We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to love it but left in my robe in the lobby-don't chance it”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it but left in my robe in the lobby-don't chance it”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved location, vibe of the area...total fail on the part of The Moonrise when I had to go down to the front desk in my underwear when I went out to put an empty pot of coffee outside my room and let the door close behind me without my room card as I was in my morning clothes. Would totally be my fault if the maid service person wasn't right there at another room when I asked if she could use her key to let me back in she refused and made me go down to the very public lobby in my underwear to ask the manager to be let me back in my room. Really. It was beyond humiliating and totally avoidable

Although we go to St. Louis on a regular basis we can not recommend the Moonrise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Winterwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    238
    58
    27
    22
See reviews for
251
490
77
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The clerks who greeted us were very friendly, and our room was spotless. Eclipse, the hotels adjoining restaurant was fine, and only that (I suggest you head to Pi Pizza instead). The food was somewhat meodecre, however a great location for someone wanting an easy commute from The Loop to The Arch or The Zoo.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allimiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking time to post a review about your experience at Moonrise! If the food in our restaurant is not what you are looking for there are many different options with-in walking distance of our hotel. Hopefully on your next trip to St. Louis you will stay choose to stay here again!

-Jake Westcott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here after we got it on a secret hotel deal. They have a lot of neat space decorations and memorabilia and a neat rainbow staircase. The neighborhood felt safe but was a sort of yuppie/hippie genre. Was pretty far away from any attractions downtown. The valet parking was slow. The bar on the roof was my favorite part. Doubt I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianaseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on our hotel! We are about fifteen minutes from downtown, but there are many attractions much closer to us, such as Forest Park. The Delmar Loop itself also offers many restaurants, bars and boutique shops. If you are looking for entertainment downtown there is a metrolink system that offers transportation and is only a block from the hotel and has stops in Union Station, next to Busch Stadium and near the St. Louis Arch. I'm sorry the valet service was slow to provide service during your stay. If you are going to be in St. Louis feel free to contact me directly if you would like to try our neighborhood again!

-Jake Westcott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Really lovely little hotel with quirky moon-themed art right next to The Pageant and on one of the most fun shopping/eating streets around! The rooftop bar is awesome and breakfast at the restaurant on-site was delicious. Service was great and was uber impressed by the staff who ran a toothbrush up to my room at 1am (!) when I realized I'd forgotten mine at home. I can't wait to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieandKipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
The location of the hotel in the Delmar Loop is a great plus! There are variety of restaurants, bars and shops with in walking distance from the hotel. The rooftop is a nice feature of the hotel, with great drinks and beautiful views. We hope that when you come back to St. Louis you can have an extended stay with us!

Thank you for your reivew of Moonrise Hotel, we look forward to having you as our guest again!

-Jake Westcott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Moonrise is the ONLY hotel on the Delmar Loop. This area is the STL hub for wining, dining, culture, and entertainment. There's definitely something for everyone! That being said, being able to dapple in all the area has to offer and walk back to your hotel is a great perk! The hotel design is definitely cool and unique. The rainbow staircase in the lobby is really neat, the restaurant was good, and the rooftop bar was a great time as well. The rooms had a uniquely modern decor and were perfectly acceptable but slightly "worn in" and in need of some updates. The chaise lounge had a couple questionable spots, but no major complaints. The elevator and the rooftop bar are secure so don't leave without your room key, but that's a good thing! Nearby is nearly any type of food you could ask for (burgers, Indian, fondu, you name it)! Also within a ten minute drive is the famous STL Hill if you're in the mood for some great Italian fare. The zoo and Forest Park are a mile away, and make sure you hit Blueberry Hill for some great rock n' roll culture. You can't beat this location, and the hotel leaves little to be desired. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csievz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel as well as our neighborhood. We are happy that you got to enjoy your experience in The Delmar Loop! The staircase is a very popular feature of the hotel, many people have used them for wedding pictures and we've even had a couple get married on the staircase! I will address your concern with the chase lounge to our Director of Housekeeping. We hope that the next time you do com to the St. Louis area that you do choose to stay with us again!

Thank you,

Jake Westcott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST CHESTER, OHIO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

There's no way to do the Moonrise Hotel justice in a short review. I'd read about it here and seen pictures, but nothing prepared me for the jaw-dropping experience my wife and I had. We've had our share of "elaborate" and "themed" being members of the Disney Vacation Club. The Moonrise was every bit as "magically" and artfully appointed. The owner's love affair with all things outer-space is evident, from the rotating Moon on the roof to the beautiful vintage Paper Moon portraits on the wall. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable king-sized bed. The bathroom had a gorgeous rainfall shower and a relaxing spa tub. They use the same Spa2O bath supplies that are used on the Disney Cruise Line. The roof-top lounge was very unique with great views and so relaxing. With all the great local eats, the large and well equipped exercise room was a must. We also enjoyed a wonderful breakfast downstairs at the Eclipse restaurant and had a late night dessert from the 24-hour room service. We can't wait to go back to Saint Louis and the Delmar Loop and we WILL be staying at the Moonrise Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookoutblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your review of Moonrise! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us! I am glad you mentioned our bath products, as well. They tend to get overlooked sometimes, but we try to supply the best possible amenities for our guests! Many of our guests that arrive late or stay awake late appreciate that we offer 24-hour room service, too.

Please let us know if we may assist you with anything next time. We will see you again soon!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illlinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Loved the hotel. Plan on going back asap. Love The Loop area of st. louis with restaurants bars and shopping.

Stayed here because we went to a concert at the Pageant next door. Loved the Roof top bar and the Eclipse restaurant bar. Nice room service and great amenities and quirky moon themed decorations throughout! Most comfortable beds, lovely bath, etc., etc.

Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and the area! There is a lot to see and explore in The Loop, including a lot of great shows at The Pageant.

Please let us know if we are able to assist you again. Thank you for staying and safe travels!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#38 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing