We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place In A Good Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Place In A Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Love this hotel in the Loop. We always try to stay when visiting our son at Wash U. It's location on Del Mar in the Loop is convenient to school and the neighborhood is a fun place to walk around. The rooftop bar is fantastic. The staff is always nice and helpful, parking is easy and the rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds. The restaurant is open late which is nice for late arrivals. Recommend this place highly. It is also smoke free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mudandlumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We are happy to have enhanced your trips to Washington University and to the city of Saint Louis! Thank you for staying!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    234
    56
    27
    22
See reviews for
244
483
76
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a 3 day business trip to St. Louis. It is a great location in a busy and artsy neighborhood. I had dinner in the hotel 1st night and the mushroom soup was great. Everyhting else...not so much. And I heard the same from my diner companions -7 of them. Plus a dog stay in the room next to me the 1st night, and he kept me up with his barking.So, when I mentioned it to Gina on the last night there, she offered me anything I wanted from their "store." I got a nice candle, and some snacks for the airplane home. All in all it is an interesting hotel -cool top floor bar & space memorabilia. But beware of dogs, and don't eat in the restaurant. Oh, and weird doors in the room. One door slides between the closet and bathroom -so they noth can't be closed at the same time?!

Room Tip: Make sure no pets nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. Please let me know how I may assist you with your next stay with us!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is close to the zoo and the park and in a cute neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants. I was leery of staying so far from downtown because we were in town for a Cardinals game, but the front desk arranged a taxi to Bush Stadium and it worked out better for us because we didn't have to worry about traffic, parking, or being sober enough to drive after the game. The taxi cost about $25 each way. We stayed in a deluxe king room, which was incredibly clean. The decor is kind of a cross between a spa and a comic book, but this makes you feel like you are really on vacation instead of just another hotel. The view of the city from the rooftop bar is awesome, and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We ate breakfast in their restaurant Eclipse and the food was tasty although I am probably a little biased because anywhere that serves eggs benedict makes me very happy:). Another reason we chose this hotel was because of the room service menu which you can get a real meal at 4AM (think steak, shrimp cocktal with a gormet dipping sauce, grown up Mac n Cheese with crab) instead of just appetizers and burgers. We loved this hotel and we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbrogalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel, restaurant, and staff! We appreciate your feedback for other travelers, and we look forward to having you return someday!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at the Moonrise Hotel on a week night in May, 2012. The hotel is decorated in a trendy theme with low lighting. Staff at the front desk were professional and friendly and check in was very quick. For added security, you must use your room key to operate the elevator.

Our room had 2 queen beds that were very comfortable and offered a great night's sleep along with the ambient sound machine on the bedside table. The desk and chair were comfortable with plenty of space to work. Room service was exceptional! Prices for food are reasonable with fast delivery. Shower was nice with a rainfall shower head and they have offer H2O soap, shampoo & conditioner, and body wash. We never heard any noise from the hallway or other rooms and we were relatively close to the elevators.

We were not able to give this hotel an excellent rating because:
*The 32" TV was too small to stay in your room and relax while watching a movie. We were not able to find any pay-per-view movie channels (they do have cable or satellite) so we drove to a local theater.
*Parking is a little difficult at night because this seems to be a very popular area. Not sure how they manage on the weekends! Cars were parked down the sides of aisles and people hang out in groups in the parking lot, but if you keep circling, you eventually find a spot. However, valet parking is available and there seemed to be plenty of spots in the valet parking area.
*Room should have a luggage rack so you can set your luggage on something other than the desk.

Room Tip: This hotel is good for adults. I would not recommend it for families with children younger than 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank road_warriors08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for all of your feedback on your experience at Moonrise. We hope you consider staying with us again. Please let me know how I may assist you upon your next stay!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on previous occasions with great experiences each time, but I will never stay here again. Here is why:

I have been trying to make get in touch with the Guest Relations Manager for 3 days now. I have left 2 messages, 1 on voice mail and 1 with someone at the front desk. Left my name, number, detailed message, etc, only to be told that she will call me back. Nothing. I will be staying somewhere else. Thanks.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Reachthebeach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Excellent accomodations and staff- a top notch package. Attended a three day business meeting. Loved the experience. A full menu restaurant open until 2AM is unheard of today but great for business travelers. The lounge on the rooftop is truly a unique experience as the sun sets on a pleasant evening. Room furnishings are upscale and well-maintained.

The neighborhood is unique and is a good experience. A few miles from downtown; less than a mile to Forest Park; a few miles to the Hill. Free parking plus taxis never took more than a few minutes.

Lots of interesting restaurants in the neighborhood.

In a word- unique.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisianaHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
I appreciate your nice review. Thank you for mentioning the amenities for our hotel, and also the great options around town. Please come see us again!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing