We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elves Manor Guest House
Ranked #13 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have stayed at Elves Manor twice, in March 2014 and in 2011. I love the house, the hosts, the food, the location. It was cool in March, and we used the hot-tub and fireplace. Very soothing. Everything works and is well maintained.

Karen could not be nicer, her food offerings are wonderful, the house is filled with thriving plants and fascinating details, etc. We enjoyed walking around the area, exploring St. Louis Univ. We saw wonderful exhibits at the St. Louis Univ Art Museum and the Contemporary Art Museum. There is much more to see and do within walking or easy driving distance.

My wife and I are considering another trip to St. Louis just to stay here again, even though St. Louis would not normally be one of our preferred destinations. When we travel to other cities, we try to find someplace like Elves Manor, but have not been successful. Yes, there are lots of good B&Bs, and also good apartment or even house options, but Elves Manor has it all.

Room Tip: You have the entire 2 BR, 2 bath house. With only two of us, we chose to stay in the downstairs bedr...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelersSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Elves Manor Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent out 34th anniversary here and loved it! The selection of organic snacks and breakfast items was great. Highly recommend the Not-Gooey Butter Cake and Karen's spinach quiche. So quiet and comfortable we hated to leave the house but there is so much to do in the area. The Central West End is convenient to most attractions in St Louis. Karen personally welcomes you on arrival, shows you around and is easily accessible for any assistance you might need, but otherwise leaves you to your privacy. There is everything you could want for a quiet get-away or a convenient base for enjoying all that St. Louis has to offer. Thanks for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

St. Louis was on our "bucket list" but we never realized the pearl of this city is located on the Central West End area. Elves Manor Guest House is a wonderful place of respite from the busy work life while on vacation. Karen, the inn keeper, greets you personally w/a huge smile and reference materials for your stay in this wonderful city. Sightseeing and restaurants abound in this diverse culture city. Adding to the charm of the home are wonderful accommodations to include comfortable beds, a deck with a beautiful herb and flower garden for your senses to experience, charcoal grill provided for a cookout while on vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a wonderful place for my mom and I to stay while in the city. Located in the Central West End it is convenient to several destinations throughout the city. Karen gives you an warm and inviting welcome. The kitchen is filled with tasty treats. You won't want to miss her Not-So-Gooey-Butter-Cake!! There are several heath conscious food items that can be easily taken on the go with you on your many excursions throughout the city saving you time.
At days end returning to this retreat and soaking in the hot tub is very relaxing and welcomed. Rest assured you'll be sleeping in comfort and awake rested and refreshed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We'd love to keep it a secret, but this is the best place to stay in the city. Period. We have stayed all over town and nobody has a more wonderful space and location. So well done you'll want to stay an extra day... Or ten.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Words truly cannot describe how unique the experience is to stay at Elves Manor. I have always wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast type of place but my husband has nixed the idea for 28 years! ( that's how many anniversaries I have tried the idea on him with NO luck). He has never liked the idea of sharing a space in a house in close quarters and the fact of dining with strangers. When you book a room at the carriage house, you book the COMPLETE house, the private enclosed garage, the lovely patio with private outdoor hot tub and enchanted secret garden. In the busy lives we most live, it almost puts you in shock how private, inviting and relaxed the environment is. It feels as if the place has been placed in a remote area yet it is in the heart of the West End district that is minutes to most places on a tourist's list to visit or
dine. The innkeeper, Mrs. Karen, lives on the adjacent property and desires only to please her guests. The breakfast experience of this bed and breakfast is amazing and is as private and homey as possible. The refrigerator and cabinets are stocked with the highest of quality and mostly homemade goodies that can be eaten at your leisure and not just isolated for breakfast.....HOMEMADE organic waffles, bread, granola, ooie gooie bars and even homemade yogurt! That's just the tip of the iceberg! There were fresh figs, crystalized ginger, almonds and cranberries in individual covered bowls, FRESH market milk and eggs in the refrigerator and a large bowl of hand cut and prepared mixed fruit. The effort she takes is not even comprehendable unless experienced first hand! if you are looking for a private place with your significant other, a girl's trip, a multiple couple friends trip, a family trip, a private extended medical stay.....THIS IS HANDS DOWN the choice! You will leave with plans on staying again!
Any time of the year would work but I would suggest spring to enjoy a trip to the Missouri Botanical Garden or fall for cooler weather for enjying the patio, hot tub and convenient walk to near by places. If Mrs. Karen could customize the weather she would do that too! Decide who you want to be with you, the list of must do's and book it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda-Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I booked a stay at Elves Manor when we were in St. Louis for a concert. We could not have chosen a more perfect place to stay. We were allowed to check in early, Karen (the innkeeper) was so friendly and accommodating! Everyone who visits her leaves gifts for her or the inn. She gives you the most wonderful spread of healthy, homemade and organic food! EVERYTHING we ate was wonderful! The B&B its self was beautiful! Very homey, filled with books and interesting items from around the world. The establishment is modern enough, but also very magical looking. The hot tub and grounds are wonderful. We had the best trip and cannot wait to go back to see Karen and Elves Manor again! :)

Room Tip: When you book it you get the whole inn. But I would say we liked the upstairs room the best :) Its a...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Parkway Hotel
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
584 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#37 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elves Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elves Manor Guest House

Address: 4149 W Pine Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2801
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Central West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: $160 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a room with a view, Elves Manor Guest House is a private house all your own in St. Louis' most urban and cosmopolitan neighborhood, the Central West End. Elves Manor sleeps up to six, but is reserved for one person, couple or group at a time. Rates are based on how many beds are in use ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing