful. The hotel restaurant Eclipse, was terrific! Open until 2am, with 24 hr room service. Had a great dinner and breakfast there. Loved the room, the bed, and rain shower. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonPatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We can’t wait to have you as our guest again! So glad you decided to switch up your St. Louis routine and give our location a try. We try to cater to our night owls and the early birds with our dining hours. There are so many new developments in The Loop neighborhood right now and there are more to come, so next time you stay we should have more to explore!

Thank you for sharing your experience. Hope to see you soon!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Moonrise will be a memorable hotel in this vacation..great lobby decor was beautiful and one of a kind..hotel was very clean and modern showers. Great room view of the city..when in Stl this is the hotel I will come back to not only for its amazing decor but the great customer service I receive from each sigle employee there..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfamilyfun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take in some of our details. We really try to hire people for their personality and it’s always nice to hear when they are able to connect with our guests. Hope you’ll be back in St. Louis soon!

Thank you for the kind review.
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed 4 times at the Moonrise hotel. Not once have I been dissatisfied with my experience. I always use Pricline to book my room and have never paid over $100! The staff will go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1stdestintril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for continuing to stay with us! Our number one priority is to make our guest’s stay enjoyable and I’m happy to hear that has been the consistent case in your stays with us. If you would like to receive emails with our current special promotions and room discounts, you can subscribe to our mailing list via a link on our website.

Hope to see you again soon!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I chose this because of the other great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were very happy not only with the excellent service but the eclectic decor. The entire hotel is a collector's showcase with displays of every conceivable celestial item from serious NASA moon memorabilia to works of literature, toys and science fiction.

Service, especially the front desk was awesome. They had maps available for the neighborhood, the local colleges and the entire city. Parking was free and convenient behind the hotel. When I had to leave early (5:00AM) one morning, the desk attendant kept watch until I was safely at my car. The room was large, comfortable, spotless and decorated in the moon theme. I had no trouble at all with the wi-fi. The rooftop bar was very nice with great views. All the amenities listed in the other reviews are there - a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
A fellow space admirer! Thank you for the wonderful comments on our front desk team, the hotel and our neighborhood. We like to have fun and try to make sure our guests are as well. Sorry you had such an early morning while you were with us, but I’m glad to hear the crew looked after your safety and was helpful while you stayed with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Please come back and see us soon!

Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is my favorite in St. Louis. At first i thought it was a little 70ish era from the looks of the lobby and ballroom areas. Then when I got to my room i changed my mind. The double shower head and frosted bathroom sliding wall was awesome. There was a mini fridge in the room, a nice view, and comfy bed. The hotel has a moon/space theme. They are pet friendly. The location is right on the Delmar loop. Plenty of specialty shops and good eats. The Pagent Theater is also right next door. The best part of the hotel is the roof top bar. It gives a wonderful view of the strip. rooms are expensive, but sometimes you can luck out and get one one Hotwire cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. You’ve touched on so many details about the hotel and our neighborhood. I’m happy to hear you were able to make the most of your stay with us! We are so fortunate to be part of such a vibrant area in The Loop. From our website you can subscribe to our email list where we send out special room promotions and event information year round to keep up to date as well.

Hopefully, we’ll see you again soon!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent a week at the Moonrise during July 4th week. My wife said and I quote "This is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at". Clean is very important to her so that was a real statement! July 4th fireworks from the rooftop lounge was awesome. Quiet and away from downtown location, but a short, safe walk to the Metrolink takes you downtown quickly. Highly recommended for a stay in St. Louis

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myboyspoppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the kind words! Our team really prides themselves on the work they put into making the property beautiful so it means a lot when someone takes the time to comment. Please share our appreciation with your wife as well.

Thank you again!
Jessie Galleano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing