We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitschy fun”
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kitschy fun”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Easy to find hotel located on a street with lots of activity (restaurants, bars, shops, etc.). The moon theme is clever, the beds soft, the hallways quiet. Rooms are even equipped with white noise machines. Look out for the sliding door to the bathroom-- very easy to pinch your fingers. An excellent value for the price I paid on Hotwire.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We are glad your experience with us was fun, and we hope you are able to visit us again!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    239
    59
    27
    22
See reviews for
253
494
78
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The best part about this hotel is the people that work there! We traveled over the weekend. We went to see a concert and to relax. This hotel has everything that you may need. The beds are like heaven. The hotel is quirky and trendy. Great place for couples to spend some time away. The rain shower in the bathroom is awesome. They actually shut the hallway doors at night and place cute little signs up urging others to be quiet. We didn't hear a peep all night. They have a amazing rooftop bar. Great place to stay and we will stay again!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Those are very kind words about our property. Thank you for mentioning those specifics about our hotel. We are happy to be your home away from home!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last night and what a treat it was.

First: Vallet parking was much appreciated.

Lobby: Modern with LED lighting up the stairs in the entryway (the lighting beats to the music). Beads with LED lights up one side of the wall. Everything in tasteful wood, polished aluminum, and cool seating everywhere.

Check in was seamless and everything was well explained to us. There was a hotel dog in the lobby that was cute and we noticed other dogs as well.

The rooms were exceptionally nice for a downtown hotel. We stayed in room 309 facing the street and were concerned about the noise but with the drapes closed - it was not a problem.

The shower featured an upscale rain faucet and the soaps were all very high end and up there with everyone.

The entire hotel is Moon motif and very fun but still very handsomely decorated.

I especially loved the restaurant/bar. The toys and 50's space toy / art deco look was really cool as were the seating around the bar. The food was very good and the drinks we had were well done. The service was excellent.

You can't touch this for the price and even without price - it is one of my St. Louis favorites. Couple it with the diverse and interesting St. Louis Loop music, bar, and shop scene and you have a winning combination. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matteni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you in St. Louis again soon!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had a few hitches upon arrival, specifically the suite we requested was booked. The manager was extremely accomodating, providing the upgrade to the suite gratis. We were there for an organ donor memorial and the staff was very caring upon learning this. It also fell during my friend's birthday and we were sent free drinks with our room service! I have had some mediocre hotel stays, some absolutely horrible, and some great, but this one, by a mile, is the very best even beating out pricier hotels with more amenities. We will be back, this time for Red Foxx!!!!

Room Tip: get a suite, it's worth it, but don't take my Red Foxx or I'll cut you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
On behalf of Moonrise, we are happy that you had such a great experience with our service and our Walk of Fame suite. We hope you make a return with us soon!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Location is great: in the Delmar Loop and close to Forest Park. The staff is amazing. Hands down the friendliest hotel staff I've ever encountered. It's cool, modern, and a little eclectic. I love it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kllowhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We appreciate your comments about our staff. Thank you for your continued loyalty toward Moonrise! We will see you soon!!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I had a great experience staying two nights at the Moonrise Hotel. Everything seemed so easy! I could meet friends for lunch in the hotel restaurant and for drinks in the Eclipse bar at night, or just hop down the street to a restaurant in the Loop. I've never had such a pleasant hotel experience and I will definitely stay there again. The staff were mainly young men who were respectful and helpful to the utmost degree. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCBL274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Please visit us again on your next trip to Saint Louis!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#39 of 120 in Saint Louis
904 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#34 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,091 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing