We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked this hotel on Trip Advisor recommendation and could not have been more pleased.The room was nicely decorated,and extremely clean.Check in was seamless,and every special request was taken care of .The owner of hotel is a space program aficionado ,there are many unique and interesting displays of memorabilia .The Exclipse Restaraunt is excellent,had breakfast,and dinner,good selection and prices.The Delmar Loop where hotel is located is near the beautiful Forest Park and the MUST SEE Saint Louis Zoo.The area is a young hip college area with many cafes,and restaraunts.The downtown area is a easy 15 minute drive,or a light rail stop is walking distance from hotel.Get away from the everyday business hotel and stay at the Moonrise.PS a special thanks to Jeremy our valet,he did an outstanding job ,and was very kind.

Room Tip: I would recommend not booking room under the bar on the top floor as others have recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARHUKKER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am so glad that we lived up to your expectations during your stay. It's so nice to be located near many of the city's wonderful attractions! Please let me know if you have any questions, or if you would like any recommendations upon your next visit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

SafeTravels!
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    237
    57
    27
    22
See reviews for
249
487
76
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Well priced, clean & comfortable, and the staff (Alex, Ashley & Jeremy) were so friendly, courteous and helpful.
Love the hotel's theme and rooftop bar. Great breakfast options, well presented and delicious.
Free parking is a bonus. Walking distance to other fabulous shops, eateries and bars.
Highly recommended and would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mobydick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for mentioning some excellent members of our staff! I am glad you had a memorable experience while you were here!!

Please let me know if we can assist you during your next trip. Thank you again for staying with us, and thank you for sharing your thoughts!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised on our arrival to Moonrise Hotel. The staff was extremely accommodating, the food at Eclipse was superb and the rooftop bar provided a beautiful view of downtown. The room's decor was very beautifully chic. THE best hotel bed I've ever slept on. Absolutely love the "moon" theme and all the vintage toys! We will definitely visit this hotel again. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our beds! The beds seem to be very popular!! If you are ever interested in the information for purchasing one of those mattresses, we would be happy to provide this to you! Thank you again for staying, and please visit us again shortly!

Best Regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a great weekend at this hotel. The staff was great, the room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the rooftop bar a lot. The elevators could be a little slow at times, as they are also the elevators the staff uses for room service and such, but that didn't take away from our very pleasant visit. Highly recommend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Msulli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. We appreciate you staying with us!
If there is anything I can do to assist you in the future, please let me know!!

Safe Travels,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A couple of friends and I stayed here over the summer for a girl's weekend, and this hotel was the perfect choice for us! It's a cute little boutique hotel with a bit of a retro vibe. We were greeted with a welcome drink, and the front desk staff was very helpful throughout our trip with directions and restaurant recommendations. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and reasonably priced compared to the hotels right downtown. Free parking was available behind the hotel, which is much nicer than having to pay for a parking garage. The rooftop bar was very cool and had great views of the city.

It is located several miles from downtown, but it's a 3 minute walk to the train and the hotel was more than wiling to get us a cab if needed. The neighborhood (Delmar Loop) has lots of great restaurants, bars, and shops, too! Plus it's less crowded than downtown!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We appreciate your review. I'm so glad you had such a wonderful time with us! It is a fun area with many options if a guest decides not to travel into downtown. If you are back in the area again, let me know how I may assist you!

Safe Travels!
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
424 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We got a room for one night while in St. Louis on vacation. The room was $130 a night which is a little more than I like to pay but it was worth every penny. The hotel is themed with the Moon and space yet it was elegantly done to look amazing and very welcoming. When we checked in the front desk was very nice and helpful. The rooms were average size but everything was very nice. Every time we left and reentered we were greeted with a very friendly front desk. One of the best parts of the room was the bed. WOW very comfortable and one of the best hotel beds i have ever slept in. The hotel also has an on site restaurant called the Eclipse and an amazing rooftop bar to oversee the Delmar Loop. Now you may say the Loop is far from downtown but the hotel is a 2 minute talk to the Metro station and a 10 minute ride to the city so its well worth it to stay here if doing business in the city. Also the Delmar Loop has plenty to offer in the day and for nightlife. A+ hotel and when we return to St. Louis we will be staying at Moonrise again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Delmar Loop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhatPatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for all of your kind words. We love that the Metrolink is down the street. It gives guests a very efficient way of traveling to downtown, the airport, and other St. Louis locations. I'm glad you found the neighborhood fun and interesting, as well!

Please let me know if I may help you in the future. Thank you for staying!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I can't recommend this place enough. It's a small, locally owned hotel with great service, good food and comfy beds. Beats the big box in every category. A bonus is that it's in a wonderfully eclectic neighborhood with great restaurants and fun places to be. I'm here at least once a month for week and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty towards Moonrise, and thank you for your nice review! Please let me know how we may improve your experience here each time you return!

Best Regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing