We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar-great views.”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar-great views.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Such nice atmosphere. Views are great. Great way to end an evening. Did not stay at the hotel, but I would expect the rooms to be as well appointed as the lobby and bar. Next concert I am planning to book a room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mel1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest in the future. The rooftop is a great place to end an evening after a concert!

We look forward to your staying in the hotel!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    240
    59
    28
    23
See reviews for
257
498
79
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I just stayed at Moonrise for the weekend with my husband and some friends. We chose it due to its proximity to the Blueberry Hill bar/music venue. We were greeted upon check-in with a complimentary rum punch. The rooms were very nice, with great channel selection on the TV, comfortable beds, amazing showers, nice bath products, fun moon-related artwork all over the place, and a sound machine by the bed. The Eclipse restaurant downstairs serves tasty food at reasonable prices (I especially loved the lettuce wraps appetizer!) and the rooftop bar was nice as well. All of the staff we encountered, from the front desk to the restaurant to the room service servers, were incredibly friendly. The location of Moonrise is great, within an easy walk to tons of restaurants and bars. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your weekend stay! I am glad that you found the rooms to your liking and that you enjoyed your experience in Eclipse and on the rooftop bar. The staff strives to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests and it seems that they enhanced your weekend trip. We hope that you will return as a guest in the future!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a stroke of luck! We were supposed to get a room at the local chain hotel as part of a wedding block. Then that hotel experienced some sort of plumbing issue and so had to find (and pay for -- lucky us!) a replacement room at a nearby property. We got hooked up at the Moonrise in one of their incredible signature suites. The Vincent Price Room was awesome -- super comfortable with a state-of-the-art shower, lovely living room area and (yes!) photos of Vincent Price everywhere. I'm not the biggest fan of the city of St. Louis, but I may visit frequently just to stay at the Moonrise! Great rooftop bar as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It is never fun to have to relocate to another hotel, not being responsible for room and tax always helps though! I am glad that your experience was positive and hopefully it was not difficult to get to the wedding or the reception. The Walk of Fame Suites are fantastic and provide guests with a lot of space, the Vincent Price Suite is very popular and seems to be the most requested! We hope that you do get a chance to come back to St. Louis, even if you do not enjoy the city, the Delmar Loop is a fun neighborhood to enjoy great restaurants and many bars if you do decide to venture away from the rooftop!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place rocks. The rooftop cocktails and appetizers creates a great atmosphere. you can see the Arch! The best service, newer look and very clean. Right next to the theatre and great restaurants..the eclipse restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hapuna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your experience here. The rooftop is a great place to relax and enjoy a cocktail and this time of year offers perfect weather for it! The Loop is home to many fabulous restaurants including our onsite restaurant Eclipse. We hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm from St Louis (moved out of state) and I love my family, but I stayed here one night before a concert and I have to say, Ill pay to stay here again next time I'm in town. Sorry guys! The hotel's creative lobby and artistic staircase, friendly and attentive staff and the grilled cheese from Eclipse are amazing! My bf and I travel a lot and have trusted other users on Tripadvisor, been surprised sometimes by some places and disappointed in others (are we that picky? We decided yes.) Being a native I was surprised by it's location-the area has been developed nicely. Loved the proximity to the Loop, all my favorite shops and the Tivoli, Forest Park and Zoo for the kids. Parking in the back was free. After catching a show we grabbed a late night bite and was pleasantly surprised by the attentive service and quality of food. (Hotel food? It was good!) Room was impressive, bathroom modern and fresh, temp of room was perfect. Liked the elevator security as well. Always felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dearjen213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Any time you return to visit St. Louis we would love to have you back as a guest! The lobby is very unique and many guests enjoy spending time lounging there. The food in Eclipse is great and the grilled cheese is one of their more popular items, while they are attached to the hotel, they could operate as a stand-alone restaurant. I don’t think it would be considered picky, you just have high expectations! We believe in providing our guests with a memorable experience, not just a place to sleep at night! The Loop is constantly expanding and hopefully it will grow further to the east when the Trolley is added, connecting us to Forest Park.

Thank you for taking time to post a review!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My daughter just graduated from Washington University. We began staying at the Moonrise when they first opened 4 years ago. We visited school twice a year and always stayed at the Moonrise.
First off the hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel close to the University. The rooms are lovely and comfortable with all the amenities of an upscale boutique hotel. Service is excellent and the staff is always on hand to help out, even with the smallest request. The restaurant is great and the rooftop bar has a great late night menu, and is a cool place to chill. Best of all they always were responsive to my requests for a quiet room away from the elevators, most appreciated.
I will miss Wash U and our stays at the Moonrise.

Room Tip: Request a high floor away from the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Congratulations to your daughter on her Graduation! We appreciate your wonderful comments about our property and staff. We will miss having you as a guest, but hopefully you will find other reasons to visit St. Louis and come back to Moonrise! We do our best to accommodate all requests from guests and I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations through the years.

Thank you for your loyalty!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice and your only real hotel option if attending a concert at the Pageant. Bed's are super comfortable, staff very friendly, and food is well above average. I have stayed here twice and both times I was very happy. You can avoid taxis and all the time by staying here as oppose to down the road at a cheaper hotel. AVOID THE MINI BAR!!! $7 SNICKERS, need I say more. They even leave it out right by your bed to entice you. Just seems like a unnecessary con than a nice convenience. This is an old school hotel gimic of the past and shines a dark cloud around the conversation about the moonrise when you are having conversations with other guests. It was the talk of the rooftop bar which is also awesome. Will stay here again

Room Tip: Order towels in advance as it is hard to get attention during the morning busy hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
The mini bars are a requirement to maintain our 4 Diamond rating with AAA. Many guest enjoy the convenience of snacks in the rooms while others might see it as a gimmick, if the guest wants to have the mini bar removed from the room during their stay we are more than happy to honor their request. The proximity of Moonrise to the Pageant makes our hotel a convenient option when attending shows. I am glad that you enjoy the time you spend here and we look forward to having you back the next time you venture into St. Louis.

Thank you for your comments!

Jake Westcott
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
786 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,104 reviews
The Cheshire
#43 of 120 in Saint Louis
918 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing